We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marvellous!”
Review of The Old Rectory

The Old Rectory
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ewyas Harold
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Old Rectory
Ranked #3 of 3 Ewyas Harold B&B and Inns
Reviewed 18 October 2013

I can only endorse what others have said. If there is a top two or three B & Bs in the UK, this is amongst them. Jenny & Chrix are generous and warm hosts and go way beyond the basic minimum to make one welcome. The full "Old Rectory" experience....the wood burners going flat out to keep us cosy...the delicious cake after a days walking...the traditional decor with lots of fun sporting prints....and top quality bed linen and bath robes...and very comfy beds. And a declicious breakfast! One of our party asked for croissants...(a liittle un-English in that environment!) and they were on the table before she had blinked. And of course the area is packed with good eateries, which they will advise on.
We had the twin room, with separate bathroom and this was fine. We rather liked the modern bathroom, newly refurbished to a high specification.
I hope we can go again one day

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank toastandmarmalade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (18)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 18 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2013

Jenny was a superb host the house was lovely clean comfortable and full of interesting things. The grounds were lovely and had we had time would have loved to sit there. Breakfast was excellent and service speedy and very pleasant. Jenny's husband had been unwell but this did not stop her going above and beyond what we expected or paid for. Would love toh go back.

Room Tip: Only 3 all excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bazza0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

We stopped at The Old Rectory for one night in July it is lovely and peaceful place. On arriving we were greeted by Jenny who owned the house a very warm and nice lady we were shown to our room which was up a very grand staircase. The rooms was very clean and at night so peaceful all you could hear was the owls hooting. The breakfast was full English tea, coffee etc and nothing was a problem. If you are passing through this way I would recommend you to stop at this B+B

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire20Leics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2012

I stayed here with a friend whilst on a walking trip covering part of Offa's Dyke. The Old Rectory is charming, full of character and kept in pristine condition by the owners Jenny and Chrix. We were greated by tea and cakes which was very welcome after a days walking. The bedrooms are spacious, furnished with antiques and very comfortable with crisp white bedlinen and fresh towels each day, the breakfasts delicious. The house is in a delightful countryside location, with lovely gardens which are free guests to enjoy. We really enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Two rooms have en-suite, one has shower the other a bath, another double room has a separate but pri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jenny G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2012

We booked into the Old Rectory on the advice of friends in the village of Ewyas Harold for our visit with them. It was so comfortable and quiet. The house had the character of an old country house with lots of antique furniture and beautiful decor. Comfy beds and large room with television, little sofa and tray of tea, coffee and biscuits. The breakfast was extremely good, choice of cooked and/or cereals, toast and lots of lovely preserves, some home made. The large table in the dining room made for good conversation in the mornings and the view was superb. We really enjoyed our stay and the Juckes made us very welcome.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tiglio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2010

The Old Rectory offers bed and breakfast accommodation full of character, with rather grand rooms full of period furniture and collectables, including many hunting trophies!

We were made to feel very welcome and the Juckes were happy to help with suggestions for places to eat and a map and book of walks which was useful. Our twin room was very large and clean, with comfortable beds and we had a separate, modern (but slightly out of keeping?) bathroom for our sole use.

Breakfast is taken in the large dining room overlooking the gardens and offered good variety, including home made preserves and good coffee.

We would very much recommend this property and the Black Mountains (our first visit to them)

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mattinbrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2010

We went to see our friends in the village and stayed overnight in this magnificient house.
We had a very warm welcome with a nice tee. From the first moment we really enjoyed the atmosphere of this beautifully furnished old rectory. The rooms were large and clean and the garden very beautiful. We really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Foodlover83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Old Rectory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Rectory

Address: Ewyas Harold HR2 0EY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Ewyas Harold
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Ewyas Harold
Price Range: £30 - £50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
The Old Rectory Ewyas Harold, Herefordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing