We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Truly Brilliant” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Grove Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Grove Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Watford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Truly Brilliant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2014

All in all the service was excellent, the staff were friendly and happy to sort out anything that needed to be done. Overall I'd say it was a very good stay at a very well organised, modern, helpful and efficient hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGroveHotel, General Manager at The Grove Hotel, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Dear Chris D,
Thank you for taking the time to post your excellent review of The Grove. I hope we will be able to welcome you again soon.

Kind regards,
Jonathan Critchard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,653 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,563
    585
    287
    115
    103
See reviews for
699
806
55
384
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (399)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014

I booked a golf day for my partner and 3 of his friends at the end of January. The booking process was seamless and easy however I did have to call back and ask a few questions which I think should have been covered off originally.

On arrival all the staff were exceptional, well presented, polite. I could not fault anything at all.

Feedback from the players is that the course was truly amazing, well kept and lovely to play.

Had breakfast in the Stables restaurant, quite expensive for what it is - £5.00 for coffee, £5.00 for a breakfast role. Not the best tasting but the restaurant was clean and the service fantastic. I think the pricing needs to be adjusted to reflect the quality.

All in all The Grove is a stunning venue with freindly helpful staff. The staff really do make a difference to your visit here.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicola H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGroveHotel, General Manager at The Grove Hotel, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Dear Nicola H,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review following your golf day at The Grove. I am delighted you all had a wonderful time with us and that you found the course to be amazing - a real testament to the hard work the golf team do on a regular basis but more so recently given the challenging conditions. I do hope we will be able to welcome you again very soon.

Kind regards,
Jonathan Critchard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

My partner and I chose dinner at the Glass House for my elderly parents as a belated Christmas Gift. Food as always was excellent however the evening was rather ruined by the confusion over my booking and the way in which we were treated. The error was not mine as there was another couple with the same surname who wanted a table for 2, I had booked a table for 4 however the lack of apology was rather disconcerting. The dessert options seem to be limited on a Saturday due to the Chocolate fountain which I assume was meant for children and I would also recommend asking to be seated away from this area due to volume of repeat visits by under 16's.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Val C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGroveHotel, General Manager at The Grove Hotel, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Dear Val C,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review of The Grove. I am sorry to hear of the initial confusion with your booking upon arrival and that the team did not address this in a suitable manner. I am pleased that you and your family had an otherwise enjoyable experience in The Glasshouse and hope we may look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Kind regards,
Jonathan Critchard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
53 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

Spent a couple nights here after a referral from a friend. The property is large and well kept with adequate parking but once indoors, the rooms and layout felt like a convention centre for business conferences and weddings. Personally I think the rooms are overpriced and you don't even get a separate shower, bottled water or a stand to put your baggage on. Golf course looked good and the gardens are well manicured, even for winter. If you have a big budget then consider.

Room Tip: Away from the long hallways or service doors/rooms is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGroveHotel, General Manager at The Grove Hotel, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Dear Peter L,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review of The Grove. I am sorry you felt your room did not exceed your expectations. We do offer a variety of room categories and many do come with a separate shower and bath. The team would be happy to advise you prior to a future visit. I am pleased that you enjoyed the gardens during your visit and I do hope we may be able to welcome you again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Jonathan Critchard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bishops Stortford
Level Contributor
57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

Every experience was superb from the glasshouse restaurant, the lounges, the spa and the gardens and grounds. Our bedroom was very spacious with all the facilities, including a huge flat screen TV and a balcony with great views of the gardens. The bathroom was very well fitted with a shower and roll top bath. The swimming pool and spa was excellent with luxurious changing rooms with each locker container a towel, robe and slippers. The Glasshouse restaurant offered excellent food and they prepared an exceptional Birthday cake for us. The many Chefs on duty were very helpful and obviously had a great knowledge of customer service. Our lunch for 10 was fully enjoyed by everyone.
For a five star establishment, I have only given four stars as I would question - why have those small plastic UHT milks on the tea tray in the bedroom, when they could have fresh milk in the fridge, why did it take four waiters to find out if there were any half bottles of wine available, the hotel has great art and sculptures - but a lot of the pictures on the bedroom corridors are wonky (it looks like there are loose screws coming out of the wall), why say you only do tables for 8 and that we had to have two tables of 5 (which I told all my guests) and was then given a table for 10, why if you want to relax with tea/coffee after lunch in the lounge, you are told that they are busy with afternoon teas and empty chairs can be seen, why offer a free Times or a reduced price other paper and then charge £2.70 for a £2.00 paper and why were twelve welcome cards from the General Manager left in our room in the evening and none of them for us?
These are only small things and would not effect us visiting again. Thank you for the table for 10.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alastair C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGroveHotel, General Manager at The Grove Hotel, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Dear Alastair C,
Thank you for your kind review of The Grove. I am pleased to hear you and your guests had a wonderful stay with us. I will discuss the points you have raised with the team to improve our high standards. Fresh milk is available and would gladly bring to your room on request. I do hope we will be able to welcome you again to The Grove in the near future.

Kind regards,
Jonathan Critchard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014 via mobile

The room is as special as you are made to feel. Fabulous in all aspects. Quality second to one and the rooms are gorgeous. From our amazing roll-top bath for two in the fantastic bathroom to the beautiful balcony views across incredible gardens and fountains from our sumptuous room and massive bed, the opulence blankets your stay and seamlessly takes you to a land of bliss - namely the Grove. The stress-busting break we all deserve; you won't be disappointed!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Fiona G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGroveHotel, General Manager at The Grove Hotel, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Dear Fiona G,
Thank you for your very kind review of The Grove. I am delighted to read you had a stress-busting break with us and I look forward to welcoming you again very soon.

Kind regards,
Jonathan Critchard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014

My sons and I visited the Glass House for a birthday celebration on recommendation. We were not disappointed. The range of food available was excellent with a very high standard of service. We will certainly be visiting again in the not too distant future.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Shirley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGroveHotel, General Manager at The Grove Hotel, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Dear Shirley S,
Thank you for your excellent review of The Glasshouse at The Grove. I am so pleased we were able to welcome you and your family and that you had a wonderful birthday with us. I look forward to welcoming you again very soon.

Kind regards,
Jonathan Critchard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chandler's Cross
1.2 mi away
De Vere Hunton Park
De Vere Hunton Park
#1 of 1 in Hunton Bridge
3.5 of 5 bubbles 688 reviews
6.2 mi away
Sopwell House
Sopwell House
#3 of 9 in St Albans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,016 reviews
2.4 mi away
Premier Inn Watford North Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.9 mi away
Hanbury Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
7.2 mi away
Laura Ashley The Manor Elstree
2.2 mi away
Jurys Inn London Watford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grove Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grove Hotel

Property: The Grove Hotel
Address: London's Country Estate, Chandler's Cross WD3 4TG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Chandler's Cross
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chandler's Cross
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Grove Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 217
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grove, London's country estate, is more than a five-star hotel. Set in 300 acres and only 18 miles from central London, the former home of the Earls of Clarendon is also a luxury 18-hole golf resort, a fabulous spa and unique venue for meetings, weddings and celebrations. Also included in The Grove's extensive facilities are three restaurants including Colette’s, awarded three AA rosettes. A 4acre Walled Garden with urban beach, tennis courts and outdoor pool. A selection of bike and jogging trials to enjoy with complimentary bike hire; and Anouska’s Kids’ Club, graded outstanding by OFSTED makes The Grove a parent and child-friendly resort. Lovingly restored to stunning effect, the property fuses contemporary design and original period architecture with exceptionally caring and professional service. We look forward to welcoming you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct so you can book your The Grove Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grove Chandlers Cross
Grove Hotel Chandlers Cross
The Grove Hotel Hertfordshire, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing