We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff & great atmosphere”
Review of The Old Cock Inn

The Old Cock Inn
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Old Cock Inn
Ranked #3 of 3 Harpenden B&B and Inns
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Friendly staff & great atmosphere”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Popped in for a quick drink last night as visiting the area. Bar staff totally customer focussed and clearly enjoying their work. It was quite busy, with a 30th party going on but we sat at the bar and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves, didn't feel excluded. Good choice of wine. We chatted with Nicky, the landlady. She was genuinely welcoming and interested in chatting with us. Will definitely return and will be happy to try the hotel another time. As a lone female traveller, I would not hesitate to come here on my own, knowing that I would be looked after.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happytraveller186284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    25
    7
    10
    15
See reviews for
16
42
5
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

The rooms are very comfortable. Amy behind bar is very attentive. Other staff did not quite engage as much. The staff seemed to be arguing in front of customers which I think is unprofessional. Rooms are very modern and have nice touches. Location is good for restaurants in town. Overall this is a gem of a place and I would stay there again without a doubt. Maybe a better welcome from staff (other than Amy) would make things even better. Minimal car par king opportunities for a B an B. Please take on board honest comments to improve an already excellent bed and breakfast in Harpenden.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Popped in here today just for breakfast and what a treat!! I very rarely eat breakfast out because I am always disappointed that they are never as good as my own home cooked ones. Well on this occasion the full english served up to me by the landlady was perfect in every aspect as was the service. Presented beautifully, piping hot and very very tasty. A pot of lovely tea and toast done just right. Even the fried egg was done to perfection and I'm a real fussy bloke. Great job guys and I will definitely be back with friends and family next time. See you soon.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Big C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middletown, Connecticut
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Not that I would know a great English Breakfast, but the hosts made the experience all the more better. Friendly hosts, staff and visitors are a real benefit for the vacationing or business guest along with a wonderful town to walk and enjoy the area.

I would highly recommend this location to stay and I plan on doing so again when the business opportunity presents itself again in their area.

Room Tip: The room above the rear entrance seems to be the quietest and away from above the bar, but on the yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kykboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, Wales
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Harpenden House Hotel and ventured into the village for an evening meal. From the moment we called to book our table we had the loveliest, warm welcome from Trish. She's a born hostess and looked after us so well notwithstanding she'd had a long day already. Food was wholesome pub grub, the duck and orange pate was generous and delicious, the sweet chilli chicken spicy and juicy, followed by Wiltshire ham, egg and chips for my husband and bombardier fish and chips for me with fresh garden peas. Beautifully served, drinks brought to our reserved table despite the busy crowd and a great band playing. We loved it and would highly recommend this place. Customer service goes a long way in our book and they have it in bucket loads here. Well done and we wish Nikki, Roger, Trish and the rest of the staff all the best.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank McPhil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Had a lovely experience staying here for a family wedding. Staff friendly, nice food, great location lovely rooms - clean and mod. Good value. Will definitely come back here again. Even though our flight arrived early, we were welcomed and given tea/coffee.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Odette H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harpenden, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

lovely pub in heart of the village warm wellcoming atmosphere with good wines and beers,open all day for food or just a coffee,have not stayed here but would reccommend for a meal or a drink,friendly bar service.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank denise g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harpenden
3.2 mi away
Aubrey Park Hotel
Aubrey Park Hotel
#8 of 10 in Hemel Hempstead
614 reviews
3.1 mi away
Luton Hoo Hotel Golf and Spa
4.7 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel St. Albans
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8
Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, ...
#7 of 10 in Hemel Hempstead
621 reviews
4.4 mi away
Ardmore House
Ardmore House
#7 of 10 in St Albans
529 reviews
3.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Luton - South M1, Jct 9
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Cock Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Cock Inn

Property: The Old Cock Inn
Address: 58 High Street, Harpenden AL5 2SP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Harpenden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Harpenden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Old Cock Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Book Direct Rooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Old Cock Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing