We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feels like a business hotel not a resort”
Review of The Grove Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Grove Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Spent a couple nights here after a referral from a friend. The property is large and well kept with adequate parking but once indoors, the rooms and layout felt like a convention centre for business conferences and weddings. Personally I think the rooms are overpriced and you don't even get a separate shower, bottled water or a stand to put your baggage on. Golf course looked good and the gardens are well manicured, even for winter. If you have a big budget then consider.

Room Tip: Away from the long hallways or service doors/rooms is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGroveHotel, General Manager at The Grove Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2014

Dear Peter L,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review of The Grove. I am sorry you felt your room did not exceed your expectations. We do offer a variety of room categories and many do come with a separate shower and bath. The team would be happy to advise you prior to a future visit. I am pleased that you enjoyed the gardens during your visit and I do hope we may be able to welcome you again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Jonathan Critchard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,855)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,781 - 1,787 of 2,855 reviews

Reviewed 9 February 2014

Every experience was superb from the glasshouse restaurant, the lounges, the spa and the gardens and grounds. Our bedroom was very spacious with all the facilities, including a huge flat screen TV and a balcony with great views of the gardens. The bathroom was very well fitted with a shower and roll top bath. The swimming pool and spa was excellent with luxurious changing rooms with each locker container a towel, robe and slippers. The Glasshouse restaurant offered excellent food and they prepared an exceptional Birthday cake for us. The many Chefs on duty were very helpful and obviously had a great knowledge of customer service. Our lunch for 10 was fully enjoyed by everyone.
For a five star establishment, I have only given four stars as I would question - why have those small plastic UHT milks on the tea tray in the bedroom, when they could have fresh milk in the fridge, why did it take four waiters to find out if there were any half bottles of wine available, the hotel has great art and sculptures - but a lot of the pictures on the bedroom corridors are wonky (it looks like there are loose screws coming out of the wall), why say you only do tables for 8 and that we had to have two tables of 5 (which I told all my guests) and was then given a table for 10, why if you want to relax with tea/coffee after lunch in the lounge, you are told that they are busy with afternoon teas and empty chairs can be seen, why offer a free Times or a reduced price other paper and then charge £2.70 for a £2.00 paper and why were twelve welcome cards from the General Manager left in our room in the evening and none of them for us?
These are only small things and would not effect us visiting again. Thank you for the table for 10.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alastair C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGroveHotel, General Manager at The Grove Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2014

Dear Alastair C,
Thank you for your kind review of The Grove. I am pleased to hear you and your guests had a wonderful stay with us. I will discuss the points you have raised with the team to improve our high standards. Fresh milk is available and would gladly bring to your room on request. I do hope we will be able to welcome you again to The Grove in the near future.

Kind regards,
Jonathan Critchard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

The room is as special as you are made to feel. Fabulous in all aspects. Quality second to one and the rooms are gorgeous. From our amazing roll-top bath for two in the fantastic bathroom to the beautiful balcony views across incredible gardens and fountains from our sumptuous room and massive bed, the opulence blankets your stay and seamlessly takes you to a land of bliss - namely the Grove. The stress-busting break we all deserve; you won't be disappointed!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Fiona G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGroveHotel, General Manager at The Grove Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2014

Dear Fiona G,
Thank you for your very kind review of The Grove. I am delighted to read you had a stress-busting break with us and I look forward to welcoming you again very soon.

Kind regards,
Jonathan Critchard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

My sons and I visited the Glass House for a birthday celebration on recommendation. We were not disappointed. The range of food available was excellent with a very high standard of service. We will certainly be visiting again in the not too distant future.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Shirley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGroveHotel, General Manager at The Grove Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2014

Dear Shirley S,
Thank you for your excellent review of The Glasshouse at The Grove. I am so pleased we were able to welcome you and your family and that you had a wonderful birthday with us. I look forward to welcoming you again very soon.

Kind regards,
Jonathan Critchard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2014

As always the food and service at the Glass House were excellent, I have been with my family on quite a few occassions and have never been disappointed. The range of food available is always of a very high standard and can be cooked to your individual requirements.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Bucketoffrogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGroveHotel, General Manager at The Grove Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2014

Dear Bucketoffrogs,
Thank you for your excellent review of The Glasshouse at The Grove. I will be delighted to share your comments with the team and hope we may see you again very soon.

Kind regards,
Jonathan Critchard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

The Grove is a place to go to when you want to feel a million miles away but you don't want to spend longer than 30 minutes driving there. It's a place to go to when you want excellent service, fabulous food, a gorgeous setting and an amazing spa. Whether it's your birthday, anniversary or New Year's Eve, you'll never be disappointed. We've been going for nearly a decade, and we haven't.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank maria b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGroveHotel, General Manager at The Grove Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2014

Dear maria b,
Thank you for taking the time to post your excellent review of The Grove and for the considerable loyalty you have shown to us since opening. I am delighted we have been able to welcome you on numerous occasions over the last decade and look forward to having the pleasure of your company again very soon.

Kind regards,
Jonathan Critchard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

Lovely place, with beautiful surroundings.
We went for dinner at The Stables Restaurant. The staff were very nice, however the food was not as nice! My husband ordered a rib eye steak, as there was no other choice of steak, and it was very fatty and chewy and really wasn't worth the money. For a place like The Grove, you would it to be perfect, for the money you pay.
When we mentioned it to the staff, there was no offer of money off or any type of compensation. Very disappointing!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Ali5463
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGroveHotel, General Manager at The Grove Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2014

Dear Ali5463,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review of The Stables. I am sorry to read that on your most recent visit you found the steak not to your liking and I will pass your comments back to our Head Chef. I do hope we may have the opportunity to welcome you again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Jonathan Critchard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chandler's Cross
6.2 mi away
Sopwell House
Sopwell House
#3 of 10 in St Albans
2,386 reviews
1.2 mi away
Mercure London North Watford Hunton Park Hotel
19.9 mi away
Hanbury Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Laura Ashley The Manor Elstree
2.4 mi away
Premier Inn Watford North Hotel
3.4 mi away
Hilton Watford
Hilton Watford
#7 of 13 in Watford
1,839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grove Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grove Hotel

Address: London's Country Estate, Chandler's Cross WD3 4TG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Chandler's Cross
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chandler's Cross
Price Range: £215 - £370 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Grove Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grove, London's country estate, is more than a five-star hotel. Set in 300 acres and only 18 miles from central London, the former home of the Earls of Clarendon is also a luxury 18-hole golf resort, a fabulous spa and unique venue for meetings, weddings and celebrations. Also included in The Grove's extensive facilities are three restaurants including Colette’s, awarded three AA rosettes. A 4acre Walled Garden with urban beach, tennis courts and outdoor pool. A selection of bike and jogging trials to enjoy with complimentary bike hire; and Anouska’s Kids’ Club, graded outstanding by OFSTED makes The Grove a parent and child-friendly resort. Lovingly restored to stunning effect, the property fuses contemporary design and original period architecture with exceptionally caring and professional service. We look forward to welcoming you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Agoda, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Grove Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grove Chandlers Cross
Grove Hotel Chandlers Cross
The Grove Hotel Hertfordshire, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing