We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A lovely Afternoon Tea”
Review of The Grove Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Grove Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Harpenden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
162 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“A lovely Afternoon Tea”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Visited for afternoon tea on a beautiful sunny day, we chose to sit in the lounge as it was very hot outside which was a great choice as we had a fabulous cool breeze from the large open windows, The tea choice was excellent and the sandwiches and scones first class. I have a nut allergy so had a separate selection of cakes which were all very tasty and beautifully presented but we were far too full at this stage to eat them all! The cakes all had a Wimbledon theme due to the week we visited which was a lovely touch. The afternoon tea here is quite pricey compared to some other venues but the great thing at The Grove is that they will replenish sandwiches and scones at no extra cost. The service was excellent and for a couple of hours of indulgent luxury we would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PinaColada20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,695 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,585
    593
    297
    117
    103
See reviews for
712
822
55
391
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (407)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salzburg
Level Contributor
121 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

A Saturday morning with sunshine and a spectacular golf course in immaculate condition. What else is there to move o golfer's heart?
Well, the reception was courteous and efficient. The price was above average (in comparison to similar venues) but accepted as the lay out is great and every fairway belongs only to yourself.
To charge an extra 70 pounds for going out again in the afternoon for another 9 holes was a bit too much though.
The terrace of the clubhouse was a many hours long "after-play" and we were cared for well. All in all we will come back as the course was a stunning challenge.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank EugenSalzburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We had an excellent evening at Colletes once again! The relaxed atmosphere led to a wonderful environment in which to celebrate a special birthday with family! The staff were very welcoming, attentive and helpful. They were also very knowledgable about the food. The food was absolutely delicious! We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Sjb696
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

The Grove is without doubt a very good Hotel, but.... (there always seems to be a but with British 4 and 5 star hotels!) Ive given it a very good rating only because there is no rating for Good, and it is better then average. despite being guests we couldnt get an afternoon tea in the nice room overlooking the gardens and were directed to a side room that was echoing to the voices of two tables of Jewish princesses discussing what obscene amounts of money they had wasted that morning on handbags and other rubbish that women with very little to do with their lives, seem to waste money on. Trust me it really was very loud(Now i know why Synagogues have men and women seperated.)
The room was expensive but to be honest was not what i would call 5 star, it was very good but not Wow! good. Ive stayed in similar rooms at Hotels at far less cost.
The grounds are lovely, and the Glasshouse restaurant is excellent, and also excellent value which is a rare thing at British Hotels.

The spa is very good and although not cheap is probably worth it when compared to other hotels

Breakfast is a good buffet and was made somewhat interesting by having some of England footballers,coaches and hangers on and their plastic wifes and spoilt children causing mayhem, A note to to the" lady" who was stuffing croissants into her handbag, a fine effort and good to see money hasnt changed you!
I think it sort of sums up a lot of whats wrong with the Grove, its a good hotel slightly spoilt by the Nouveau riche "look at me Ive got money" brigade and their arrogance, and the two bob millionnaires who havnt got a pot to p*** in but pretend they have. It lacks some nice decent guests. A bit like me.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ian c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Played an early morning round of golf with 3 old friends on a Saturday morning. It was expensive but we didn't see anyone else most of the way round and the course was in great condition. The golf facilities are fantastic. The golf service was fantastic, they couldn't do enough for you. The food was very good - service at lunch in the Stables not that great: (the waiter brought the wrong meal and when I said it was the wrong thing he just said "Oh yes" and walked off - no apology or explanation!

A really enjoyable morning with old friends. We all loved it and the golf course was difficult but playable by all levels if you were prepared not to worry too much about lost balls from time to time!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank EdGHTW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We were given a gift voucher for a 3 course dinner for 2 at Collette's at the Grove Hotel and it turned out to be the best gift we have ever received. Absolutely fabulous meal and the staff were all so friendly and helpful. Couldn't fault it all. If I could have given it a 10 star rating, I would have ... you cannot improve on perfection.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank EnaViv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 3 July 2014

I attended a corporate golf day at The Grove and they really do make you welcome, including some very nice touches like your name on the locker they have allocated for you in the locker room.

The course was in great condition. We started on the back 9, where the rough was a bit more daunting as seen from the tee. Very less suited to corporate play - fairways are very findable however you do get punished if find the long rough. The greens were very fast but very true.

After the round, sitting on the outside bar in the stable square supping a beer in the sunshine was a delight.

Overall, I loved the placed and would love to play there again and again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Joe N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chandler's Cross
6.2 mi away
Sopwell House
Sopwell House
#3 of 10 in St Albans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,107 reviews
1.2 mi away
Mercure London North Watford Hunton Park Hotel
19.9 mi away
Hanbury Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Premier Inn Watford North Hotel
6.9 mi away
Laura Ashley The Manor Elstree
2.2 mi away
Jurys Inn London Watford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grove Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grove Hotel

Property: The Grove Hotel
Address: London's Country Estate, Chandler's Cross WD3 4TG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Chandler's Cross
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chandler's Cross
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Grove Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 217
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grove, London's country estate, is more than a five-star hotel. Set in 300 acres and only 18 miles from central London, the former home of the Earls of Clarendon is also a luxury 18-hole golf resort, a fabulous spa and unique venue for meetings, weddings and celebrations. Also included in The Grove's extensive facilities are three restaurants including Colette’s, awarded three AA rosettes. A 4acre Walled Garden with urban beach, tennis courts and outdoor pool. A selection of bike and jogging trials to enjoy with complimentary bike hire; and Anouska’s Kids’ Club, graded outstanding by OFSTED makes The Grove a parent and child-friendly resort. Lovingly restored to stunning effect, the property fuses contemporary design and original period architecture with exceptionally caring and professional service. We look forward to welcoming you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Lastminute, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, HRS, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Grove Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grove Chandlers Cross
Grove Hotel Chandlers Cross
The Grove Hotel Hertfordshire, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing