We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Strange pub in a strange town” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Inn at Bromyard

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Inn at Bromyard
Ranked #4 of 9 Bromyard B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Strange pub in a strange town”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2011

On the face of it the room we had (room three) was ok. They only really made up our room once (after the first night) and the room wasn't as clean as it could have been. Had to go and rob some toilet paper from the ladies because they didn't replenish it. Also on the last day, came down for breakfast and there was no one there and everything was locked up so no breakfast for us.

The road noise was also an issue: for some reason the population of Bromyard like to start making noise very early - 5am onwards. Therefore didn't get much sleep at all.

For the price it isn't too bad, but wouldn't stay here again.

p.s. the whole place is as wonky as they come, so when you wake up first thing in a morning you tend to feel a little drunk strumbling all over the place.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matthew_benson83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    10
    4
    2
    2
See reviews for
13
12
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2011

Like the other review of January 2011 the information lead you to believe that you were to recieve a Full English Breakfast but in the morning you had fruit and/or cornflakes and the like.
However, this is of small issue as, the rooms are clean and interesting most are of timber framing and panel of tudor type and the locals were very friendly and welcoming to me as was the current landlord.
Getting a drink was not a problem but being a bitter drinker (the last of a few) the choice was a bit limited and this could be improved upon.
Being a frequent customer of such establishments (small public house hotels) the noise issue from the bar into my room was no greater than most and less than the worst I have found taking into account that the premises is of old construction.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AIfire74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
south wales
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2011

Although Website and booklet on display in the pub gave information that led you to expect a breakfast it was a selection of cold food and fruit we had to make tea in our own rooms. No food was served at the pub at all, or any other pub in the area. All 3 of the locations that actually served an evening meal, all were fully booked. After a trek from pub to hotel and bistros a lovely kind young lady at the Foxy steak bar let us have a table provided we could vacate in an hour because they too were fully booked. We had a very nice meal. The rooms at the pub were comfortable and clean but I don't think they were worth Fifty pounds for room only. On returning just after , we were unable to get a drink although customers were drinking at the bar.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vikki1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2010

The Bay Horse at Bromyard is a fabulous 17th Century Inn with rooms so full of character that it doesnt matter if you are in the smallest or largest room. If you are after spacious bathrroms, level floors and straight walls, dont go here, but if you long for character rather than a bland hotel room, this is the place for you. Immaculately clean, simple decor allowing the character of the beams to dominate, friendly staff and a well cooked breakfast, this wonderful property was our favourite on our tour. If you like friendly ghosts, ring Dave direct and ask him if he has the 'nurse's room' available. For a bargain, although you may get the smallest room (which we were very happy with), Late Rooms.com have good prices. Bromyard is a fabulous base to visit many towns, interesting houses and gardens as well as having its own attractions.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nigel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2009

My wife and I had a thoroughly enjoyable stay at the Bay Horse. The room was large, clean and comfortable. Tea and coffee making facilities are provided and some toiletries. We found the landlord and his staff to be very friendly and accommodating. It is situated right in the high street, and all rooms overlook the street, so there is some street noise. We did not find this disturbing, but some people may. However, if you want total quiet, do not book town center accommodation.
This is not some glossy hotel, but a 16th century former coaching inn and the rooms and furnishings reflect this. Not a straight wall or floor in the place, bags of character, and plenty of nooks and crannies. Breakfast is served in the dining room, with plenty to choose from, and the Full English is immense. Home cooked lunches and evening meals using local produce are available every day. The bar has a selection of national and local ales, and plenty of local characters to add some colour. Ample free parking is available at the rear, and also a large, partially covered, beer patio for smokers. We would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mrbox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2007

The Bay Horse is situated on the high street and as a result there is a lot of noise around pub closing time. The rooms are basic but clean, there are tea and coffee facilities and toiletries in the bathroom. Breakfast was really nice, we both had a English Breakfast and it was giant!

  • Liked — the breakfast
  • Disliked — the noise from the street at closing time
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank cundip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bromyard
0.0 mi away
The Falcon Hotel
The Falcon Hotel
#1 of 2 in Bromyard
3.5 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
8.9 mi away
Bank House Hotel, Spa & Golf, BW Premier Collection
0.5 mi away
Holly Tree B&B Bromyard
Holly Tree B&B Bromyard
#2 of 9 in Bromyard
5.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Huntlands Farm Bed & Breakfast
0.0 mi away
The Queens Arms
The Queens Arms
#6 of 9 in Bromyard
4.0 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
1.2 mi away
Buckenhill Manor Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Bromyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Bromyard

Property: The Inn at Bromyard
Address: 19-21 High Street, Bromyard HR7 4AA, England (Formerly The Bay Horse Bromyard)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Bromyard
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Bromyard
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Inn at Bromyard 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sue and her team welcome you to the newly refurbished Inn at Bromyard You will be delighted to find a cosy, traditional pub full to the brim with character. As a much loved part of Bromyards history, the Inn at Bromyard is a unique Grade 2* listed building standing proudly on the high street. As one of the most distinctive buildings in Bromyard it features a beautiful timber frame construction and is a great reflection of Bromyards history and background. The Inn at Bromyard is situated in close proximity to several fantastic local towns and cities. Hereford and Worcester are just a 20 minute drive away while Leominster and Tenbury are even closer. The Inn at Bromyard is an easy place to get to and makes for a fantastic base to explore the beautiful local Herefordshire countryside this combined with our great atmosphere,outstanding food, friendly staff and a beautiful historic building you can be sure that we are one of the best venues in the area. All of our rooms feature exposed beams and a light airy feel with en suite shower rooms, tea and coffee making facilities and Wi-Fi for your convenience. There is also a private residents lounge where you can relax and sample our delicious menu. We have a private car park with 24 hour CCTV for your peace of mind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your The Inn at Bromyard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Bromyard Herefordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing