We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Short stay but still talking about the food”
Review of Two Brewers Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Two Brewers Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chipperfield
Bradwell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Short stay but still talking about the food”
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We went to Harry Potter Universal Studios Tour and wanted to stay over night near by. After reading reviews I chose this hotel. I stayed with my husband and my 6 year old son.
The room was spacious but a little cold as the radiator had been turned off but not put back on. This was easily rectified and soon the room was lovely and warm. There was a very large bed and a pull out settee bed (which was already made up) but there was still lots of room to move around in.
The surroundings were very pretty with a lovely woodland right in front of the hotel which we went to explore before our meal.
The food was AMAZING! and really reasonable.
The staff were very friendly. I would recommend

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natalie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    104
    114
    63
    46
    49
See reviews for
125
114
10
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dunstable
Level Contributor
77 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

My friend and I ate here today for lunch ! My friend had the slow cooked lamb and I opted for a 10 ounce teabone steak with mushrooms,chips onion rings and grilled tomato!! Lovely!! I had fizzy water as I was driving ,but my friend drank rose wine !!! Lovely meal,great service So I will leave a great Tripadvsor review for them!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Baswold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
170 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

During the recent spell of good weather we headed for The Two Brewers for lunch. On the last couple of visits we've found both the food and service a bit iffy, but on this visit the food was really good, the service wasn't bad and on a sunny afternoon you'll find it hard to find a better location locally.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UncleAlan471
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

I have visited this hotel on many occasions mainly to eat downstairs in the restaurant. The service is always friendly and the food is always good and of a great standard. The decor is great with neat little touches that give it a more independent feel considering that it is a chain restaurant. The field opposite and attached woodland is a great to work up an appetite or even better work off your meal and relax on a summers evening.

Highly Recommend.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oliver1123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

We used to live near this lovely place around 15 years ago so booked in for a night as we were attending a reunion in the village. Shame it's lost its individual local charm as is now part of one of the many big chains of pubs that standardise any visit and take away any uniqueness.

The room was fine but the duty manager could do with attending a refresher customer service course. Not a smile when we arrived or an apology for overcharging us for the ( very average) breakfast.

We didn't eat dinner there but the menu looked OK if you like the standard pub chain food.

Didn't feel welcome and won't be going back.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank BovoOldBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marrakech
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

During a recent visit to the Two Brewers, [local to us and had a great reputation years ago], myself and hubby and 10 friends had booked a table for lunch. We arrived at 1.30pm and eventually got our starters at 2.20pm, after repeatedly chasing up the staff. On arrival the reception was very luke warm with a waitress pointing us to our table - such an effort for her.
The young girl who took our orders was very polite but all the other staff appeared very lethargic and lacking in customer service skills. We will not be returning or recommending The Two Brewers which is their loss as our group is one of the every growing 'young-oldie groups' of friends who love to lunch and spend our cash. Had the service been better we might not have found fault with the meal, which of course we all did. Don't go for the fish and chips unless you like batter by the way. Sorry but someone really needs to drag this place to where it was 10 years ago - ON TOP.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shameless5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Chipperfield hotels

durrington sussex
Level Contributor
60 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

We stayed at this hotel overnight as we were up for New Year celebrations.we don't normally go out this time of year, but it was a family celebration so stayed in this hoel as it is in the heart of the village we need to be.
There was some confusion re how many rooms I booked as I did this on the net and I manage to book six rooms only needed TWO but it was all sorted out for us.
The rooms are far better than the Premier Inn and the rooms are more spacious and warm no need for extra heater like premier inn.the staff are excellent cant do enough for you, and the breakfast is a lot cheaper than the premier inn it is made for you while wait.while premier inn is a buffet which should be hot but is only warm.
If you are thinking of going here there is a Clark park at the back of the hotel,it is
convenient for Harry Potter studios and in a quite village, lots of walks in the villages two pubs including the one you stay in.i have family in this village and everyone is friendly. When you want to book this hotel we were advise to ring the hotel ad ask for the booking this way it is not done through third party and you will not be booking SIX ROOMS like me. You will be given a set of keys,one is for the door to room the other is for the back entrance into the hotel,as we were told this was the way in not the front when returning after midnight.another tip s they do not have street lights in all the village best to take a TORCH with good batteries.

I have also had food in the restaurant which I love very much, if you join there mailing list you get vouchers through for various thing during the year well worth doing also on your birthday you could get free meal for yourself it changes each birthday.

Room Tip: My room was on the ground floor and my daughters was on the first floor both were very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coral-58-y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chipperfield
3.0 mi away
Mercure London North Watford Hunton Park Hotel
1.9 mi away
Premier Inn Kings Langley Hotel
Premier Inn Kings Langley Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kings Langley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 742 reviews
1.9 mi away
Shendish Manor Hotel
Shendish Manor Hotel
#5 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
4.0 of 5 bubbles 805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Jurys Inn London Watford
4.5 mi away
Premier Inn Watford North Hotel
3.0 mi away
The Grove Hotel
The Grove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chandler's Cross
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Two Brewers Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Two Brewers Hotel

Property: Two Brewers Hotel
Address: The Common, Chipperfield WD4 9BS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Chipperfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chipperfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Two Brewers Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Two Brewers Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
2 Brewers Hotel
Two Brewers Hotel Chipperfield, Hertfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing