We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Crown and Sceptre Inn
Nearby Hotels
US$106
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Talbot Hotel(Knightwick)
US$146
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$133
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$114
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Elms(Abberley)
US$167
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$145
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$200
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Foley Arms Hotel(Malvern)(Great Value!)
US$65
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$100
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$97
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$100
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$157
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$67
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (67)
Filter reviews
67 results
Traveller rating
26
28
7
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
26
28
7
3
3
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
48 - 53 of 67 reviews
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Stayed at back of pub,very noisy till 2 am.staff not at all helpful ,one couldn't even make a coffee on arrival. Disco was thumping all night ,no sleep at al! Ceiling in room looked as if it were about to fall down,could be dangerous,All in all not a pleasant stay,won't be staying again!

Room Tip: Stayed in back of pub,very noisy till 2 am disco was thumping,so no sleep! Staff not at all helpful,one couldn't even make a coffee on arrival. Looked at ceiling on arrival in room,looks like it will fall down very soon,massive crack in it,no toilet seat ,toiletries and just one towel. Awful experience ! Won't be visiting again!
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kizzycardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Only two positive things to say - Bed was comfy and the room was nice BUT
Bed stand creaks at the lightest movement and is in direct line of the TV. Room at the front of the hotel suffered from road noise and the departure of drunk and noisy customers and on Friday night the noise from the disco would keep you awake at the rear of the hotel. The room lacked basics such a glass for a drink of water, kettle didn't work properly, curtains needed to be re-hung, there was no soap - only cheap unbranded shower gel. The shower cubicle was dirty and had the added bonus of a pube!
The fire door does not close properly at the top of the stairs.
The room had not been cleaned properly, with dust on all surfaces such as the window ledges, skirting boards and lamps. The inside of the windows had not seen a cloth in a while either!
Breakfast - what a joke! DIY cereal from industrial sized boxes, make your own tea in a dirty cup, cheap white bread and the poached eggs looked like they had been dropped from a height!
Overall a terrible experience - not to be repeated.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Annie25W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

There were a few minor things that made my comment 'almost perfect' , Nowhere in the bathroom to hang your wet towels, no toilet lid and at breakfast no side plate and butter knife for your toast.
None of these would stop me staying again just minor things that can be easily be addressed.
The room was nice, clean and had a wonderful comfortable bed.
When we booked in and asked if we needed to book at table for the evening we were told that there had been a festival on that weekend and the kitchen staff had decided to take the day off.
That left us having to venture out to find somewhere else to eat, as we were looking at places a local walking his dog stop and recommended places for us, at the top of his list was the crown & sceptre so was disappointed that we could not eat there, we did have breakfast the next day, which was fine. We ventured to The Royal Oak at Bromyard Downs and had a very enjoyable meal so all was not lost.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank octopussied
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

We really enjoyed our stay in this b&b/pub this weekend. We were given room 4, which is a large family room at the front of the pub, with a seperate area with sofa beds in, a huge closet and nice bathroom. The room does front right onto the fairly busy road, so there was a bit of traffic noise and we had to make sure the curtains were closed or people can see right in! Which was a slight pain as it was baking hot, so closing the curtains cut off the breeze. The room itself was lovely and very comfy, with a TV and tea and coffee making.

The pub itself is really nice, and the beer garden out the back is gorgeous. We ate out there in the evening and watched the swallows fly around us, beautiful! There wasn't large groups of noisy drinkers of people smoking to spoil it either. The food was very nice, and good value for money. The staff were all nice and friendly, and even provided a waiter service for drinks while we sat outside! The only thing that could be improved is breakfast- although the cooked brekkie was nice, there was no fruit, jam or yoghurt etc- only a couple of boxes of cereal.

Overall we really enjoyed our stay in this lovely b&b and would love to go back!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank enielle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2013

The Crown & Sceptre is truely a wonderful gem in the Herefordshire countryside. As a previous person stated, Bromyard is very limited and this pub is fantastic. It has such a cosy interior, friendly staff and the food is outstanding. It caters for those passing who want a traditional pub lunch or those wanting a quite meal in an evening having the choice of a fantastic menu. I have had friends stay in the B&B and they commented how nice it was. The owners have done a great job making it the best place in town to eat, drink and stay. A must visit if in Bromyard!!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Herefordfamily88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews