We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“5 star service and 5 star golf course”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Golf at The Grove

Golf at The Grove
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
London, England
Level Contributor
97 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“5 star service and 5 star golf course”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

Played with a friend last weekend as we were lucky enough to be treated by our wives with a round of golf as a fathers day gift....
Five star service on arrival from bag drop off, to brekkie, going to the driving range and being met by a pyramid row of golf balls. Then at the first tee an array of freebies, notably a stroke saver which most courses would charge you a fiver for!
The tee boxes are like greens, the fairways cut perfectly and greens running fast and true. The course is kept to such a high standard that justifies the high price tag.
The fairways are generous, not especially long at 6,300 yards off the yellows. The course is most challenging around the greens, lots of false fronts that drag your ball off the green if slightly off target. Frustrating when you think you've played a decent shot but position is everything, as any championship course should be.
As we approached the 18th green our clubs were taken away for a clean.
Had a nice lunch in the Stables after with the wives and kids.

A great day and will return again without doubt.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank RJhols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    17
    6
    7
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great afternoon Tea”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

My daughter took me along for a birthday treat. The afternoon tea was lovely, we have the champagne one. Very good service and nothing too much trouble to replenish our sandwiches etc. Such a good variety of cakes etc. We were able to take a walk around the gardens after as the weather as nice. Highly recommended.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reykjavik, Iceland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“One of the finest”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014 via mobile

I stayed there for four days and this one of the better golf facilities I have been to. Golf cource is moderatly challenging, but very well maintained and lovely to play. Everything else is way above moderate. The Glasshouse Restaurant has the best buffet (morning or evening) I have tasted so far. The variation was so great, I hardly managed to try it all during my stay. Needless to say, everything I tasted was delicious. After dinner there is a great lounge area with different themes which is a perfect place to sit down with your friends and brag about your great golfing.
The staff is friendly and eager to bring you good service. All facilities are top class and it costs, but it is worth it.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank BjarniBryn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Golf at the Grove”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

Having just played at the Grove I can now appreciate the Green Fee as this was a first class expierience having played many Courses around Britain this is one that I will return to .
From the moment you arrive at the Valet parking the Service and attention given could not be faulted the Golf knowledge of the staff regarding the course made for a very enjoyable if taxing round of golf !

Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank John52golfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
59 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Ina different leauge”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

Fantastic course, fairways like greens, greens like putting on glass. The rough is so friendly no balls were lost. Some tricky holes, but mostly wide open and big (if not wayward) drive friendly.

You can rent quality clubs if you didn't plan on a round whilst staying. It is expensive though, so only for special occasions.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank ScottAbroad_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Golf at The Grove also viewed

 
Watford, Hertfordshire
Chandler's Cross, Hertfordshire
 

Been to Golf at The Grove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing