We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better then expected.”
Review of The Grove Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Grove Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Stayed at the hotel for one night in May,

Very very nice, better then expected, do not think the hotels website does it much justice, just of the m25, very easy to get to and find,

On a large country estate, when driving up you wouldn't think your so close to Watford and the motorway,

We stayed in a basic room, which was very nice and large for a standard room, hotel it's self is beautiful, with lots to do, service on a whole a is very good, from the door man at the front of the hotel to waiting staff in colletes restaurant,

The spa is very nice, but the best bit is the outdoor pool area, luckily when we stayed it was very hot, which helped,

We dined at colletes restaurant, and done the tasting menu with wine, food overall very good, and wine pairing although different was very well thought out, but best part was the service in the restaurant,

The hotel is very big and gets very busy in the summer with the golf course,

If I had to pick a faults would say the air conditioning in are room wasn't great, and one of the waiters took ages serving us drinks in the day when we sat outside, but that's just being really fussy,

Overall great service, beautiful hotel and outside pool area, good food, good for couples and family's,

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Lulube
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,808)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,562 - 1,568 of 2,808 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2014

We took our 3 children (21, 18, 15) to The Grove to celebrate our daughter's 21st birthday. We enjoyed the spa facilities and my husband and son had a game of golf.
We all had a fantastic stay and the service and attentiveness of the staff in all areas of the hotel was exemplary. There was a large wedding being hosted on the Saturday which we thought might divert the staff's attention from the other guests, however this could have been further from the truth. How I wish I knew about The Grove when I got married- it looked like an amazing affair!
We have stayed at The Grove a number of times and every time we go I still get that excited feeling. I can't wait to go again.....!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mrsnikkiholmes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Another trip to Colette's and another amazing meal. We had their May asparagus menu and it was so good we went back the following week to experience it again on our wedding anniversary. Superb! As it was our anniversary we were given an extra pudding to share and sweets on a plate with 'happy anniversary' beautifully written on the plate in chocolate. A very thoughtful gesture which was much appreciated.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Valtas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Magnificent setting and wonderful service. Rooms are high spec and clean with lovely toiletries and soft towels.
The swimming pool area and vegetable garden are gorgeous. Also the beach alongside the pool was lovely. I enjoyed a garden game of chess.

The spa is world class and amongst the best that you can get.

Room Tip: Manor House is exceptional and rooms very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Alec G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

An hotel with a big reputation has subtly understated unobtrusive attentive service. The restaurant options all offer first class menus. Colette's tasting menu is fun but not something you would opt for too often.

Nothing about the hotel and staff we could find could be criticised - however, perhaps if the guests could control their kids in the breakfast room we could all enjoy a peaceful start to the day.

Yes it's a little on the expensive side but you truly get what you pay for here.

Room Tip: suites in the old building are worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank B D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

I have visited The Grove twice now, and, having been in the golf business for over 20 years, I have visited many top golf properties around the world. The Grove has a nice setting, a very good golf course and a good hotel with good service. What lets it down? it is the silly things, such as on a warm day not seeing the buggy bar until the 17th hole - despite being one of the few groups out on the golf course. Yes, there is a halfway hut, but this offers you snacks and drinks at ridiculous prices (such as a bacon roll for approx. £6 which is heated up in the microwave - not something you would expect from a 5 star resort?). I could go on, but it would not be fair as The Grove more than makes up for these small annoyances with comfortable, well decorated rooms, friendly, professional staff and a warm welcome. The food is also very good whether it be served at the golf club or in the hotel itself. Sadly, I cannot comment on the Spa as I did not have time to venture there, however, as I do intend on returning to The Grove, maybe I'll make up for that next time!

Room Tip: If you can try and book a corner room with a dual aspect then do! i believe these come with a bigger...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank matthew s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

The hotel was clean, the food was nice, the staff were friendly and helpful, the grounds were fairly spectacular with lovely canal walks close by and the pool and gym top quality. We even had England footballers at the hotel, hidden by security but with an occasional glimpse which seemed exciting for some guests. The room was large, clean and functional but I felt that is had a very corporate hotel look, which was a shame as the prices are high. The hotel is very big and the restaurants were very busy and hectic. Breakfast was very tasty with lots of choice but somehow felt like a canteen. I enjoyed our stay and if I needed a hotel in the area I would return. I would not go out of my way to stay there again however.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank JW B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chandler's Cross
6.2 mi away
Sopwell House
Sopwell House
#3 of 10 in St Albans
2,291 reviews
1.2 mi away
Mercure London North Watford Hunton Park Hotel
19.9 mi away
Hanbury Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Premier Inn Watford North Hotel
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn London - Watford Junction
2.2 mi away
Jurys Inn London Watford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grove Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grove Hotel

Address: London's Country Estate, Chandler's Cross WD3 4TG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Chandler's Cross
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chandler's Cross
Price Range: £236 - £388 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Grove Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 217
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grove, London's country estate, is more than a five-star hotel. Set in 300 acres and only 18 miles from central London, the former home of the Earls of Clarendon is also a luxury 18-hole golf resort, a fabulous spa and unique venue for meetings, weddings and celebrations. Also included in The Grove's extensive facilities are three restaurants including Colette’s, awarded three AA rosettes. A 4acre Walled Garden with urban beach, tennis courts and outdoor pool. A selection of bike and jogging trials to enjoy with complimentary bike hire; and Anouska’s Kids’ Club, graded outstanding by OFSTED makes The Grove a parent and child-friendly resort. Lovingly restored to stunning effect, the property fuses contemporary design and original period architecture with exceptionally caring and professional service. We look forward to welcoming you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Grove Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grove Chandlers Cross
Grove Hotel Chandlers Cross
The Grove Hotel Hertfordshire, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing