We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a treat”
Review of The Grove Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Grove Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“What a treat”
Reviewed 1 May 2014

My son booked this stay for us (Mam & Dad) for one night on 25 April 2014 as we were attending the wedding of his wife's brother . The service and reception and evening event were also at the Grove. This hotel is what I would call luxurious
The bedrooms are large and clean and have a large bathroom with shower and filled with lots of toiletries and equipped with every item you need for your stay . The bedroom has also a large tv with all channels. You also can order from the menu and have room service you also get free Wifi
The meal after the wedding was very good as was the food at the disco at night.
We also had breakfast the next morning which was excellent you were spoilt for choice what ever you could think of they had and much more as many times as you like. We sat as a family and stayed for 2 hours. The service the staff gave was also excellent serving you with tea and coffee all the time.. Should you be in the area and want to treat someone on a special occasion and don't mind the Prices then this is the place to go.
The only complaint I have is we travelled 300 miles and when we got there we were a little early for our room. The event organiser in charge of the wedding told us to go to the glass bar and have tea or coffee, which we did however on leaving the bar we were told a charge of £10.20 would be charge to our room. I spoke to the events organiser later who said she did not mean it was free but as it was not made plain a charge would be made she would take care of the charge and took our room number. On checking out the next day it had not been taken care of as promised and the event organiser was off duty . Reception staff promised to check with her the next day and email my son as yet he has had no response.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the grounds, all room are excellent but some face the car park not that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,697 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,585
    593
    297
    118
    104
See reviews for
712
823
55
391
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (407)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
44 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Have stayed here twice. Rooms are luxurious - very comfortable! Love the cheeky artwork in the hallways! Grounds are beautiful and make for a great walk. Good restaurants but make sure to have reservations in advance!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeeMass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
64 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

No matter if you come to this hotel for a golf w-e or a romantic w-e or if you come with young children knowing you will have a lovely family time + spa or evening out while your kids are being looked after at great kids club/babysitter, there is enough space and the hotel is so well organised that you will not feel disturb (golfers, couples), nor embarrassed (with your kids running around) here.
We actually came with our 2 daughters aged 8 and 10, which don't want to go to kids clubs anymore. And we are probably the category of people who fits the least in this hotel. And still, we had a lovely time! The hotel's grounds are stunning! Went for a long walk! Played chess in the garden! Played tennis table, jumped in the pool, and had a lovely dinner in the Stables restaurant!
And of course.....main reason for us to stay in this hotel : went to the Harry Potter studio! Perfect location as the studios are just few minutes by car from the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Murielle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunstable, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

My lovely work colleagues gave me a voucher for Afternoon Tea for Two for my 50th birthday. We went today and had a lovely time - even the rainy weather didn't dampen our spirits!
The service was attentive but not overbearing and the food and teas were lovely. Our plates were replenished several times and we left feeling very full and happy. The warm scones with jam and clotted cream were to die for.
I would thoroughly recommend this experience at The Grove, lovely afternoon, lovely people!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisnPat84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Amazing,drove up the drive,concierge so welcoming, took my car without any fuss , reception so polite and helpful.

View from our balcony,breath taking, room spotless, and so to dinner in the Glasshouse,staff were friendly and happy, food amazing, so much to choose from..........alas no room for dessert,next time.......

We will defiantly be back.

A special thanks to Goshia, amazing cocktails, and Sabri for the attentive service.

Room Tip: Room, 120, amazing views .
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kazsunshineblues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

paid about 360 for a room with a great view to the golf course but unfortunately the load in and load out area for the band.

The corridors look like an American school with what looks like locker doors all along.

rooms are what you would expect for a place this price but no free bottle of water. The food at our banquet was average, didnt offer us any coffee just as we were ignored at the drinks reception. my partner had to chase for a drink. We had a very average breakfast in the stables and they dished up eggs benedict with what appeared to be folded over shiny processed ham. The staff are very pleasant. Probably the biggest surprise rip off I have had in a hotel for years

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alan512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

My husband and I stayed here in October 2013 for a two night weekend break without the children. We occupied an executive suite in the main house which was outstanding. The room was very luxurious and comfortable. The view from our room looked over the golf course and the gardens.

On our first night where we ate in The Glass House where the selection and quality of the food was amazing. Our waiter was very knowledgeable of what food was on offer and which drinks would compliment our meal. We also ate breakfast in The Glass House which was very satisfactory.

We also ate a meal at The Stables but my preference would be The Glass House.

We spent a morning in The Spa which is a short walk away from the main hotel building. The spa is very nice and massage treatment very good.

The grounds of the hotel are beautiful and very well kept, you would never believe that you were actually in Watford. This is a fantastic hotel for a weekend break. I would definitely recommend this hotel. It is very expensive however the service is impeccable and the Champagne cocktails are fabulous!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chocolatecakeyumyum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chandler's Cross
6.2 mi away
Sopwell House
Sopwell House
#3 of 10 in St Albans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,109 reviews
1.2 mi away
Mercure London North Watford Hunton Park Hotel
19.9 mi away
Hanbury Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Premier Inn Watford North Hotel
6.9 mi away
Laura Ashley The Manor Elstree
2.2 mi away
Jurys Inn London Watford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grove Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grove Hotel

Property: The Grove Hotel
Address: London's Country Estate, Chandler's Cross WD3 4TG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Chandler's Cross
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chandler's Cross
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Grove Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 217
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grove, London's country estate, is more than a five-star hotel. Set in 300 acres and only 18 miles from central London, the former home of the Earls of Clarendon is also a luxury 18-hole golf resort, a fabulous spa and unique venue for meetings, weddings and celebrations. Also included in The Grove's extensive facilities are three restaurants including Colette’s, awarded three AA rosettes. A 4acre Walled Garden with urban beach, tennis courts and outdoor pool. A selection of bike and jogging trials to enjoy with complimentary bike hire; and Anouska’s Kids’ Club, graded outstanding by OFSTED makes The Grove a parent and child-friendly resort. Lovingly restored to stunning effect, the property fuses contemporary design and original period architecture with exceptionally caring and professional service. We look forward to welcoming you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Lastminute, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Grove Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grove Chandlers Cross
Grove Hotel Chandlers Cross
The Grove Hotel Hertfordshire, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing