We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant Hotel, But Could be so Much More ...”
Review of Two Brewers Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Two Brewers Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chipperfield
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Pleasant Hotel, But Could be so Much More ...”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

The Two Brewers is situated overlooking the village green and common in the pretty village of Chipperfield. It is not far from the M25 so an ideal place to use as a base for exploring the area. I had a pleasant one night stay, the room was comfortable, spacious and clean.There was a tea tray with a selection of teas and coffees (but no biscuits!). There was an iron and ironing board, but the hair dryer was missing. Liquid soap was available but no hair products. The staff were polite and welcoming but not really interested in their guests. I ate an evening meal which was served fairly quickly and was freshly cooked. The breakfast was a bit disappointing. The buffet table was laid out with cereals, fruit, a selection of bread, tea, coffee and fruit juice. I took ages for the waitress to take my order for a cooked breakfast. When the breakfast arrived it was a rather reduced version to the one detailed on the menu (one rasher of bacon and one tiny sausage instead of two of each). The sporadic footfall of guests meant that the coffee was well stewed and the fruit juices were diluted by the melted ice. There seemed to be the minimum amount of staff available at any one time. There was no evidence of any tourist information about the area, either in the public areas or in the room. This pub/hotel has such a lot of potential but the current management seem to be running it on a shoestring with no interest in encouraging the tourist trade. All in all, I had a pleasant enough stay and would recommend the Two Brewers as a good place to stopover for a night or two. I thought the room rates were rather high for the facilities available and I have experienced far better value for money in other places.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pepperty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    104
    114
    63
    46
    49
See reviews for
125
114
10
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Warminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

I ate at The Two Brewers with a friend it was a lovely evening si we sat outside overlooking the green. The pub was quiet when we arrived, our food came quickly and was served by a very polite and helpful waiter, i had ordered Mediterranean Chicken which consisted of very overcooked and stringy chicken on a bed of couscous with what tasted like tomato soup and a very unpleasent out of the bottle barbecue sauce, a few olives were thrown on top, not recommended.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Libby1609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Chipperfield hotels

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Stayed here after going to the Warner Bros Studio Tour, only a 15 minute drive from the attraction.
Room was very spacious and clean. Staff were very friendly and the location was great.
Would stay there again

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lou9593
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beijing
Level Contributor
168 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

They arranged a family room for us and we were looked after well. The food in the hotel is fine and the breakfast is either continental or cooked english breakfast (both charged for in addition to the room). Walking trails from nearby the hotel. Hotel looks onto a green which was popular with families.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beijingfolks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

this hotel is very quaint and in a wonderful area, also not far from the Harry potter studios. The restaurant was wonderful the food was exquisite and myself and my husband ate there every night, we opted for the four poster room and it was beautifully decorated with an ensuite bathroom (although if I had one tiny thing to moan about, the bathroom could do with a little updating) all in all the staff were friendly the price was good and all the features I.e breakfast etc were brilliant

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 April 2014

How did this get an award last year? The room is so dimly lit you can hardly see anything; the separate lamp didn't work and the manager knew he hadn't got a spare bulb; I had requested his presence because when I couldn't get the TV to leave the radio station it was tuned to, having tried 9 on the telephone, I then had to go and find someone, since there were no instructions re the telephone. (You press 0 apparently.) The staff were mostly silent and unwelcoming (when you could find one). I requested a child's breakfast and was told I had to be the child with a parent; when I said I'd had just such a breakfast at Heathrow Airport and why shouldn't I be able to have one at the Two Brewers, I got a frosty response - but the breakfast! And there are no, but no toiletries provided in the tiny bathroom. Might as well go to a Travelodge!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tammielamb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradwell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We went to Harry Potter Universal Studios Tour and wanted to stay over night near by. After reading reviews I chose this hotel. I stayed with my husband and my 6 year old son.
The room was spacious but a little cold as the radiator had been turned off but not put back on. This was easily rectified and soon the room was lovely and warm. There was a very large bed and a pull out settee bed (which was already made up) but there was still lots of room to move around in.
The surroundings were very pretty with a lovely woodland right in front of the hotel which we went to explore before our meal.
The food was AMAZING! and really reasonable.
The staff were very friendly. I would recommend

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natalie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chipperfield
3.0 mi away
Mercure London North Watford Hunton Park Hotel
1.9 mi away
Premier Inn Kings Langley Hotel
Premier Inn Kings Langley Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kings Langley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 743 reviews
1.9 mi away
Shendish Manor Hotel
Shendish Manor Hotel
#5 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
4.0 of 5 bubbles 805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Jurys Inn London Watford
4.5 mi away
Premier Inn Watford North Hotel
3.0 mi away
The Grove Hotel
The Grove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chandler's Cross
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Two Brewers Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Two Brewers Hotel

Property: Two Brewers Hotel
Address: The Common, Chipperfield WD4 9BS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Chipperfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chipperfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Two Brewers Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Two Brewers Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
2 Brewers Hotel
Two Brewers Hotel Chipperfield, Hertfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing