We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A perfect afternoon tea” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Grove Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
The Grove Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
“A perfect afternoon tea”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

From the moment we arrived at The Grove yesterday afternoon until the time we left we found all the staff absolutely charming and helpful. We have had afternoon tea in many five star hotels including Claridges a few weeks ago, which was most disappointing. This afternoon tea, on the other hand, was first rate. The sandwiches were made in a variety of breads and were all absolutely delicious. The scones were excellent and my wife particularly enjoyed the home made lemon curd. The pastries looked delightful but we were all so full that we could only manage to taste a couple of these. To our delight the lounge manager offered to box up the untouched pastries so that we could take them home. I must give the highest praise for the efficiency and professionalism of the lounge manager, Claire Tylcoat, and all her staff. We were also delighted when the Head Chef came over to our table to check that everything was OK. We had a most interesting conversation with him. Because of this experience we will definitely book for Sunday lunch in The Glasshouse and also will return in the future for another delicious afternoon tea.So if you are near jun 19 of the M 25 just go of and in 5 mis you will be there so do give it a try!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Trevor F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,656 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,564
    585
    288
    116
    103
See reviews for
701
807
55
384
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (399)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at The Grove as a wedding anniversary treat and it was wonderful.

Very comfy beds, fluffy pillows, gourmet food, beautiful grounds, tranquil spa and fantastic staff. I can't recommend The Grove highly enough - we'll be back :)

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mojo-Jojo28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

We stayed here before the kids went to summer camp and had an amazing time. Great room overlooking the golf, open air pool, tennis and lovely sports team to play football with the kids. A sunny day helped to make it a v relaxing break!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PatouAbram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
204 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

Just tried at 8.30 pm tonight to book a room. I was informed that reservations was closed so I couldn't. Really??? Is this normal practice, if so this hotel must be missing a lot of valuable business. Shame as it looks really nice.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank FarquiH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at The Grove, the property grounds and gardens are amazing, the interior decoration of the hotel mixes well the modern design with the unique architecture of the building. Service is in general very high level and attentive and very child firendly. The hotel does not disappoint, except maybe for the rooms that had a slightly less elegant feel to them (it had the feel of a business hotel room, not much so charming) but still they are very comfortable and bathroom is great. All the restaurants we tried were good, especially the Glasshouse. Breakfast on the outdoor patio terrace was brilliant and not to forget, the outdoor pool area which was really nice.
The pool water is surprisingly very warm, it was very busy but we still managed to get lounge chairs. All in all a very nice hotel I would recommend to any family looking for a quick week-end gateway.

Room Tip: try to get a room closer to the main entrance/reception as some rooms are quite far away. also ask f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frenchtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Staying in London is great but busy and go go go daily
So get on an overground train to Watford Junction - or Euston to Bushey Station 18 mins
Then cab to the hotel. Modern, contemporary and different lounges to have drinks
Set in beautiful countryside and on a golf course ( not our thing but lovely to see)
This hotel has everything, style, good food and service.
We love the Glass House. Not just any International Buffet, but a top quality buffet. With all different foods on offer and beautifully presented. A really must try. Delicious
Don't forget to book in advance a treatment at the spa, it's so relaxing and finish in quiet room with luxury chill out beds after your treatment either sipping something hot or cold or just to sleep. Heaven !
Can't wait to get back there again maybe December.

Room Tip: Have not stayed in a bad room. All gorgeous
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gillian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

An amazing experience at The Grove as always!
We stayed here for one night in July and had the most fantastic dinner at Colette's, I definitely recommend it and totally worth the money- opt for the paired wines too. Every course was unbelievable!
We then spent the Sunday relaxing by the outside pool and on the "beach"- lovely!

Service is second to none and the grounds and hotel are beautiful. Lee Valley White Water Rafting Centre is only a 30 min drive away so a great day trip too.

Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Meredith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chandler's Cross
1.2 mi away
De Vere Hunton Park
De Vere Hunton Park
#1 of 1 in Hunton Bridge
3.5 of 5 bubbles 688 reviews
6.2 mi away
Sopwell House
Sopwell House
#3 of 9 in St Albans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,023 reviews
2.4 mi away
Premier Inn Watford North Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.9 mi away
Hanbury Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
7.2 mi away
Laura Ashley The Manor Elstree
2.2 mi away
Jurys Inn London Watford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grove Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grove Hotel

Property: The Grove Hotel
Address: London's Country Estate, Chandler's Cross WD3 4TG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Chandler's Cross
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chandler's Cross
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Grove Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 217
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grove, London's country estate, is more than a five-star hotel. Set in 300 acres and only 18 miles from central London, the former home of the Earls of Clarendon is also a luxury 18-hole golf resort, a fabulous spa and unique venue for meetings, weddings and celebrations. Also included in The Grove's extensive facilities are three restaurants including Colette’s, awarded three AA rosettes. A 4acre Walled Garden with urban beach, tennis courts and outdoor pool. A selection of bike and jogging trials to enjoy with complimentary bike hire; and Anouska’s Kids’ Club, graded outstanding by OFSTED makes The Grove a parent and child-friendly resort. Lovingly restored to stunning effect, the property fuses contemporary design and original period architecture with exceptionally caring and professional service. We look forward to welcoming you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your The Grove Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grove Chandlers Cross
Grove Hotel Chandlers Cross
The Grove Hotel Hertfordshire, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing