We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Old Cock Inn

The Old Cock Inn
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Old Cock Inn
Ranked #3 of 3 Harpenden B&B and Inns
Portugal
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

My wife and I have had to make a few visits to Harpenden over the last year as our daughter is boarding at St. George's School. On our first trip we ended up at a very overpriced B&B just outside the town but the second time we visited decided to try The Old Cock based on the mostly good reviews here. We were very impressed with the quality of the rooms, huge and really comfy beds (especially our favorite room #4), good modern bathrooms and generally well equipped, spacious and spotlessly clean. The pub has a really nice vibe and serves tasty home cooked food and an excellent English breakfast. With Harpenden being so well connected by train to London this place is even a good alternative to staying in town for business travellers looking for a bit of luxury accommodation without paying London prices. The pub is just a 5-minute walk from the train station and the train into St. Pancreas takes just half an hour. We just got home from our second visit and will definitely be returning again.

Room Tip: Room 4 has the biggest bed, a real super king, but all rooms have great beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Makantudo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldCockInn_Mgmnt, Manager at The Old Cock Inn, responded to this review, 2 March 2014
Good evening Makantudo, thank you for writing such a wonderful review. We're delighted you enjoyed your second stay with us and hope we can welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,
Nikki and Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    21
    7
    10
    14
See reviews for
13
38
5
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
bedfordshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

We enjoyed a lovely evening Saturday 25 January, nothing was too much trouble for ladylady Nikki. Having read reviews beforehand I can honestly say that the problems are with the reviewers and not with Nikki. She is a lovely lady, who, despite having a busy pub to run, took time out to sit, have a drink and chat to us. A lovely personal touch.
The rooms are beautifully decorated and all facilities are provided. Fantastic rain head showers. Abundance of gorgeous white bath towels.
Breakfast is sensational, cooked to order and extremely fresh. One of the best we have eaten in numerous hotels, b&bs.
We would recommend anyone wanting a friendly hospitable stay to book The Old Cock Inn. Loved our stay Nikki, thank you xx

Room Tip: A room at the back maybe quieter, we did stay on farmers market weekend !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dinbeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

We had lunch, quite incidental, just passing through, soup to die for ! ! sarnie and haddock fish cakes for the Mr, absolutely lovely. Ps, the lady bar tender is completely nut's (in a good way). . . .

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldCockInn_Mgmnt, Manager at The Old Cock Inn, responded to this review, 2 March 2014
Hi amanda, thank you for taking the time to write a review for the pub. The lady in questions name is Trisha, she's a fantastic member of staff however like you said, completely nuts!

Nikki.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2013

Was booked in for 2 nights but left after 1 ... awful place arrogant cocky staff poor service and the food, well ..... if I said vacum packs and microwave to the fore you will have the correct impression

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank James A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldCockInn_Mgmnt, Manager at The Old Cock Inn, responded to this review, 2 March 2014
Good evening James, we're sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. In response to your comments I can say that none of our food is vacuum packed and all freshly prepared. We work hard on meeting our customers expectations and therefore we would like you to visit us again with an offer of a complementary meal for two and with a bottle of wine. We have recently made some changes and work continuously on improving our service. Hopefully we can see you again soon and give us the opportunity to change your opinion.

Kind regards,
Nikki
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

We've just come back from a one night stay in room 4. We had everything you hope from an English pub B&B - friendly greeting at arrival, warm atmosphere in the pub, cracking dinner with giant portions, large & clean boutique-style en-suite bedroom. The day after was an excellent cooked breakfast with cereal, juice, toast, fresh coffee and more friendly service. Recommended - we'll stay again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank macca16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldCockInn_Mgmnt, Manager at The Old Cock Inn, responded to this review, 2 March 2014
Hi Macca16, thank you so much for taking the time to make a report about your stay here with us at The Old Cock Inn we are really pleased you had a great stay and you enjoyed our b n b and our food. We trust you are well and hope to see you again in the future.


Kind regards

Niki and Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luton
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

Great atmosphere and good hearty serving of traditional English grub. Prices are reasonable and the pub has excellent character.

Plenty of outdoor seating and very pleasant landlords.

Good selection of beers too.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yojackleon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

Stayed here as we were going to a party in the area, found the rooms really good boutique as it said on the website.
Rooms were very clean and quiet although we were told not to book a room if you were not intending to see the band when they have one just in case you wanted an early/quiet night.

Staff were really nice and helpful.

The breakfast which was included in the price was huge! and lovely well cooked and hot.

Would recommend this place to people.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harpenden
2.8 mi away
Premier Inn Luton South (M1, J9) Hotel
3.2 mi away
Aubrey Park Hotel
Aubrey Park Hotel
#8 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
3.5 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
3.1 mi away
Luton Hoo Hotel Golf and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Premier Inn St Albans City Centre Hotel
4.4 mi away
St Michael's Manor Hotel
St Michael's Manor Hotel
#4 of 9 in St Albans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
3.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Luton-South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Cock Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Cock Inn

Property: The Old Cock Inn
Address: 58 High Street, Harpenden AL5 2SP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Harpenden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Harpenden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Old Cock Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Old Cock Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing