We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Citroen Awards Event”
Review of The Grove Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Grove Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Morpeth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Citroen Awards Event”
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Hotel was absolutely beautiful from the drive into the entrance to the spectacular service received on arrival.

Check in was quick and easy considering the massive event taking place that night.

Room was out of this world, balcony overlooking the gardens and golf course to the roll top bath and the huge glass room shower cubicle.

Could not fault the food or the impeccable manners of the staff.

Could have stayed for a week!!

Would definitely visit again

Thank you for a very enjoyable stay

Room Tip: room 118 was very quiet and large
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank natyark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGroveHotel, General Manager at The Grove Hotel, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Dear natyark,
Thank you for taking the time to post your excellent review following your recent event at The Grove. I am so pleased you had a thoroughly enjoyable time with us and we would be delighted to welcome you again to The Grove very soon.

Kind regards,
Jonathan Critchard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,696 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,585
    593
    297
    118
    103
See reviews for
712
823
55
391
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (407)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amersham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 March 2014

The Grove has become our favourite place to eat! The food choice is phenonemal, - the service incredible, and we cannot recommend it highly enough! Our favourite is The Glasshouse where we always feel comfortable and well looked after. We have taken a number of friends at various times, and everyone is as enthusiastic as we are!
For a real treat for a special occasion just go there.
Heather Haddock, Amersham.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank HeatherHaddock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGroveHotel, General Manager at The Grove Hotel, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Dear Heather,
Thank you for taking the time to post your excellent review of The Grove. It is so pleasing to read your kind comments and I am delighted we have been able to welcome you and your friends on numerous occasions. I will share your comments with the team and I hope we will have the pleasure of your company again very soon.

Kind regards,
Jonathan Critchard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 7 March 2014

The food and service at The Stables restaurant was so perfect! A great place to celebrate birthdays or to have a romantic night with your partner. There's a relaxed atmosphere and the staff are very friendly and professional! Can't wait for my next visit.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmeliaParkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGroveHotel, General Manager at The Grove Hotel, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Dear AmeliaParkins,
Thank you for your kind review and I look forward to welcoming you again soon to The Grove.

Kind regards,
Jonathan Critchard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 6 March 2014

what can i say the whole evening was wonderful every thing one could ask for and more the choice of foods was unbelievable the hotel is in beautiful grounds as we live not far away we will be back to use the glasshouse as it is very impressive

Room Tip: cannot not comment as we did not stay over
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank veronica c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGroveHotel, General Manager at The Grove Hotel, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Dear veronica c,
Thank you for taking the time to post your excellent review of The Grove. I am delighted you had a wonderful evening in The Glasshouse and look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Kind regards,
Jonathan Critchard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

A great place to visit London without needing to actually be in London. No hassle getting into London on the train and easy to get to from the place they call the North! Happy to recommend especially for families.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank TheFlyingSurgeon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGroveHotel, General Manager at The Grove Hotel, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Dear TheFlyingSurgeon,
Thank you for taking the time to post your excellent review of The Grove. I am so pleased you and your family were able to enjoy a hassle-free break with us and I look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Kind regards,
Jonathan Critchard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

The small games room was shut for some reason however they loved their few days in the play room. It's easy to take some lovely walks and in particular along the Regents canal and the hotel can supply maps. The grounds are impressive and the decor really well done. The breakfast buffet was ample and so too the evening buffet however it is extortionately priced for what you get. Aside the fine dining restaurant, we tried all three other restaurants and was nothing outstanding. Some of the staff seemed either bored or condescending and it was quite rare to get more than a three star service from some of them. We felt the food and drink was completely overpriced for its worth and it was pretty clear that were taking advantage and making a huge mark up on this. We couldn't help but compare it to central London 4 and 5 star hotels and found the quality versus the price just didn't match up. As a consequence we felt a little cheated. Would we go again? For a night - perhaps. For longer - no.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGroveHotel, General Manager at The Grove Hotel, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Dear Michelle S,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. Due to the proximity of the games room to our guest bedrooms we currently open between 9am and 5pm to prevent disturbance in this area. I am concerned you felt that the level of service was below par for a property like The Grove and will discuss with the team. I am pleased that you did enjoy the grounds and decor of the property and hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you again soon.

Kind regards,
Jonathan Critchard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edgware, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Excellent evening. My party inculded a couple which were on a vegan diet and the chief of the night prepare special dishes for them including a delightful desert. It is rare to get this kind of service these days particulary when there are buffet counters. My guest really appreciated the efforted made by the staff.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Indy6153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGroveHotel, General Manager at The Grove Hotel, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Dear Indy6153,
Thank you for taking the time to post your excellent review of The Grove. I am so pleased you and your family enjoyed a birthday celebration with us in The Glasshouse. I will be delighted to share your comments with the team and I look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Kind regards,
Jonathan Critchard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chandler's Cross
6.2 mi away
Sopwell House
Sopwell House
#3 of 10 in St Albans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,109 reviews
1.2 mi away
Mercure London North Watford Hunton Park Hotel
19.9 mi away
Hanbury Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Premier Inn Watford North Hotel
6.9 mi away
Laura Ashley The Manor Elstree
2.2 mi away
Jurys Inn London Watford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grove Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grove Hotel

Property: The Grove Hotel
Address: London's Country Estate, Chandler's Cross WD3 4TG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Chandler's Cross
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chandler's Cross
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Grove Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 217
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grove, London's country estate, is more than a five-star hotel. Set in 300 acres and only 18 miles from central London, the former home of the Earls of Clarendon is also a luxury 18-hole golf resort, a fabulous spa and unique venue for meetings, weddings and celebrations. Also included in The Grove's extensive facilities are three restaurants including Colette’s, awarded three AA rosettes. A 4acre Walled Garden with urban beach, tennis courts and outdoor pool. A selection of bike and jogging trials to enjoy with complimentary bike hire; and Anouska’s Kids’ Club, graded outstanding by OFSTED makes The Grove a parent and child-friendly resort. Lovingly restored to stunning effect, the property fuses contemporary design and original period architecture with exceptionally caring and professional service. We look forward to welcoming you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Lastminute, Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, HRS, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Grove Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grove Chandlers Cross
Grove Hotel Chandlers Cross
The Grove Hotel Hertfordshire, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing