We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Welcoming Hosts”

The Grove Harpenden
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Harpenden
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Grove Harpenden
Ranked #2 of 3 Harpenden B&B and Inns
Linwood,Scotland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Welcoming Hosts”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014

We stayed one night after a very sad day (family funeral), from the day of booking to our arrival and departure,Clare and Gary could not have been more helpful and welcoming.Our rooms were fabulous, so luxurious and attractive, not to mention the homemade cupcakes left for us. A very attentive Gary served a beautiful breakfast made from their own and local produce, delicious. We all wish The Grove was closer to us in 'sunny' Scotland but hopefully we will return one day! Thank you.

Room Tip: All rooms are beautiful, comfortable, only downside,bathrooms are along a small corridor, they are s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fiona J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire B, Owner at The Grove Harpenden, responded to this review, 16 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are so glad you all enjoyed your stay here and hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
4
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Zug, Switzerland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

Bed & Breakfast doesn't really do the Grove credit. A lovely listed building that has been restored and modernised very carefully complemented by super hospitality. I was almost loathe to write a review to keep it as a secret for us.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JBevan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire B, Owner at The Grove Harpenden, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
An absolute pleasure to have you all to stay. Really hope to see you all again soon, Claire and Gary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

A secret gem on the edge of Harpenden and a very welcome retreat after a busy day at work. Very friendly owners, delicious breakfast and beds to die for. We stayed in the one bedroom apartment which has everything you could possibly need for a weekend away. A real home away from home. We'll be back.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charl0tteP10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire B, Owner at The Grove Harpenden, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
We are so Glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you both again soon.
Kind regards, Claire and Gary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013

The Grove is a rare thing; it absolutely lives up to your expectations. A well built website promises lovely individual bedrooms in a listed building surrounded by fields and views, peace and quiet in spades but only 25 minutes from London. With pleasant hosts and a great cooked breakfast! The Grove does exactly what it says on the tin! Clare and Gary are thoughtful, pleasant, very helpful and have created a fantastic bed and breakfast with tons of character. We cannot recommend this place highly enough. Just hope it doesnt get too popular, we would love to go back soon!

Room Tip: Top of the house has excellent facilities and great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank a_stravaiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire B, Owner at The Grove Harpenden, responded to this review, 22 September 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words. We are so pleased you both enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again in the future.
Kindest regards, Claire and Gary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

My husband and I stayed in the Grove's beautiful one bedroom apartment for 10 nights last week (7-18 Aug). This was our second visit and we absolutely love it. The one bedroom apartment is very spacious and has its own entrance, it feels more like a holiday home than a bed and breakfast. The bedroom has a separate dressing area and a beautiful four poster bed. The living room is huge with two beautiful window seats. Very clean with all mod cons including wifi etc.

The benefit of the one bedroom apartment was that we could come and go as we pleased and entertain guests etc without disturbing other occupants. The grounds are stunning and the location is perfect, just a 10 min drive into Harpenden town centre.

Both Gary and Claire are very friendly and let us use part of their home as if it was our own. Before we discovered The Grove we stayed at the Sopwell House hotel and a few serviced apartments in St.Albans. The Grove beats them all hands down, we highly recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FaridaDxb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire B, Owner at The Grove Harpenden, responded to this review, 23 August 2013
Thank you for your kind words it was a pleasure having you stay with us for a second year. We are delighted you enjoyed the facilities here at The Grove and look forward to seeing you when you return yo the UK.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2013

We stayed at the end of February for 4 nights, in the self contained/self catering apartment. It was really fabulous, the bedroom more than adequate for myself, my wife and two young boys. The standard of decor is very high, and a lot of attention has been paid to the this. The living area, can easily accomodate another fold out double bed, which Claire said to be arranged if we needed it.
The kitchen/breakfast bar was fully kitted out with good equipment.

See you soon, recommended.

Room Tip: We ha.d the self catering apartment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KeithRowson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire B, Owner at The Grove Harpenden, responded to this review, 28 May 2013
I m so glad you all had a great time here and enjoyed what we have to offer, we look forward to seeing you all again soon, Claire and Gary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2013

I fly for a living - often from and to Luton Airport. After years of staying in the usual dire places in the Luton area, I came across the Grove. Quite simply - the best B&B I've stayed in, Claire & Gary made the crew so very welcome and even put a sign on the front door asking callers to be quiet as we were sleeping during the day between flights!

The 2 rooms were lovely, with a shared kitchen. The Breakfast herioc, and the added touches made it a superb if too short stay. Thanks again for the hospitality! Al

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Al H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire B, Owner at The Grove Harpenden, responded to this review, 8 April 2013
Hi Al, lovely to hear from you :-)
Gary and I thoroughly enjoyed having you to stay and look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harpenden
3.9 mi away
Aubrey Park Hotel
Aubrey Park Hotel
#8 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
3.5 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
4.5 mi away
Luton Hoo Hotel Golf and Spa
4.2 mi away
Premier Inn Luton South (M1, J9) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
St Michael's Manor Hotel
St Michael's Manor Hotel
#4 of 9 in St Albans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
4.9 mi away
Sopwell House
Sopwell House
#3 of 9 in St Albans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,072 reviews
10.1 mi away
The Grove Hotel
The Grove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chandler's Cross
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grove Harpenden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grove Harpenden

Property: The Grove Harpenden
Address: The Grove | Pipers Lane, Harpenden AL5 5AJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Harpenden
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Harpenden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grove Harpenden 4*
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing