We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“almost perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Crown and Sceptre Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Bromyard
Reviewed 4 September 2013

There were a few minor things that made my comment 'almost perfect' , Nowhere in the bathroom to hang your wet towels, no toilet lid and at breakfast no side plate and butter knife for your toast.
None of these would stop me staying again just minor things that can be easily be addressed.
The room was nice, clean and had a wonderful comfortable bed.
When we booked in and asked if we needed to book at table for the evening we were told that there had been a festival on that weekend and the kitchen staff had decided to take the day off.
That left us having to venture out to find somewhere else to eat, as we were looking at places a local walking his dog stop and recommended places for us, at the top of his list was the crown & sceptre so was disappointed that we could not eat there, we did have breakfast the next day, which was fine. We ventured to The Royal Oak at Bromyard Downs and had a very enjoyable meal so all was not lost.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank octopussied
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (67)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 67 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2013

We really enjoyed our stay in this b&b/pub this weekend. We were given room 4, which is a large family room at the front of the pub, with a seperate area with sofa beds in, a huge closet and nice bathroom. The room does front right onto the fairly busy road, so there was a bit of traffic noise and we had to make sure the curtains were closed or people can see right in! Which was a slight pain as it was baking hot, so closing the curtains cut off the breeze. The room itself was lovely and very comfy, with a TV and tea and coffee making.

The pub itself is really nice, and the beer garden out the back is gorgeous. We ate out there in the evening and watched the swallows fly around us, beautiful! There wasn't large groups of noisy drinkers of people smoking to spoil it either. The food was very nice, and good value for money. The staff were all nice and friendly, and even provided a waiter service for drinks while we sat outside! The only thing that could be improved is breakfast- although the cooked brekkie was nice, there was no fruit, jam or yoghurt etc- only a couple of boxes of cereal.

Overall we really enjoyed our stay in this lovely b&b and would love to go back!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank enielle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2013

The Crown & Sceptre is truely a wonderful gem in the Herefordshire countryside. As a previous person stated, Bromyard is very limited and this pub is fantastic. It has such a cosy interior, friendly staff and the food is outstanding. It caters for those passing who want a traditional pub lunch or those wanting a quite meal in an evening having the choice of a fantastic menu. I have had friends stay in the B&B and they commented how nice it was. The owners have done a great job making it the best place in town to eat, drink and stay. A must visit if in Bromyard!!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Herefordfamily88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2013

We booked the Crown and Sceptre for our son's 21st Party earlier this month. The venue is ideal with a mixture of comfortable and formal seating, and a balcony and garden outside - if the weather is good! Looking at the pub from the outside you would not expect to have such a spacious and modern function room at the back. The food was delicious and copious and Laura and her staff were very attentive and on the ball with everything. Everything about the party exceeded our expectations and we would certainly use the Crown and Sceptre for further celebrations and events.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AlisonLindoncroft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2013

Booked on late rooms for a one night visit
Pub in town centre parking on the road or if your lucky adjacent to the beer garden to the side of the pub
Room was basic but very clean could do with a chair in the room
Welcome was very pleasant and staff very accommodating
Had a meal in the restaurant which was basic pub food but tasty and plentiful
Full English breakfast with cereal and fruit juice
Room noisy until closing time with people in the bar area etc noise travelling up the stairs
Would defiantly stop here again for a one night stop over

Room Tip: Room no1 noisy if people are in the bar and road noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jabberBurtonOnTrent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2013

We stayed at the Crown and Sceptre for a special birthday party. Staff were friendly and welcoming and rooms spotlessly clean. Bar food was fine and reasonably priced. The function was in a nice room with balcony overlooking the garden. It was very well run with delicious hog roast and yummy cakes.

We would just offer a little 'constructive criticism' for the new owners - the cooked breakfast was excellent, but breakfast cereals and fruit (boxes of cornflakes, a bowl of kiwis and a few odd yoghurts) were uninviting. We would also have preferred tea and coffee to be served fresh at the table (we had to request a teapot with boiling water) - the flask of 'hot' water was not hot enough for tea and we didn't like the teabags shoved in the sugar bowl. No side plates or marmalade either!!

We had to ask for extra towels for our son (though we had booked a family room) and a bottom sheet for his futon bed - we were told this was not normally provided. These were provided quickly and the room was nicely decorated but curtains had to be closed all day to prevent people looking in from the main street. Also the curtains were very light and the street light directly outside provided an irritating orange glow at night. The room needs blackout blinds or similar.

We would recommend the owners asking guests for any comments (good or bad) or having a visitors book when they leave - we weren't asked for any feedback, hence this review.

We don't intend to be negative. Overall we had a clean and comfortable stay with obliging service - with a little more experience & attention to detail it could be excellent.

Room Tip: The rooms at the front are noisy and have pervasive street lighting, but the family room (4) is spac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2013

I was bit reluctanf to go in the pub as we are not locals, I am so glad I was persuaded! Fantastic homemade pub food and incredibly reasonably priced, the staff were friendly and attentive! We all ended up going for the chicken and leek pie, it was outstandig with lovely homemade chips and plenty of fresh vegetables. Give it a go for non pretentious home cooked yummy food!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank japmap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bromyard hotels
0.1 mi away
The Falcon Hotel
The Falcon Hotel
#1 of 2 in Bromyard
127 reviews
3.9 mi away
Huntlands Farm Bed & Breakfast
0.1 mi away
The Queens Arms
The Queens Arms
#6 of 9 in Bromyard
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Buckenhill Manor Bed & Breakfast
0.4 mi away
Holly Tree B&B Bromyard
Holly Tree B&B Bromyard
#2 of 9 in Bromyard
82 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Inn at Bromyard
The Inn at Bromyard
#4 of 9 in Bromyard
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown and Sceptre Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown and Sceptre Inn

Address: 7 Sherford Street, Bromyard HR7 4DL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Bromyard
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Bromyard
Price Range: £50 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crown & Sceptre has new owners and after an extensive refurbishment opened on 29th April 2016. This family friendly pub has a lovely beer garden with children's play area and has stunning views across the Downs. The Crown and Sceptre has wheelchair access and disabled amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers so you can book your The Crown and Sceptre Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crown And Sceptre Inn Bromyard, Herefordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing