We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top quality,great value.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Crown and Sceptre Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Bromyard
Reviewed 31 March 2013

Lovely local pub with really good guest rooms. Great food, friendly atmosphere and rooms decorated to a high standard. Well worth £75 which includes breakfast. I would put this on my list of places to come back to.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ianoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (67)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 67 reviews

Reviewed 14 February 2013

Visited for a birthday celebration. Hotels room clean and welcoming, deco super, room rates reasonable. Bar clean and open plan, food super, breakfast ok. Would defiantly re book, staff warm and friendly, food and beer prices very Competative - we had a super visit and met up with some old friends the whole stay was very enjoyable. Highly recommended

Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank Thomas3170
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2013

The Crown & Sceptre is smartly decorated and offers widely spaced seating and comfortable surroundings. Our service on Sunday January 13 was friendly and attentive, we were made to feel very welcome. Our 2 course meal ( we couldn't manage a 3rd! ) was very well presented and both main courses were full of home- cooked goodness and excellent value for money.
We will be visiting again soon and would thoroughly recommend the C & S to locals and to tourists seeking a hearty fresh meal plus drinks. You will be well-rewarded!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2013

Have eaten here three times in the last three months. The food is consistently superb. I've only ever had as nice a piece of fish in Mevagissy, Cornwall. The welcome and decor is stylish, modern and friendly. Such a nice place to relax. Excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank haines73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2012

We have eaten here a couple of times for Sunday lunch and Friday evening. Each meal has been fantastic, reasonably priced and nicely presented. The service is great and very friendly. Would Highly recommend. We will definitely be going again. Bromyard is so limited for food so it is great to have The Crown open and serving!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HelenFA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2012

My wife and I had a meal at The Crown & Sceptre last week and it was excellent. The food is all home made and the ingredients sourced locally. It is typical pub grub but of a very high standard and all reasonably priced.
The Crown & Sceptre has had a few landlords in the past 2 years and with them different chefs. The latest tenants are welcoming and the atmosphere in the pub is warm and friendly. We are looking forward to another meal there before Christmas.

Room Tip: We didn't stay at the hotel as we live a few miles away but I believe the rooms are very nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Equiweb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2012

We are a senior Canadian couple who spotted the sandwich board outside the pub offering "brand new B&B", so we swooped to a stop and booked in for the night and were happy to be the first guests. The small rooms are...small, but the large front room is nicely appointed with crisp new linens, and was worth the extra 10 pounds. Laura and partner are excellent hosts, and excited about their new adventure. Had a peak into the large function room as well and it's a splendid venue. We wish them all good fortune. Mary and Alan

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank maryhughes1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bromyard
0.1 mi away
The Falcon Hotel
The Falcon Hotel
#1 of 2 in Bromyard
127 reviews
11.2 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#4 of 4 in Ledbury
109 reviews
3.9 mi away
Huntlands Farm Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Queens Arms
The Queens Arms
#6 of 9 in Bromyard
17 reviews
1.2 mi away
Buckenhill Manor Bed & Breakfast
0 mi away
Holly Tree B&B Bromyard
Holly Tree B&B Bromyard
#2 of 9 in Bromyard
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown and Sceptre Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown and Sceptre Inn

Address: 7 Sherford Street, Bromyard HR7 4DL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Bromyard
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Bromyard
Price Range: £50 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crown & Sceptre has new owners and after an extensive refurbishment opened on 29th April 2016. This family friendly pub has a lovely beer garden with children's play area and has stunning views across the Downs. The Crown and Sceptre has wheelchair access and disabled amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers so you can book your The Crown and Sceptre Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crown And Sceptre Inn Bromyard, Herefordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing