We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tesco Chef and Brewer Vouchers”
Review of Two Brewers Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Two Brewers Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chipperfield
Hemel
2 reviews
“Tesco Chef and Brewer Vouchers”
Reviewed 31 August 2013

Despite Chef & Brewer vouchers being available on the Tesco Club Card website, an earlier post indicated that the Two Brewers may not accept them. I telephoned today and was told that they will not redeem the vouchers.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank HemelBewildered
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    106
    117
    64
    47
    52
See reviews for
130
116
11
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Middlewich, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

The Two Brewers is in a lovely location - overlooking the Common in Chipperfield. There is plenty of parking both at the hotel and across the road. The room I stayed in was large and the bed was comfortable. There was a decent size wardrobe and a writing desk if needed. The bathroom was a little in need of improvement, with a small amount of black mould around the bath, but was fine apart from that.
The hotel rooms are quiet (away from the road, which is little-used anyway), and the hotel is good value for money for Hertfordshire. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

We had a lovely meal at the two Brewers the younger staff were welcoming
Cheerful and polite, more than can be said for the older bar staff who were just the opposite.we will return and try and avoid the older staff.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ray f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

We got married on 27th July & booked 3 nights away from Bonnie Scotland to stay in this delightful scenic Hotel/Inn

We LOVED IT!! Our room boasts a magnificent 4 poster bed with thee comfiest mattress we have ever had the pleasure of lying on - we were gutted to come back home to a normal comfy bed! The bed must have either been kingsize or superking! A proper duvet on the bed too not just a thing cover and a sheet!

Shower and bathroom superb pressure wasnt amazing as you turn the temperature down but the water was scorching if thats the way you like it to be :) easily adjustable!

the room was perfectly gleaming and the lovely maids serviced our rooms daily.

The breakfast was extremely reasonable in price and absolutely delicious! The food was so good on the menu that we ate at the hotel every night instead of travelling to Kings Langley or London.

The reception and waiting staff were delightful remembering where we said we were going and asking how our day had been! so accomdating. Particulary Catherine one of the duty managers she was a breath of fresh air absolutely lovely to us as was everyone else!

We would love to visit again next July for our first wedding anniversary.

Ideally located 10min drive from leavesden and was £15 in a taxi to Harry Potter Studio tour which was epic!

From Kings Langley Station its only 25mins to London Euston and Camden town is well worth a visit!

Could not have picked a more quiet tranquil scenic village to spend our honeymoon thank you to Catherine and staff at the 2 brewers!

Mr & Mrs Givens

Room Tip: 4 poster room was magnificent
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoodNightInns, Guest Relations Manager at Two Brewers Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
Dear Jenna C,

Thank you for your review and congratulations to you and your new husband, we are pleased to read how you enjoyed your stay with us and that how the hotel and service was able to meet your needs.

Maybe we will see you again this time next year.

Regards
Good Night Inns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
217 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

I have been going to the Two Brewers for more years than I care to remember and have lunch there at least once a month as well as an occasional evening meal.

For the past eighteen months or so it has been a pleasure to eat there. The staff have been efficient and courteous - especially when Andrew has been in charge. However, I took my family there for an early evening meal on Wednesday of this week, arriving at 5.00 pm. Our order was not a difficult one, only one starter, mains all round and a couple of puddings, washed down with lime and sodas and Pepsis. Our part of the restaurant was empty apart from another party of three people, although there were a couple of people sitting outside with drinks. I was therefore surprised that it was 6.50 pm when we finally got up to leave.

The food was good, but the service was appallingly slow (it was thirty-five minutes before the one flat bread starter came out) and during our time there we were served by three different people, one of whom told us that the Two Brewers is about to be refurbished and 'made a bit more posh'.

This place has undergone so many make-overs, but its location gives it an edge on its rivals. All it needs is for the proprietors to realise that all their customers want is good food at reasonable prices, served by happy and efficient people. Pay your staff more and keep them on side!

I hope that I will still be able to enjoy a relaxed lunch at The Two Brewers when it does 'go posh' and that the Company don't put the prices up too much to cover the cost of the make over.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrst148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Chipperfield hotels

Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Pleasant stay, rooms very nice, beds fantastic. Waitress service for our evening meal excellent. Housekeeping staff excellent. Only complaint is the rude attitude and most unhelpful female receptionist, who also served breakfast and was the reason why we went elsewhere for breakfast the following morning.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ch0wmein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoodNightInns, Guest Relations Manager at Two Brewers Hotel, responded to this review, 26 July 2013
Dear Ch0wmein,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your review, we will be sharing your feedback with our management team to ensure that learnings are taken from your comments, we are pleased that overall you enjoyed your stay and will look to address the only issue you have raised.

Regards
Good Night Inns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

We stayed here as we went to a wedding nearby so it was only a quick visit. We were running late so couldn't check in until late that night so they very helpfully left the key out for us. This was all done as they said and we found everything easy to find.

The room smelt funny and was very dingy and the toilet bin hadn't been cleaned out so I was greated with an old sanitary towel when I went to use it - not nice! We paid £79 (not inc breakfast) for the night for the 2 of us. Overall it's a bit tired and could do with a bit of a refurb. I wouldn't stay here again but if you're desperate for somewhere to stay it would be fine. I would just say it's probably somewhere you would expect to pay around £50 for, it's not worth anything more.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tigi69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoodNightInns, Guest Relations Manager at Two Brewers Hotel, responded to this review, 24 July 2013
Dear Tigi69,

Thank you for your review, we appreciate the tame you have take to provide your feedback and this has been shared with our management team to help improve future visits.

Regrads
Good Night Inns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chipperfield
1.9 mi away
Premier Inn Kings Langley Hotel
Premier Inn Kings Langley Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kings Langley
766 reviews
3.2 mi away
De Vere Latimer Estate
De Vere Latimer Estate
#1 of 2 in Chesham
729 reviews
4.5 mi away
Premier Inn Watford North Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead
Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempst...
#1 of 10 in Hemel Hempstead
722 reviews
1.9 mi away
Shendish Manor Hotel
Shendish Manor Hotel
#7 of 10 in Hemel Hempstead
831 reviews
5.0 mi away
Best Western White House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Two Brewers Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Two Brewers Hotel

Property: Two Brewers Hotel
Address: The Common, Chipperfield WD4 9BS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Chipperfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chipperfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Two Brewers Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Two Brewers Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
2 Brewers Hotel
Two Brewers Hotel Chipperfield, Hertfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing