We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Colette's Tasting Menu”
Review of The Grove Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Grove Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Colette's Tasting Menu”
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Four of us had a beautiful evening out at Colette's. Parking was easy. The staff were highly attentive but not intrusive. We chose the 'Sonnet' tasting menu and the 'Nature' tasting menu. The fish courses and the beef courses from the 'Sonnet' menu simply melted in your mouth. Having a vegetarian who can't eat nuts with us could have been a problem for some restaurant, but not for Colette's. The 'Nature' menu was fantastic. Favourite course was the Duck Egg. The chocolate dessert was divine. The canapés, amuse bouche, warm bread, butter & olive oil were all packed with flavour too. Each course was carefully explained to us before we ate by the waiting staff. We asked to drink our coffee in the piano lounge of The Grove and a member of staff escorted us round and served our drinks to us there. We also managed to thank the chef and discuss our meal with him too. Beautiful simple décor, lit with real candles so quite atmospheric, quiet music in the background, comfortable chairs, nice size table. Beautiful food, wonderful atmosphere, excellent staff, huge toilets! A fantastic treat that we would like to repeat. A totally new and amazing experience for all four of us.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Lisa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGroveHotel, General Manager at The Grove Hotel, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Dear Lisa A,
Thank you for taking the time to post your excellent review of Colette's at The Grove. I am so pleased you had a wonderful time and enjoyed the lovely tasting menus. It will be a pleasure to share your kind words with the team and I look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Kind regards,
Jonathan Critchard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,742 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,610
    602
    301
    122
    107
See reviews for
725
833
56
399
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (413)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 3 March 2014

I stayed in The Grove for business reasons. Quality of food is good, the service of the staff is just amazing. They're really helpful and friendly. The gym is good as well, usually there's just one machine which is broken but here there were multiple treadmills and cross trainers, lots of weights, dumbells and yoga mats.

Room Tip: Take the one with a bath, extremely relaxing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Sanne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGroveHotel, General Manager at The Grove Hotel, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Dear Sanne K,
Thank you for taking the time to post your excellent review of The Grove. I am so pleased you had a wonderful time with us whilst travelling on business and enjoyed the fantastic gym in Sequoia. It will be a pleasure to share your kind words with the team and I look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Kind regards,
Jonathan Critchard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunstable, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Easy booking process. Lovely greeting on arrival and welcome tour. Wonderful facilities - the Vitality pool was amazing! I had the Rose Ritual - 110 minutes of bliss. I can honestly say it was the best treatment I have ever had at any Spa. My daughter had a hot stone treatment and loved it. Lunch was a bit disappointing as we had to take it in the cocktail bar. The food was excellent but the service was not. No one seemed to know where we had to go for lunch and we were pretty well ignored by the bar staff when they did decide. If lunch had been a better experience my rating would have been excellent.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Lynn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGroveHotel, General Manager at The Grove Hotel, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Dear Lynn G,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review of The Grove. I am so pleased you chose to visit Sequoia with your daughter for a relaxing day of pampering. I am sorry you found your lunch experience to be a little disappointing and I will share your comments with the spa team. I hope we may look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Kind regards,
Jonathan Critchard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Staying durring the howling gales but felt as if I was in heven. Fantastic Place, Spa Staff are helpful, pleasant really know how to look after you. Facilities are Superb.
the Buffet Food seems to never ending, and delicious!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGroveHotel, General Manager at The Grove Hotel, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Dear James B,
Thank you for taking the time to post your excellent review of The Grove. I am so pleased you had a wonderful time despite the wind and the rain outside! It will be a pleasure to share your kind words with the team and I look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Kind regards,
Jonathan Critchard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 3 March 2014

All the staff from entrance to bar to restaurant to kitchen were efficient, courteous and friendly.
Food choice at the Glass house was great.
The nice little touch of an individual birthday cake presented to me was very sweet.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank janet b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGroveHotel, General Manager at The Grove Hotel, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Dear janet b,
Thank you for taking the time to post your excellent review of The Grove. I am so pleased you chose to celebrate your birthday with us and you all had a wonderful time. It will be a pleasure to share your kind words with the team and I look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Kind regards,
Jonathan Critchard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Very good service, and very clean, been there for dinner / lunch at the Glasshouse a few times, and no doult will go again for special occasion or lovely romantic meal....... Pricly but worth it.......

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jonathan1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGroveHotel, General Manager at The Grove Hotel, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Dear Jonathan1957,
Thank you for taking the time to post your excellent review of The Grove. I am so pleased you have had a wonderful time on more than one occasion with us and I hope we can look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Kind regards,
Jonathan Critchard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rickmansworth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

As always a really nice greeting from the doorman, reception and bar staff. Easy parking. Lovely cocktails to start although on the pricey side. Again very well looked after by the staff in the restaurant.
Food was to die for - from the smoked salmon and prawns, the various cheeses, the asian area, the salamis, chorizo and scotch eggs, and not forgetting the steaks and fish. The sweets were also mouth watering. Always a great evening out but you must go there very hungry.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank peteralfred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGroveHotel, General Manager at The Grove Hotel, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Dear peterlfred,
Thank you for taking the time to post your excellent review of The Grove. I am so pleased you had a brilliant time and I look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Kind regards,
Jonathan Critchard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chandler's Cross
6.2 mi away
Sopwell House
Sopwell House
#3 of 10 in St Albans
2,183 reviews
1.2 mi away
Mercure London North Watford Hunton Park Hotel
19.9 mi away
No photo provided
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Premier Inn Watford North Hotel
6.9 mi away
Laura Ashley The Manor Elstree
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn London - Watford Junction
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grove Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grove Hotel

Property: The Grove Hotel
Address: London's Country Estate, Chandler's Cross WD3 4TG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Chandler's Cross
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chandler's Cross
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Grove Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 217
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grove, London's country estate, is more than a five-star hotel. Set in 300 acres and only 18 miles from central London, the former home of the Earls of Clarendon is also a luxury 18-hole golf resort, a fabulous spa and unique venue for meetings, weddings and celebrations. Also included in The Grove's extensive facilities are three restaurants including Colette’s, awarded three AA rosettes. A 4acre Walled Garden with urban beach, tennis courts and outdoor pool. A selection of bike and jogging trials to enjoy with complimentary bike hire; and Anouska’s Kids’ Club, graded outstanding by OFSTED makes The Grove a parent and child-friendly resort. Lovingly restored to stunning effect, the property fuses contemporary design and original period architecture with exceptionally caring and professional service. We look forward to welcoming you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your The Grove Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grove Chandlers Cross
Grove Hotel Chandlers Cross
The Grove Hotel Hertfordshire, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing