We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wow fantastic place”
other travellers have booked this property
The Freeth from the garden
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Freeth from the garden
Wonderful private indoor pool Double aspect sitting room with open fire
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
25 reviews
The Freeth from the garden
Wonderful private indoor pool
Double aspect sitting room with open fire
Private indoor heated swimming pool
Dining room with table that comfortably seats 16 - perfect for that special dinner
Stylishly decorated bedrooms
Warm and cosy kitchen
The Freeth walled garden - perfect for drinks in the evening
Uninterrupted views across the fields from The Freeth
The Freeth garden
TV Room with Sky and masses of DVDs
Luxury bathrooms
Seat and gaze at the view
Well equipped kitchen designed with cooks in mind
Double height bedroom and bathroom
South facing terrace for al fresco meals
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
9 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 18
Bromyard, Herefordshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
706caroll...
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wow fantastic place”
Reviewed 25 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We had an amazing time. The house was wonderful, so spacious and the kitchen was the best equipped one I have ever rented. The house keeping staff were wonderful, nothing was too much trouble and we had an enormous chocolate cake left for us as well as a hamper of goodies. The owners were lovely and made us feel very welcome, popping in to see if we had everything we needed. There were four generations all together and the house was suitable for everyone. The pool was fantastic and so was the games room, providing us with lots of things to do. We had a superb time, one of the highlights being the three meals cooked by chef James who lives on the estate, rent this house you won't regret it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Sep 2016
We couldn't be more pleased that you had such a great time at The Freeth and made the most of everything it had to offer. I'll pass your lovely comments on to our team and James the chef - they are always delighted to help ensure that guests have the best stay possible stay with us. Thank you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Interior design, beautiful gardens, pool room, peaceful setting
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
30 Jul 2016
We are always so pleased to hear how much guests have enjoyed staying at The Freeth. Thank you for taking the time to post a review and we would love to see you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Bart1256
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
“Birthday weekend”
Reviewed 15 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We were a family of 15, age range from 7-70. We arrived and immediately received a lovely welcome pack containing some delicious snacks and drinks and a homemade chocolate cake. The house was exactly what we hoped it would be and if anything the pictures on the website don't do it justice. The spread of double and single rooms was perfect for a mixed family group. The kitchen was very well stocked and our advanced shop was even unpacked for us before we arrived.
The facilities in the house are superb. The kids spent hours in the pool, played a 3 day test match in the garden whilst the dads were busy playing table tennis. We had several meals care of the chef (James and Monika) and each of these meals were exceptional. From lobster on the barbecue to a Sunday roast and last but not least fish and chips on Friday.
The living areas in the house were so comfortable and beautifully furnished. We all had our moments to relax and read or in some cases nap! The gardens are varied in style with fantastic planting throughout. The walled garden or jardin a la francaise was a great place for quiet G&T at sundown.
Peta was the perfect host from our original booking/enquiries and throughout our stay. We certainly hope to return next year.
Quite simply this was the perfect country retreat.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janeinthe...
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“The best 70th birthday present ever!!”
Reviewed 14 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Our children booked the Freeth for a special family celebration with their siblings and all our grandchildren.

Everything about the weekend was superb. From the minute we arrived we all felt at home straight away, finding the note on the board, the basket of local produce and the most enormous chocolate cake made us feel most welcome.

The house itself is most spacious and comfortable, we were 15 in total and were never overcrowded. The enormous oval dining table making conversation possible amongst us all enjoying the wonder meals provided by James ably assisted by Monica, Friday's fishy& chips only surpassed by Saturday's amazing BBQ and Sunday's roast & sticky toffee pudding!!!

The beds were so comfortable with beautifully crisp white sheets and good quality large white towels in the bathrooms. This together with the wonderful food, country air, dips in the pool and cricket on the lawn meant everyone enjoyed the best night's sleep!!

Overall we really couldn't fault it and can't wait for another excuse to return!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Not applicable
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
20 Jul 2016
It is really kind of you to leave such a great review and the team and I couldn't be more pleased that you loved The Freeth so much. We hope to see you again at some point in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Croydon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
13 Jul 2016
We are delighted that The Freeth was such a successful venue for every generation of your family and that your enjoyed all that the house, garden, pool and chef had to offer. We'd love to welcome you back at some point in the future. Enjoy the rest of the summer.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Joanne P
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic! So many lovely family memories made!”
Reviewed 25 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016

We stayed at The Freeth over the Easter Bank Holiday from Monday to Friday. It was a last minute booking for 12 of us and we were so fortunate that there was availability this week! We were after a family getaway as soon as possible and when we saw the photos we knew this was the house we wanted to stay at. It looked perfect, from the setting, the house itself and the extras things which were on offer to us to book. I contacted Peta Clifton via e-mail directly and she responded promptly with all the information needed to book and what the house had to offer. I booked it up and over the following couple of weeks leading up to the break away I e-mailed her a few times and she always responded straight away.
We arrived at The Freeth on the Monday at 4pm as we were advised to do and we were not disappointed! The house itself has been refurbished to an amazing standard and the whole place was spotless! We had 4 children aged between 6 and 10 with us and as soon as we arrived and they had had a good look around remarked "We are really staying here?" Within minutes they had chosen their rooms in the attic which were perfect for them and were already digging out their swimming costumes to jump in the pool!
We were greeted by Louisa (as Peta the owner was on holiday herself) just before dinner on the Monday. She was lovely and answered any questions we had and also advised how we could book up a clay pigeon shooting session for later in the week.
We spent lots of time in the pool, enjoyed big family breakfasts in the kitchen and big family meals in the dining room, did lots of walking and exploring, and most importantly made so may fantastic family memories.
There was nothing that could have made our time there any better, so much so we have already discussed going back for the Summer months or Christmas one year! We will definitely be returning to The Freeth.
The whole break was amazing, the beds were comfy, the house was spotless and it was worth every penny for all the memories we made!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Swimming pool
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Apr 2016
Dear Joanne
Thank you so much for your fabulous review: your kind words mean a lot to the team here and we are all so glad that enjoyed your stay with us so much. I'm only sorry that I was away so didn't meet you myself, but hope to do so, if you come and stay with us again. Best wishes. Peta
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing