We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Glasshouse for lunch”
Review of The Grove Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Grove Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Glasshouse for lunch”
Reviewed 18 January 2014

Excellent buffet lunch with something for every palate.The Grove has a great relaxed atmosphere,the service is excellent and we thought that the price of £33 per head was good value.We will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Tomo3369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGroveHotel, General Manager at The Grove Hotel, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Dear Tomo3369,
Thank you for your excellent review of The Grove and I am delighted you and your friends were able to enjoy the full experience in The Glasshouse. I will share your comments with the team and I look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Kind regards,
Jonathan Critchard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,720 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,598
    599
    299
    119
    105
See reviews for
721
826
56
395
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (410)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014

The hotel is quite nice - the old part is actually beautiful! The newer part feels like a huge corporate conference centre - slightly soulless. To be honest I found the staff to be quite lacklustre and disinterested at best. Although we had dinner and the waiting staff were very pleasant - one late night receptionist was blatantly rude and very snippy about a very standard request.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tarajane_omalley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGroveHotel, General Manager at The Grove Hotel, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Dear tarajane_omalley,
Thank you for your review. I am sorry that you felt the team were not attentive during your stay and I will discuss your comments with our front of house team. I do hope we are able to welcome you back to The Grove in the near future.

Kind regards,
Jonathan Critchard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014 via mobile

Visited attending a business conference, a regular event but location changes. Best by far for service, attention to detail and rooms. Lovely setting, with my room overlooking golf course, lovely to wake up to even on a sunny winters morning. Food top notch.

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank NigelBlade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGroveHotel, General Manager at The Grove Hotel, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Dear NigelBlade,
Thank you for taking the time to post your kind review of The Grove. I will share your kind words with our events team and hope we may see you again soon; for business or pleasure.

Kind regards,
Jonathan Critchard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 9 January 2014

I have just returned from a magical weekend. my two children celebrating birthdays and the youngest dreams of being a chef. Harry Lomas The Grove's celebrated Executive Head hosting my nine year old in the kitchen for an afternoon. How fantastic for our boy who was enthralled in the magic of preparing some wondrous feast for our afternoon tea. thank you.
The staff were courteous and professional with nothing too much trouble and this just magnified the quality throughout the Hotel.
celebrating our 12 wedding anniversary, we were greeted with a beautiful amenity of a celebratory cake.

Room Tip: Mansion Room 26 shamazing! the view across the grounds and golf course were so inspiring.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ejmclean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGroveHotel, General Manager at The Grove Hotel, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Dear Ejmclean,
Thank you for taking the time to post your kind review of The Grove. I am delighted your son had a fantastic time with our Executive Chef and you were all able to enjoy a wonderful time with us at The Grove for your special occasion. I look forward to welcoming you and your family again soon.

Kind regards,
Jonathan Critchard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 January 2014

This is the 4th time we have stayed at the Grove and we weren't disappointed. The Spa sleepover package makes an otherwise pricy hotel a good value deal. We were greeted warmly and promptly checked in (even though we were early) - the walks were beautiful , as was sitting by the fire and chilling out. I had a fab massage - no conveyor-belt style treatment there, and the food was plentiful and to a high-standard. I would improve on things by seating families with children in one area of the restaurant as it does feel a bit chaotic- and perhaps offer an early seating for dinner so that couples and groups without children can enjoy a more tranquil evening. All in all a great time to have a break over the Christmas period - and with such a short journey and so much to do it certainly beats dealing with motorways or airports. Thanks v much.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ATM2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGroveHotel, General Manager at The Grove Hotel, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Dear ATM2014,
Thank you for your kind review of The Grove. I am delighted you were able to enjoy a relaxing and attentive spa break with us. I will share your comments with our Food & Beverage Director with regards to family seating, and hope we will be able to welcome you again to The Grove very soon.

Kind regards,
Jonathan Critchard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
56 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We LOVE The Grove Hotel... this was our latest visit to this delightful hotel, having visited many times for meals and stays in the hotel.
We love that one can walk around the extensive grounds, golf course and canal... it is just such a pleasure.
We love the selection of different restaurants in different settings and locations. All offering outstanding meals..!
We love the original manor house with its very tastefully arranged and decorated drawing rooms, reception rooms and lounges... all with genuine log fires, a must in the cold damp British winter.
We love the large well appointed and furnished bedrooms and bathrooms.

A fantastic hotel..!!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoeOutAndAbout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGroveHotel, General Manager at The Grove Hotel, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Dear JoeOutAndAbout,
Thank you for your excellent review of The Grove. I am delighted we were able to welcome you back to The Grove and you had a wonderful time once again with us. I do hope we will have the pleasure of your company again soon.

Kind regards,
Jonathan Critchard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

I visited The Glasshouse on a Saturday lunchtime. We had a buffet lunch which had an excellent choice of seafood, meat, salads, cheese and desserts. The service was prompt and courteous. The grounds are immaculate and would definitely visit again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PSS87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGroveHotel, General Manager at The Grove Hotel, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Dear PriyaS89,
Thank you for taking the time to post your excellent review of The Glasshouse at The Grove. I am delighted you had a wonderful lunch with us and enjoyed the exceptional choice on offer. I hope we will be able to welcome you again soon.

Kind regards,
Jonathan Critchard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chandler's Cross
6.2 mi away
Sopwell House
Sopwell House
#3 of 10 in St Albans
2,147 reviews
1.2 mi away
Mercure London North Watford Hunton Park Hotel
19.9 mi away
Hanbury Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Premier Inn Watford North Hotel
6.9 mi away
Laura Ashley The Manor Elstree
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn London - Watford Junction
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grove Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grove Hotel

Property: The Grove Hotel
Address: London's Country Estate, Chandler's Cross WD3 4TG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Chandler's Cross
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chandler's Cross
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Grove Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 217
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grove, London's country estate, is more than a five-star hotel. Set in 300 acres and only 18 miles from central London, the former home of the Earls of Clarendon is also a luxury 18-hole golf resort, a fabulous spa and unique venue for meetings, weddings and celebrations. Also included in The Grove's extensive facilities are three restaurants including Colette’s, awarded three AA rosettes. A 4acre Walled Garden with urban beach, tennis courts and outdoor pool. A selection of bike and jogging trials to enjoy with complimentary bike hire; and Anouska’s Kids’ Club, graded outstanding by OFSTED makes The Grove a parent and child-friendly resort. Lovingly restored to stunning effect, the property fuses contemporary design and original period architecture with exceptionally caring and professional service. We look forward to welcoming you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Grove Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grove Chandlers Cross
Grove Hotel Chandlers Cross
The Grove Hotel Hertfordshire, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing