We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feeling zen like and pampered”
Review of The Grove Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Grove Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Feeling zen like and pampered”
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at The Grove as a wedding anniversary treat and it was wonderful.

Very comfy beds, fluffy pillows, gourmet food, beautiful grounds, tranquil spa and fantastic staff. I can't recommend The Grove highly enough - we'll be back :)

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mojo-Jojo28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,741 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,609
    602
    301
    122
    107
See reviews for
725
832
56
399
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (413)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We stayed here before the kids went to summer camp and had an amazing time. Great room overlooking the golf, open air pool, tennis and lovely sports team to play football with the kids. A sunny day helped to make it a v relaxing break!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PatouAbram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
209 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Just tried at 8.30 pm tonight to book a room. I was informed that reservations was closed so I couldn't. Really??? Is this normal practice, if so this hotel must be missing a lot of valuable business. Shame as it looks really nice.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank FarquiH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at The Grove, the property grounds and gardens are amazing, the interior decoration of the hotel mixes well the modern design with the unique architecture of the building. Service is in general very high level and attentive and very child firendly. The hotel does not disappoint, except maybe for the rooms that had a slightly less elegant feel to them (it had the feel of a business hotel room, not much so charming) but still they are very comfortable and bathroom is great. All the restaurants we tried were good, especially the Glasshouse. Breakfast on the outdoor patio terrace was brilliant and not to forget, the outdoor pool area which was really nice.
The pool water is surprisingly very warm, it was very busy but we still managed to get lounge chairs. All in all a very nice hotel I would recommend to any family looking for a quick week-end gateway.

Room Tip: try to get a room closer to the main entrance/reception as some rooms are quite far away. also ask f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frenchtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Staying in London is great but busy and go go go daily
So get on an overground train to Watford Junction - or Euston to Bushey Station 18 mins
Then cab to the hotel. Modern, contemporary and different lounges to have drinks
Set in beautiful countryside and on a golf course ( not our thing but lovely to see)
This hotel has everything, style, good food and service.
We love the Glass House. Not just any International Buffet, but a top quality buffet. With all different foods on offer and beautifully presented. A really must try. Delicious
Don't forget to book in advance a treatment at the spa, it's so relaxing and finish in quiet room with luxury chill out beds after your treatment either sipping something hot or cold or just to sleep. Heaven !
Can't wait to get back there again maybe December.

Room Tip: Have not stayed in a bad room. All gorgeous
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gillian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 August 2014

An amazing experience at The Grove as always!
We stayed here for one night in July and had the most fantastic dinner at Colette's, I definitely recommend it and totally worth the money- opt for the paired wines too. Every course was unbelievable!
We then spent the Sunday relaxing by the outside pool and on the "beach"- lovely!

Service is second to none and the grounds and hotel are beautiful. Lee Valley White Water Rafting Centre is only a 30 min drive away so a great day trip too.

Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Meredith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

I stayed here whilst attending the British Grand Prix on a work recognition event.The rooms are very smart and modern with some interesting individual touches, our room, like most looked out on the superb grounds which contain some nice modern even slightly eccentric touches too.

All of the staff were very attentive and seemed genuinely happy to work at the Grove which in my experience is a rarity in the uk. On the friday night we ate at the Stables Bar/Restaurant. I would describe the food as gastro pub style, my only small criticisms relate to this meal as the Mussels which were very popular, were a little gritty and the cheese board was a little too room temperature for my liking(reminiscent of your mums cheese sandwiches on a school trip in summer!). These small gripes aside the meal was very tasty and the staff again very attentive without being obtrusive.

The breakfast is as good as I've had anywhere in the world,it was never busy and felt relaxed and a bit special all at the same time.

Saturday night we enjoyed a private dinner in one of the Hotels private dining rooms which was again top drawer, very nearly Michelin standard and the waiting staff again were exemplary.

I'm not a golfer myself but the Golf Course looked to be top drawer,my son used the Gym and Sauna, I didn't see it but he couldn't stop saying how amazing it was.

In conclusion I think the Grove which is both modern and very grand at the same time, is a great place for that special weekend away or for the ultimate wedding venue where you would be assured fantastic service in luxurious surroundings. Regrettably, just the meal in the stables bar reducing this review from excellent to very good .

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pfcsharky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chandler's Cross
6.2 mi away
Sopwell House
Sopwell House
#3 of 10 in St Albans
2,180 reviews
1.2 mi away
Mercure London North Watford Hunton Park Hotel
19.9 mi away
Hanbury Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Premier Inn Watford North Hotel
6.9 mi away
Laura Ashley The Manor Elstree
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn London - Watford Junction
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grove Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grove Hotel

Property: The Grove Hotel
Address: London's Country Estate, Chandler's Cross WD3 4TG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Chandler's Cross
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chandler's Cross
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Grove Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 217
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grove, London's country estate, is more than a five-star hotel. Set in 300 acres and only 18 miles from central London, the former home of the Earls of Clarendon is also a luxury 18-hole golf resort, a fabulous spa and unique venue for meetings, weddings and celebrations. Also included in The Grove's extensive facilities are three restaurants including Colette’s, awarded three AA rosettes. A 4acre Walled Garden with urban beach, tennis courts and outdoor pool. A selection of bike and jogging trials to enjoy with complimentary bike hire; and Anouska’s Kids’ Club, graded outstanding by OFSTED makes The Grove a parent and child-friendly resort. Lovingly restored to stunning effect, the property fuses contemporary design and original period architecture with exceptionally caring and professional service. We look forward to welcoming you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your The Grove Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grove Chandlers Cross
Grove Hotel Chandlers Cross
The Grove Hotel Hertfordshire, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing