We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (78)
Filter reviews
78 results
Traveller rating
34
26
5
6
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
34
26
5
6
7
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
61 - 66 of 78 reviews
Reviewed 19 June 2013

Don't go near this place. Tony the Manager is akin to Basil Fawlty on steroids. The rooms were unclean. The service was poor and the food was terrible. If you want to have a really unhappy experience book this place!!

Date of stay: June 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Philip J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2013

We arrived late at night Landlord Tony made us very welcome, rooms clean with an honesty bar, only downfall shower not very strong. Breakfast and coffee very good. Would stay again if in the area, handy for airport and mainline train

Date of stay: May 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Maglit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2013

The Silver Cup, its name worth!
For some reason we were forced to look somewhere else to stay in Harpenden, so we landed at the Silver Cup, apparently under new management. It turned out a great hit.
There was a friendly Landlord Tony, very welcoming and accommodating.
We stayed three nights. It was just fine and the food we had was great.
A good base to visit London.
We will see you again!
Henk Ketner

Date of stay: April 2013
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3  Thank Henk K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2013

Full of charm and olde style. Very small so can achieve a good atmosphere with a dozen or so customers but if you want a lively pub look elsewhere.

Staff always very friendly. A great winter pub, nice to sit outside in better weather.

The beer selection is good. It is a year or so since I ate there but the quality was very high if not generous.

Date of stay: April 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Danelaw44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2013

We had a very enjoyable experience in The Silver Cup, the landlord and all staff were more than willing to go the extra mile to make our visit very satisfying, the range of drinks were very vast and reasonably priced. We also had a meal when we visited which was exceptional with a menu to cater for all, the produce was fresh, tasty and good value for the money.
Our overall experience was excellent and will be revisiting and recommending this pub to others.

Date of stay: March 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 186338484DavidC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews