We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for one night if visiting Warner Bros Studio”
Review of Two Brewers Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Two Brewers Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chipperfield
Reviewed 14 October 2013

After reading the reviews was a little unsure but the price of £49 per room was the best in the area and we were only staying for one night as going to Warner Bros Studio the following morning. I was pleasantly surprised, everyone was so helpful, the room were a decent size, and the beds rather comfy.

The only thing I would say is that the bathrooms could do with decorating, the grout looked dirty, the ceiling paint was flaking and the shower was not that powerful. Saying that would stay again if in the area which considering how close we were to major towns was really lovely and very quiet.

We had the £3.15 breakfast which was perfect scrambled eggs on toast and my sister had a sausage sandwich. I can see why previous comments say the continental breakfast is not worth the extra, I could not comment on the full cooked as did not see this.

Over all really enjoyed and would recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MichelleSH1574
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (425)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

323 - 329 of 425 reviews

Reviewed 7 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed here on 4th October for a couple of nights.
Good distance from Harry potter world. The lighting outside is appalling so if you arrive in the dark make sure you have your handy smartphone to see where you're going. They really should fix the lamps!
That said the pub was busy with a welcoming atmosphere. Room was clean, if a little dated but certainly big enough rooms! Huge beds and very comfy pillows, great night sleep.
Walls are a bit thin so you can hear all the neighbours, but we weren't really bothered about this. The cleaners are very loud too and ignored the do not disturb sign when we tried to have a lie in!
Nice to have a bath in the room too! Restaurant is very busy for food at the weekend, but they have a good menu. Slightly up market customers so jeans and a tshirt leaves you feeling out of place slightly. For these instances room service would be a good idea? For those us that are lazy and would like to eat steak it bed :)
Breakfast was good. Full English is fresh, not huge but you get plenty of toast and they provide daily papers which is a nice touch. They make it very clear that anything hot means you pay the full wack. Didn't mind this but I didn't need this reiterating 30times by the waitress. Slightly patronising meaning we didn't go to breakfast the second time.
Sounds like a moan but overall fantastic place to stay for the prices, just some small bits they could change.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank boxbird1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Definitely 5 star.

Perfectly set before a village green giving it a typical English setting. The surrounding houses are stunning and with the well-kept pub, it is perfect.

The inside is updated yet rustic, English, spacious, atmospheric and love it instantly. Plus I love the decorative additions

We waited a few mins at reception but understandable as we'd arrive during dinner time.
We received a friendly welcome and were off to our room.

The hall ways did not have scuff marks so many have. Canvas village pictures decorated walls and it was all very tasteful. The room ... it was huge! We booked a double to include breakfast. The bed was bigger than a 5 foot. One wall had modern big flower wallpaper in reds. The décor of the room was wood and red ... I love fire colours. Two armchairs and coffee table. Dressing table with mirror. Wardrobe with extra pillows and blanket. Bathroom with heated towel rail. The bathroom is small but then you have extra space in the bedroom. Two windows, tea and coffee facilities (I would bring extra tea and coffee). 10/10 for the room.

For the men:
Bed faces the tv with remote to hand and dinner menu.

For the women:
Don't worry about creased clothes as there is a full size iron and iron board. And full sized hairdryer.

We booked a table and sat at a bare wooden candlelit table with cutlery. Nice not to see those typical pub placemats! We ordered ... the meals are from £10, ok more expensive but worth it. We waited 30mins for dinner but that showed it wasn't put in the microwave (I hope) and happier for a restaurant to take there time and we receive good food. Waitresses were polite. I had the beef and red wine pie ... huge! Filled with chunks of veg and new potates. I didn't need the runner beans with bacon, and chucks of sweet carrots to the side. Veg you buy as extra. I choice ice cream for dessert. It was delicious.

Next morning we had the help yourself breakfast which was continental, full English etc etc. Served by a friendly lady.

I read the reviews prior to joining and you cannot always go by bad reviews. Each hotel has teething issues and people (not all) are quick to mark it as bad online rather than just going to a staff member if an issue. Ok, some people have had real bad experience but every business does at somepoint ... that's life.

I would return here and highly recommended. Promise it is worth it.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank appleorchard22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Stayed for 1 night to visit Harry potter studio tour, location very handy for this. Room Ok, but small, slightly mouldy bathroom. However was good value for money. restaurant meal not that great either, and breakfast very ordinary

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
Thank Sally T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We had a wonderful two night stay. Staff extremely helpful. Bulb blown in our desk lamp, Manager up at door in 3 mins flat with an armful of bulb options. Dismantled the lamp in jig-time (tricky but attractive old style fitting...) replaced bulb & gone just as quickly. Nice menu: wait staff happy to go and enquire of dairy content in every single dish - and offer (unprompted) a taster-sample of house wines before purchase... all the basic stuff... but all so often it's missing! Very relaxing. Thumbs up, would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Most rooms are the same size & shape. They have a four poster option - and the difference betwe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoodNightInns, Guest Relations Manager at Two Brewers Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

Dear Peter M, thank you for your feedback. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the team made you feel well looked after. Your comments have been duly noted and will be passed to the Hotel Management Team. Regards, Chef & Brewer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Stayed here for 1 night ahead of a golf day at The Grove about 5 miles away. Paid £58 for a good size double room with a huge and comfortable bed. All amenities in room from LED TV, kettle with tea/coffee tray, iron and ironing board. Bathroom was fine, with over bath shower providing loads of hot water. Only had a snack in the bar, but food seemed good and good choice of real ales as well as the usual lagers. An enjoyable overnight at a very decent price, would certainly stay here again right on the village green.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scouselatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoodNightInns, Guest Relations Manager at Two Brewers Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2013

Dear scouselatic,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your review, we are pleased to read how you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

Regards
Good Night Inns

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

+
Knew this hotel from when I lived in the village a decade ago. Used it a lot then for business and the main reason why I chose it for this visit.
Staff on arrival were welcoming and friendly, could not do enough for you.
Room was OK, nice comfy bed. Nice bed linen. Warm.
Room was spotless.
Good value.
Excellent lunch. Well cooked, tasty and good portion size.
Wonderful setting - close to woods (for walking) and M25, 10 minute drive.

-
Small changes/attention to detail would move this hotel from good to very good over night.

Mold on bathroom should be cleaned/re grouted over.
Paper on main bedroom wall was lovely/looked new - spoilt by old paper on TV wall, peeling, just needed pasting down.
Non existent door handle needed to be fixed - evidently been like that for a while.
Staff on second day - much less attentive/friendly. Big difference to hotel ambiance and whether you would come back.
Breakfast truly awful. Inedible and expensive. Must have been a different chef from lunchtime the previous day. Go to the Larder, a 5 minute walk down the hill. Half the price and freshly cooked.

Room Tip: Need a car - as local bus service limited.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pragklbov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chipperfield
1.9 mi away
Shendish Manor Hotel
Shendish Manor Hotel
#4 of 9 in Hemel Hempstead
926 reviews
3.2 mi away
De Vere Latimer Estate
De Vere Latimer Estate
#1 of 2 in Chesham
888 reviews
1.9 mi away
Premier Inn Kings Langley Hotel
Premier Inn Kings Langley Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kings Langley
879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Hilton Watford
Hilton Watford
#7 of 13 in Watford
1,864 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Watermill Hotel
The Watermill Hotel
#9 of 9 in Hemel Hempstead
437 reviews
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Two Brewers Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Two Brewers Hotel

Address: The Common, Chipperfield WD4 9BS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Chipperfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chipperfield
Price Range: £53 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Two Brewers Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Two Brewers Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
2 Brewers Hotel
Two Brewers Hotel Chipperfield, Hertfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing