We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“restaurant only but was a lovely setting”
Review of Two Brewers Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Two Brewers Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chipperfield
herts
Level Contributor
72 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“restaurant only but was a lovely setting”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Went to the Two Brewers and had a lovely meal in a wonderful setting, the staff were excellent really friendly and helpful the food was nice but only negative was I ordered a medium steak and it was overcooked, only a small point the rest of the meal was very good. I will definitely return

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank sh0dges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spirit P, Guest Relations Manager at Two Brewers Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear sh0dges

Thank you for providing us with your review.

I can confirm that I have passed on your kind comments to the management team and to the Area Manager of the Two Brewers who would like to thank you for your positive feedback.

We hope to see you soon at the Two Brewers.

Kind regards,

Chef & Brewer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    106
    116
    64
    47
    51
See reviews for
129
115
11
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

A lovely village setting over looking the village green and cricket pitch. The hotel could do with a makeover and room 201 was that hot, it was almost unbearable. Otherwise, I have no complaints whatsoever and would definately recommend to others. (Air conditioning unit would make all the difference)

Room Tip: Ideal retreat for a short break away ....
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhyl, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We have been to the pub/hotel many times. A lovely village setting over looking the common and cricket pitch. The pub and restaurant side of things are very nice. The hotel has a new manager who is trying to sort out many problems with that side of the operation. Others have mentioned some of the hotel rooms need updating. The problem is the hotel is within a commute of London and also near to the Harry potter experience, thus always very busy, as is every other establishment like it in the region. I feel that the chain see little need for improvement when the cash is flowing in and until recently not bothered updating rooms. We had the four poster bedroom. The bed itself was a bed with four posts, no drapping etc and the bathroom was small, shower was less than good and the ceiling badly stained where water was coming through from the above room. This is billed as one of the premier rooms in the hotel. But a new manager had been appointed and i am sure will address these problems given the right budget to play with. We have stayed in other rooms in the hotel which have been alot better.

Room Tip: wouldnt bother with the four poster.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mayfair0303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Having read some of the previous reviews I was a bit worried about what to expect. All I can say is they must have stayed at a different hotel. The hotel is gorgeous in a beautiful location. The staff were all really cheerful, friendly and helpful. Large room with lovely decor and very clean, bathroom could do with an update but it was spotless. We ate in the restaurant the food was lovely and the portions a good size, hubby had to cancel his dessert as he was full after his main. The service was excellent. Overall a great hotel which is good value for money. I would stay there again

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed one night in double room. On arrival no one at reception. Rang buzzer as note left saying they may be busy. Eventually staff came. No explanation given about check out details, had to ask. No information given about breakfast times or location. We found this info in the room. The room was pleasant. During the night all you could hear was intermittent rumbling noise coming from the corridor. Bar closes at 11, staff leave shortly after so no late bar for 'hotel' guests. Bar wait poor. Breakfast dis organised. No guidance to a table, just help yourself! No glasses for juice, juices run out. No cups or tea pot lids! Had to ask. Toast comes with your cooked breakfast (long wait for cooked breakfast). Staff dont ask if everything is OK, you are just left to get on with it! No fresh coffee seen, just in ready made pots.Cooked breakfast needs improving, the tiniest drop of baked beans on the plate, was not tasty. Overall a lovely location but staff do not appear happy or helpful. The building itself is lovely but needs updating , looks tired. Bed comfortable and room clean. Car park with sufficient spaces. Beautiful location.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PerfectPixie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
84 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

I have stayed here many times, but I have to say that our stay this time was very good and the staff were amazing. This is a lovely location - facing the common with plenty of outside seating for those sunny days. Great menu choices - good food (probably not as large portions as before but very good quality) but the service and genuine hospitality of the staff here made this a very enjoyable experience.

Excellent value for money for an overnight stay, great value food and good value drinks.

And fabulous staff!! Well worth a visit..

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank silversams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haverhill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Was recommended this pub by a colleague on our way to Sandown Park Surrey. I have the lasagne and I have to say that it was one of the most delicious I have tasted in a while. My colleague had the steak and ale pie and again it looked superb, nice ambience and facilities, very good staff, deco recommend this place if you are in the area.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chipperfield
3.0 mi away
Mercure London North Watford Hunton Park Hotel
4.5 mi away
Premier Inn Watford North Hotel
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead
Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempst...
#1 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
De Vere Latimer Estate
De Vere Latimer Estate
#1 of 2 in Chesham
716 reviews
5.0 mi away
Best Western White House Hotel
1.9 mi away
Shendish Manor Hotel
Shendish Manor Hotel
#5 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Two Brewers Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Two Brewers Hotel

Property: Two Brewers Hotel
Address: The Common, Chipperfield WD4 9BS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Chipperfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chipperfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Two Brewers Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Two Brewers Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
2 Brewers Hotel
Two Brewers Hotel Chipperfield, Hertfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing