We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (78)
Filter reviews
78 results
Traveller rating
34
26
5
6
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
34
26
5
6
7
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
53 - 58 of 78 reviews
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Just had a great night out at the Silver Cup. Started with lobster bisque followed by oysters and then home made meat balls in most fabulous gravy. All washed down with an excellent bottle or two of fizz. Staff were great with nothing to much trouble, highly recommended.

Date of stay: September 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 295keith22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

I hadn't been to The Silver Cup in years, but will certainly be going back soon. The food was presented beautifully and absolutely delicious. The staff are welcoming and friendly and make every effort to please. Highly recommended!

Date of stay: September 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sxrxh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

What a fantastic night had by all! I requested a hot food buffet and WOW, we received fantastic gourmet food everyone could not stop talking about all night ! The pubs traditional charm created a great atmosphere and all the staff were really friendly and efficient - the chef even took the time to come and find me for a chat. Some of our party stayed the night and were completely satisfied with the facilities and loved the breakfast! Now Tony Reeder has settled into his new role after only recently taking over the pub I can recommend it as the perfect venue for any celebration but it also accommodates for a morning coffee, quiet drink and much more...

Room tip: Please just ask Tony to recommend the most suitable room for your requirements.
Date of stay: September 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicky P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

Excellent on every front. Recently celebrated our daughters birthday here at short notice. Tony and his staff were wonderfully accommodating, providing great and varied food, drinks, a stellar atmosphere and faultless service for our party of 15. A great event capped by a relaxing overnight stay and a hearty English breakfast. Harpenden is lucky to have such a traditional pub/coaching inn. Would make an excellent overnight stop for a cycling party.

Date of stay: July 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Harpenden2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

We stayed at The Silver Cup for one night and had a great stay.

We were made to feel welcome as soon as we arrived as the staff have a "nothing is too much trouble" approach to service. The room was clean, comfortable and well appointed - excellent value for money in our opinion. The breakfast was fantastic - a traditional full English - done to perfection.

The atmosphere in the bar is friendly and welcoming. The bar snacks are fairly special too - we especially enjoyed the balsamic pickled onions and the homemade pork scratchings.

Many thanks to Tony, the landlord, for his hospitable and friendly approach to front of house.
I can't recommend this place enough - convenient for access to Harpenden High Street (2mins) and London, via Harpenden Station (5-8 min walk).

We will definitely be returning to The Silver Cup - excellent value for money and a charming, traditional pub full of character. Thanks.

Date of stay: July 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SMacHertfordshire_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews