We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, just outside London.”
Review of The Grove Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Grove Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
luxembourg
Level Contributor
149 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Great hotel, just outside London.”
Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

I just spent two days here for business purposes. Everything is just perfect. The rooms, the grounds, the bars and restaurants, the friendly staff. I didn't have time to try the spa or the golf course, but the latter certainly looks astonishing as well. A one hour drive from London, it's probably a bit far as a base for a city trip. But for a weekend escape .... Excellent. I hope to be back

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank beograd72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,727 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,602
    600
    300
    119
    106
See reviews for
722
828
56
396
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (412)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 June 2014

What a treat went for afternoon tea with a few friends !
The food was great and the service faultless. We had an amazing afternoon and can't wait to come back! Oh and the pastries looked and tasted fantastic Wimbledon here we come!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cobham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
455 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

This is a very impressive Hotel and, as their website claims, it is one of the leading Hotels in the World.
It is conveniently located in Watford (Chandler's Cross) just off the M25.
Reviewing this establishment has to be based on the basis that they have set the bar high i.e 5 Stars.
Accordingly it's a premium priced experience so you expect everything to be premium based including the service.
Their attention to detail is good with valet parking on your arrival.
However an instant impression is that this Hotel is principally designed with Corporates in mind.
It also seems to be a popular destination for hosting Events (which I can understand).
In essence this isn't a problem other than its claims of being child friendly sometimes don't quite seem to chime with its coprporateness.
Besuited guys with their mobiles permanently stuck to their chins is an immediate signal that this is a business establishment.
I had the good fortune to play golf there and am similarly very fortunate to have played at some top courses in the UK.
As of writing, the Monday to Wednesday Green Fees for a RESIDENT are £140 (£165 if you're a non-resident).
Having played the course I can say it was very nice.
Well managed and the greens in good condition.
However there is no way in the World that it's worth £140.
Overall everywhere you go the service is good and the staff are well trained.
The meal we had was an informal affair which suited us fine but I can't write home about it being amazing.
I didn't have much time to savor the Grounds which I have to say looked absolutely amazing.
I wanted to see the Walled Garden in particular.
In summary on arrival it's a place that takes your breath away.
If it's on expenses then sit back and enjoy.
If your going for other reasons then it maybe a bit rich price-wise and perhaps less suited to regular Jo's.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We travel quite a lot and were very disappointed in this hotel!

We wanted a 3 day break and after reading up on this hotel, it seemed very family friendly. Age appropriate box of toys in our room, kids eat free for under 3's, heigh tea between 5-6pm for kiddies... Lots to do! Perfect!

However we ended up checking out after 1 day after paying over £700 for the pleasure!

We arrived with our two little boys (2 and a half & 8 months) and as promised our car was taken off our hands and bags emptied so we could check in. Fab! We get to check in desk and after a stressful check in, we were issued with key cards and told which lift to go up in. We then tried to find our way round this "very business like hotel where you felt like you shouldn't have kids with you" to our room. Finally we get there and the box of very young toys was awaiting us. Bags arrived shortly after.

We head downstairs to get a drink and boys are sat in highchairs. We asked a member of staff if we could see a kids menu for tea. We are told that the kids can't eat there and to head to "the lounges". We head there with our boys and are told that there isn't any space and that it's actually afternoon tea rather than kids tea. Not exactly looking to feed my boys cakes for dinner! Then we are sent back to the original place and told that is where we are meant to feed them. Again the member of staff had no idea! I went to the main hotel reception and asked where we are meant to go (at this point, two tired parents and two hungry boys!)
The man on reception was very polite and said we should go to "the stables" to feed them. Where is that?! He organises a buggy to take us there.
We get there and they seem just as unorganised! We are then waiting for a table to be set up! I explain we don't need wine glasses, adult knives and forks, napkins etc, all we need is two highchairs and kids menus. We are eating later. He doesn't listen and carries on setting up the table!
Kids want to eat. They get tired and hungry. Quicker you feed them and get them out the restaurant, the happier everyone is! So annoying!
Finally they eat and we get out of there. We felt so uncomfortable as if we shouldn't be there. Not welcoming at all and felt in the way as it was extremely formal with lots of business people on laptops working.
We had to sign their dinner onto the room because apparently there is a different under 3's menus! Found this out upon check out! The under 3's is a purée menus. I don't know any 1 year olds that eat purée food, let alone 2 year olds!

The next day it was raining so we tried the games room. The F1 playstation simulators weren't working so we decided to go swimming. We were not able to use the outdoor pool as it was closed due to the rain. The indoor kids pool is closed due to renovations (over the half term period? Really?!) we asked to go in the main pool and access was denied! Kids needed to be older than 5 to go in! We then ventured away from the hotel grounds to a soft play!

Headed back to the hotel for the boys nap and spoke to the manager and she was very patronising and said we could venture out and visit nearby attractions. There is no way we would pay as much money as we were to just use the hotel as a base and not be able to use the facilities! We felt so uncomfortable there as it was!

The manager said the the hotel clearly didn't suit our needs! Most kids under 3 eat at 12pm and 5pm and we booked The Grove so that we could play with the kids and use the facilities. We checked out and headed to Calcot Manor in the Cotswolds which is exactly what we look for in a holiday. Don't waste your time staying here if you have kids and want a holiday. It was extremely stressful and to be honest, I wouldn't go back there if I was offered a room for free.

They have some of the right ideas to become family friendly but can't put their ideas into working practice. The staff need training. It felt like the staff were on their first day there as they didn't seem to have a clue.

My husband had a pedicure and she left him during it saying she didn't know if she had tme to finish, then returned 5 mins later saying she did!

Food was nice.

The Grove disappointed and shocked us!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank zoe12345678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Our Book Club group chose to go to The Grove for our annual Afternoon Tea treat. At £35 a head the overall experience was not as pleasant as it should have been for an establishment of this calibre. It did not compare well with other hotels in this area.
The sandwiches and cakes were of a good standard but the service was sadly lacking.
The food was served with a dinner knife and fork instead of a pastry fork. The replenishment of the tea was slow and rather awkward in its execution . We had finished our tea, sandwiches and cakes when we were asked, by the waiter, if everything had been OK . We pointed out that we had not received any scones , so he rushed off to get some.
This was not the relaxing afternoon we had expected and the final annoyance came with the bill, where they had failed to take the deposit off the bill . When this was pointed out it was described as an 'oversight' but it certainly left us feeling that our patronage had not been valued.
The Grove is ,undoubtedly, in a beautiful setting , with magnificent floral arrangements but these alone are not enough to make it an experience we will be either repeating or recommending .

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
164 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We originally stayed for Easter weekend with all our children and grand children . What a fantastic place for a family weekend. Children's pool, heated outdoor pool, beech, games rooms and so many activities to keep them occupied. We then tried all the restaurants and thought wow this isn't so bad for adults then found the spa and thought what a great all round place( black pool not to everyone's liking). The grounds are stunning and of course if you play golf there is even more for you. The staff are helpful and friendly. The food in the restaurants is great and offers the full range of alternatives. I was a little disappointed in the wine list at the higher end but they said they would look into it. We have since been back for 2 visits with just myself and my wife and have loved the different types of room, the peace of the walled garden, the self indulgence of the spa and the excellent afternoon teas and dinners. A great place to escape from the real world with such easy access to London

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AT190
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LONDON
Level Contributor
104 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We stayed there with our 18month daughter and it was effortless . The hotel and staff embrace families and everything from the staff, restaurants and amenities all had children in mind. The Walled Garden and indoor/outdoor pools were perfect for those guests with children who didn't want to disturb those guests without kids. We cannot praise the staff enough, they were all extremely polite and friendly to our child and made us all fully welcome. All restaurants had child seats and menus. We enjoyed all of the outdoor space and will be back again son to enjoy the spa. We didn't use the golf course but there is more to this hotel then just golf so don't be put off by it

The room itself in the West Wing had ample space and was quiet. Only issue being WIFI across the hotel was very poor. The costs are no more than a decent restaurant in London so I cannot see how anyone can complain.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JudithChalmers09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chandler's Cross
6.2 mi away
Sopwell House
Sopwell House
#3 of 10 in St Albans
2,151 reviews
1.2 mi away
Mercure London North Watford Hunton Park Hotel
19.9 mi away
Hanbury Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Premier Inn Watford North Hotel
6.9 mi away
Laura Ashley The Manor Elstree
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn London - Watford Junction
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grove Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grove Hotel

Property: The Grove Hotel
Address: London's Country Estate, Chandler's Cross WD3 4TG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Chandler's Cross
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chandler's Cross
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Grove Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 217
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grove, London's country estate, is more than a five-star hotel. Set in 300 acres and only 18 miles from central London, the former home of the Earls of Clarendon is also a luxury 18-hole golf resort, a fabulous spa and unique venue for meetings, weddings and celebrations. Also included in The Grove's extensive facilities are three restaurants including Colette’s, awarded three AA rosettes. A 4acre Walled Garden with urban beach, tennis courts and outdoor pool. A selection of bike and jogging trials to enjoy with complimentary bike hire; and Anouska’s Kids’ Club, graded outstanding by OFSTED makes The Grove a parent and child-friendly resort. Lovingly restored to stunning effect, the property fuses contemporary design and original period architecture with exceptionally caring and professional service. We look forward to welcoming you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Grove Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grove Chandlers Cross
Grove Hotel Chandlers Cross
The Grove Hotel Hertfordshire, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing