We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great pub food”

The New Inn - Fownhope
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Fownhope
Description: One of the few remaining traditional pubs within the heart of Herefordshire. This friendly country pub has been run for over 50 years within the same family and is still going strong. The New Inn is much appreciated by its locals for its range of real ales and warm atmosphere. A pub for all seasons, it has a welcoming interior with log burner and a large lawned garden area for outdoor refreshments. Good beer and homemade food is at the heart of the operation! Rambling parties welcome, local routes to be taken.
Restaurant details
Description: One of the few remaining traditional pubs within the heart of Herefordshire. This friendly country pub has been run for over 50 years within the same family and is still going strong. The New Inn is much appreciated by its locals for its range of real ales and warm atmosphere. A pub for all seasons, it has a welcoming interior with log burner and a large lawned garden area for outdoor refreshments. Good beer and homemade food is at the heart of the operation! Rambling parties welcome, local routes to be taken.
Reviewed 5 January 2022 via mobile

Excellent pub food with great friendly service. We had lunch after a walk with our dog and as usual it was hot, fresh and tasty. Great value.

Date of visit: January 2022
Thank lovemelov
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (188)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

38 - 42 of 188 reviews

Reviewed 31 December 2021

Great food, great service, lovely atmosphere, nothing too much trouble, lovely family pub will definitely visit again

Date of visit: December 2021
Thank debbiebI4935AB
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 December 2021

We booked in for lunch as we were passing on our way to Warner's which is quite close to this pub.

It looked very cosy, though was a bit cold inside, could do with a roaring fire.

The food was all lovely, took a while as obviously all home made. We almost all had a different meal and they were all very nice and generous portions.

We will visit again if in the area.

Date of visit: November 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Nic104
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 December 2021

Very welcoming pub! With lovely staff and a top notch chef!
Small and traditional! Lovely Sunday lunch! Choices of meat on the day were Beef / Turkey - really well cooked and tender
Veg was cooked perfectly with lovely flavouring.
Staff came over to check we had everything we required and ensured everything was up to a high standard!

Nothing was too much of an ask for extra gravy or side sauces.
Highly recommended.

Date of visit: December 2021
1  Thank 885lornad
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 December 2021

Excellent food and service. A really nice warm and friendly country pub, highly recommended! A great start to our weekend.

Date of visit: December 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank jimbO7786YC
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed The New Inn - Fownhope also viewed

Fownhope, Herefordshire
Hereford, Herefordshire
 
Hereford, Herefordshire
Woolhope, Herefordshire
 

Been to The New Inn - Fownhope? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.