We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you haven't been - GO!”
Review of The Grove Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Grove Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 August 2014

I've just returned from a 2 night stay at The Grove. If you don't want to read on and just want the short version - amazing!

From beginning to end the experience was absolutely wonderful. Apart from the beautiful grounds and house the staff really are the stand out feature of The Grove. They are all super professional and clearly engaged in giving excellent service and all done with a wonderful smile and non-stuffy attitude.

We took 2 rooms with a garden view which were very spacious and the view, just beautiful. We ate in The Stables and The Glasshouse and the quality of food in both restaurants was excellent - don't go to The Glasshouse if you're on a diet because EVERYTHING looks and tastes good!

I had my 7 year old son with me and he loved all the facilities there were for him - and there are a lot - he spent most of his time in the outdoor pool which was lovely and warm and I was supplied with plenty of towels to wrap me up on a rather chilly day whilst I watched on.

Both mornings there was a learning session and a display from Woodland Hawking who brought their birds of prey - the kids absolutely loved it and Grant and his assistant were so patient and kind with all of the kids, young and old - a really great bonus to our weekend!

We will definitely be back! Thank you.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank mjbig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGroveHotel, General Manager at The Grove Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2014

Dear mjbig

Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your stay at The Grove in August 2014.

We were pleased to read you were impressed with the level of service received, the quality of food in the restaurants and the activities on offer.

Thank you again for sharing your feedback with us and we hope to have the pleasure to welcoming you back to The Grove in the not too distant future.

Yours sincerely

Jonathan Critchard
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,785)
There are newer reviews for The Grove Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,465 - 1,471 of 2,785 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2014

Had lunch in the Glasshouse and it was extremely busy on Saturday lunchtime with families, couples and ladies who lunch (as we were) - superb selection of starters, mains and puddings with gorgeous cheeses. Fast and pleasant service and everything fresh and tasty. Beautiful outside seating area and we also enjoyed a stroll round the gardens - all in all a wonderful experience!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Anne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGroveHotel, General Manager at The Grove Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2014

Dear Anne G

Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your lunch at The Glasshouse in August 2014; it is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I have shared your comments with our team, who I am certain will be encouraged by your remarks, as we continue to strive to meet our guests’ needs and expectations.

Thank you again for sharing your experience and we hope to have the pleasure to welcoming you back to The Grove in the not too distant future.

Yours sincerely

Jonathan Critchard
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2014

We enjoyed our stay at the Grove. It was the second occasion and last time we had a room in the old building. This time we were able to enjoy a Garden View room which was in the newer area. The Garden View room was significantly better than the room in the old building.

We ate in the Stables and the Glass House restaurants. Both were good.

The cost of golf was a little excessive. This time we did not book a golf package and consequently, the cost of golf plus clubs plus cart hire was a little excessive. I think some discount for guests would be appropriate.

Room Tip: Ensure you stay in the newer wing. Garden view is excellent.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank coatesy101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGroveHotel, General Manager at The Grove Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2014

Dear coatesy101

Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your stay at The Grove in August 2014.

It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback and we were pleased to read you enjoyed the views to our formal gardens.

We were sorry however to learn you were disappointed with the cost of your round of golf. We always strive to provide true value for the Golf experience but have noted carefully your comments.

Thank you again for sharing your concerns and we hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back to The Grove in the not too distant future.

Yours sincerely

Jonathan Critchard
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

I have stayed at The Grove for a long weekend but that was not long after it had opened and I absolutely loved it, no complaints whatsoever. This review however is regarding The Glasshouse. I have never had a bad experience here and although the selection has been cut down a little bit since my last visit, there is still lots of high quality items to select from. The starters are unbelievably good and the main course is cooked perfectly. Their rib of beef has to be tasted to be believed and the selection of vegetables is fantastic. There are of course other main courses as well as the carvery section but I always go for that and so have no experience of any others. I do not eat desserts but my friends did and simply raved about their bread and butter pudding and also about all the other desserts they selected (and believe me they selected quite a few). The staff were attentive but not obtrusive and very friendly and polite. I will certainly return to The Grove for a meal and hopefully one day I will be lucky enough to stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Cazzie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

I've visited The Grove a few times before - for the buffet lunch in the Glasshouse, which has always been excellent. This time it was a different story. I had raved about the buffet food to my guests - and this time although it was fine, it was all a bit unexciting and tasteless. The starters were ice cold - straight from the fridge and the roast beef was especially disappointing.
There was a fabulous looking 3 rib roast on show - but the beef they were actually serving was nothing like that. It was all very overcooked and 'wet' looking - a washed out grey colour with the texture more like stewed beef that roast..The roast potatoes were not good either (tasted like the cheapest variety of potato). All very disappointing..
The best thing about the experience was the staff - very friendly and helpful. Pity they were let down buy the food. I think the place is probably past its best..Such a shame.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Mary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

This was our first time at The Grove. We have been looking for a family friendly resort hotel for a long time. For some reason, it is very easy to find one in the US and very difficult in Europe.
Anyway, we were pleased when we found the Grove at only 1hr30 from us and inside the M25.

The positives:
- fantastic location, amazing countryside
- beautiful golf
- great walking trail along the canal and the woods (3hrs walk)
- kids are clearly welcome and the staff seem to at attention to all kids around
- very good room (we had a delux king)
- restaurant can be busy and the hotel took the initiative to book us a table for each we stayed to avoid long wait with our baby
- cot provided with toys for our baby
- beautiful Spa
- great beach area + outdoor swimming pool
- excellent nursery
- good indoor pool for kids (although can be packed quickly as it isn't big)
- the buffet at the glassehouse is excellent. The service is also very good although busy!

On the down side:
- walk around the canal should lots more benches. After walking for hrs we struggled to find a bench and table. It should also have bins around. We ended up by feeding our 9-months old baby in the push chair under a tree because there was nowhere to sit and stop. Changing a baby on the earth isn't great!

- the glasshouse restaurant: be warned that they put you in the main restaurant, which is raised and only have stairs access! So not easy when you have a pushchair or if your disabled. We then use the back door access the other nights as it arrives directly in the main restaurant area. No one told us, we just found out ourselves. The buffet is very good but expensive (around £45 pp include 1 drink and tip)

- the stables restaurant was for is a disappointment. We found the good very average, if not below average. I took an expensive burger for £16.50.... Which came with 1 leave of salad, 3 tiny thin slice of tomato, a very good burger meat and some fries.... I would suggest the chef to get a training a Gbk! Also the wait for being served is very long! We were the first one in the restaurant to order and still waited 30 min to get the main course! The staff and service was however good.

- the drinks are generally expensive: 1 cider + 1 orange limonade: £10.50! Obviously we must be close to London! Lol

- the changing room on the kid indoor pool are very nice but small with 1 shower and no area to get changed. So be ready to be very close to someone when you get changed. The baby changing mat is also located under the hair dryer and it's plug!

- no playground for kids... Which I found strange since it is very kid oriented.

So overall it is not faultless, it is expensive but it is in a fantastic location, good food (glasshouse), kid friendly, nice facilities... So we will definitely come back!

Stayed: August 2014
1  Thank Pascal G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

My niece treated me to a spa and a night at the Grove for my birthday. The staff were incredible and went out of their way to see that we were taken care off. Once we checked into the room we went to the spa. The massage was amazing and the facilities superb. We went back to the room and there was a birthday cake with a very nice message. This personal touch was truly appreciated. Have dined at the Glasshouse several times and the food is always fabulous. Will definitely go back there again. The only minus was that although connected, the wifi did not work at all during our whole stay. The management need to sort that out.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Maria F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chandler's Cross
6.2 mi away
Sopwell House
Sopwell House
#3 of 10 in St Albans
2,264 reviews
1.2 mi away
Mercure London North Watford Hunton Park Hotel
19.9 mi away
Hanbury Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Premier Inn Watford North Hotel
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn London - Watford Junction
2.2 mi away
Jurys Inn London Watford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grove Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grove Hotel

Address: London's Country Estate, Chandler's Cross WD3 4TG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Chandler's Cross
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chandler's Cross
Price Range: £221 - £429 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Grove Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 217
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grove, London's country estate, is more than a five-star hotel. Set in 300 acres and only 18 miles from central London, the former home of the Earls of Clarendon is also a luxury 18-hole golf resort, a fabulous spa and unique venue for meetings, weddings and celebrations. Also included in The Grove's extensive facilities are three restaurants including Colette’s, awarded three AA rosettes. A 4acre Walled Garden with urban beach, tennis courts and outdoor pool. A selection of bike and jogging trials to enjoy with complimentary bike hire; and Anouska’s Kids’ Club, graded outstanding by OFSTED makes The Grove a parent and child-friendly resort. Lovingly restored to stunning effect, the property fuses contemporary design and original period architecture with exceptionally caring and professional service. We look forward to welcoming you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Grove Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grove Chandlers Cross
Grove Hotel Chandlers Cross
The Grove Hotel Hertfordshire, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing