We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Collette's at The Grove is a fantastic fine dining experience.”
Review of The Grove Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Grove Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 March 2014

From the moment we arrived we felt like VIP's. The staff were knowledgeable about both the food and wine, and the attention to detail was fantastic. We will be returning in the summer to experience another menu. A great location for a romantic meal or special occasion.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank APBrierley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGroveHotel, General Manager at The Grove Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2014

Dear APBrierley,
Thank you for taking the time to post your excellent review of Colette's at The Grove. I am so pleased you had a fantastic time and look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Kind regards,
Jonathan Critchard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,835)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,706 - 1,712 of 2,835 reviews

Reviewed 2 March 2014

The hotel is wonderful, however some things left us a little disappointed, mostly that we frequently visited the hotel 4 to 5 years when we lived in St Albans and not much has changed, maybe they think if it isn’t broke do not fix it, but I would be worried this is starting to get stuck in a rut. Further some other key points of feedback:-
1. We booked the spa package and for some strange reason they do no have any dual treatment rooms, even though it says there is in the booklet in the room. This meant that we spent a considerable amount of time apart on what was meant to be a special weekend.
2. My spa treatment was a lot shorter than the quoted 80 minutes that we paid extra for
3. I had asked for a room with a view of the gardens as it was a special occasion the lady on the phone advised she would request an upgrade. I advised I was ok to pay after all this was over £700 for the package by the time we added the additional treatments I was not going to be bothered about few extra pounds, however she it would be fine as it was my wife's birthday. When we arrived that was not the case, and had a view over the car park which was extremely disappointing.
4. As previously mentioned it was my wife's birthday and although the hotel placed a cake in the room, there was no acknowledgement from check in, spa or restaurant staff. To be fair if we had stayed at a big chain I would have expected similar behaviour but that was one of the reasons for picking the grove.
5. The tables in the evening in the glass house where far too close together, acknowledging that it was Valentines Day and many of the larger table had been split into tables for 2 there was just far too many.

Now on to the positives,
1. The hotel still has the lovely fresh flower arrangements each day
2. The spa is extremely well appointed
3. The toiletries in the room are of a high quality
4. The lounges are lovely and provide a nice intimate feel
5. The food at the glasshouse for both breakfast and evening meal was of an extremely high quality
6. The staff are extremely helpful and professional without being pretentious

Overall we had a nice experience but I do not think we would return

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Pingu_the_penguin_84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGroveHotel, General Manager at The Grove Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2014

Dear Pingu_the_penguin_84,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am pleased that overall you had an enjoyable time with us. I will discuss your comments highlighted with our spa and reservations team. We do endeavour to recognise and add a personal touch as part of our guests experience where possible and I am sorry you did not experience this on your most recent visit. I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Jonathan Critchard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

I booked a Spa overnight stay for myself and my daughter for her birthday. We arrived on 8thFebruary 2014 at 12.15 and had a light lunch before my daughters treatment at 2pm. Before my treatment at 3.30 we received some news from home which meant we had to check out. Obviously there is a cancellation policy which meant I had to pay for the room, evening meals and breakfast and treatment which I did not have, in full. I accepted this and settled the bill and reluctantly left the hotel. About a week later I received an e-mail to say they had charged for the treatment my daughter had booked for the morning of the 9th February and taken from my account. I replied to the e-mail explaining that I had checked out and paid in full although I had thought at the time the treatment for the following morning would be cancelled. However, the response I received explained that I would have had to cancel this treatment before 9 am on 8th February (before we arrived and were not aware we were going to have to leave so early) and therefore they would not refund the money. However they did offer to allow me a room upgrade if I stayed at the hotel in the future. I did ask for contact details of their Head Office as I was not happy that they would not have made some allowances for personal circumstances which made us abandon our stay. I have received no response to my last e-mail!!

I would never stay at this hotel again or recommend any of my clients either. Maybe the 5 star rating of the hotel allows them to lose all sight of compassion for their patrons which is very sad.

To anyone considering staying at this hotel which I have to say is in a lovely setting, just bear in mind that if you find yourself in a position where normal life kicks in whilst in the middle of a stay you were looking forward to, you will receive no allowance or compassion here!
Although nearly £600 was a lot of money to pay for, in effect, just one treatment and a sandwich and 2 cocktails, my daughters birthday treat was spoilt. Still, as least the hotel received full payment this is all that seems to matter!

Never again! Very disillusioned !

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank linda o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGroveHotel, General Manager at The Grove Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2014

Dear linda o,
I am sorry to read your review and please accept my sincere apologies for the delayed response to your recent email. While the decision of our Spa Director was in line with our cancellation policy I am pleased to say we are happy to make an exception on this occasion and have refunded you £130 for the cost of the treatment. Once again, I am genuinely sorry for the delay in our reply and I do hope we have the opportunity of welcoming you back to The Grove.

Kind regards,
Jonathan Critchard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

From the moment we arrived it was first class all the way! The spa was fantastic and all the staff made it a very special weekend.We had a super dinner in the Glasshouse Buffet with far to much to eat!!!and as for the breakfast !!The whole stay was amazing.

Room Tip: We upgraded it was a super room with great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGroveHotel, General Manager at The Grove Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2014

Dear Jon W,
Thank you for taking the time to post your excellent review of The Grove. I am so pleased you had a first class stay and I look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Kind regards,
Jonathan Critchard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Group of 6 had a great time marking several birthdays at The Glasshouse for Sunday lunch. Very good choice of food. Staff ensured that platters were refresshed and kept clean and tidy, Staff waiting at tables were attentive and friendly.

Only two minor points - It would have been nice to have been asked if we would like the wine kept on the table so we could serve ourselves (although staff did keep our glasses replenished). Jugs of tap water should have been iced and with lemon or lime - not too much to ask

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank cctlgw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGroveHotel, General Manager at The Grove Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2014

Dear cctlgw,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review of The Grove. I am so pleased you chose to celebrate your special occasion with us and you had a good time. I will share your comments with the team and I look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Kind regards,
Jonathan Critchard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Excellent food, the sandwiches were a great success! Vegetarian diet well catered for although they were notified in advance. Generous portions with lots of refills included. Lovely location, a nice afternoon treat!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank retiredCairo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGroveHotel, General Manager at The Grove Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2014

Dear retiredCairo,
Thank you for taking the time to post your excellent review of The Grove. I am so pleased you had a lovely time with us and I look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Kind regards,
Jonathan Critchard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

I was staying at the Grove Hotel as part of a group attending a function in relation to my job, I found the hotel and staff to be outstanding and the facilities are also very impressive. However, after the evening event I attended I returned to my room to find my towels replaced, new shampoo and bed turned back etc. All good till I went to the bathroom to find a used chewing gum spat onto the edge of the toilet bowl. Unfortunately that one small thing put a different perspective on my stay, I would not have put a review on here except for the fact that I called the following day (Wednesday 19th) Spoke to the receptionist and she was going to speak with housekeeping and somkeone would e mail me. To date I have not heard anything. Other than that I would recommend this hotel for either business or pleasure.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank kevinjw2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGroveHotel, General Manager at The Grove Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2014

Dear kevinjw2014,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review of The Grove. I am pleased you had an overall positive experience at The Grove however I will follow up on the comments regarding the chewing gum and respond to you offline. Thank you for your patience whilst we investigate this. I do hope we are able to welcome you back to The Grove very soon.

Kind regards,
Jonathan Critchard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chandler's Cross
6.2 mi away
Sopwell House
Sopwell House
#3 of 10 in St Albans
2,336 reviews
1.2 mi away
Mercure London North Watford Hunton Park Hotel
19.9 mi away
Hanbury Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Laura Ashley The Manor Elstree
2.4 mi away
Premier Inn Watford North Hotel
3.4 mi away
Hilton Watford
Hilton Watford
#7 of 13 in Watford
1,816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grove Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grove Hotel

Address: London's Country Estate, Chandler's Cross WD3 4TG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Chandler's Cross
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chandler's Cross
Price Range: £226 - £409 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Grove Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 217
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grove, London's country estate, is more than a five-star hotel. Set in 300 acres and only 18 miles from central London, the former home of the Earls of Clarendon is also a luxury 18-hole golf resort, a fabulous spa and unique venue for meetings, weddings and celebrations. Also included in The Grove's extensive facilities are three restaurants including Colette’s, awarded three AA rosettes. A 4acre Walled Garden with urban beach, tennis courts and outdoor pool. A selection of bike and jogging trials to enjoy with complimentary bike hire; and Anouska’s Kids’ Club, graded outstanding by OFSTED makes The Grove a parent and child-friendly resort. Lovingly restored to stunning effect, the property fuses contemporary design and original period architecture with exceptionally caring and professional service. We look forward to welcoming you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Grove Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grove Chandlers Cross
Grove Hotel Chandlers Cross
The Grove Hotel Hertfordshire, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing