We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Chinese in harpenden”
Review of Chef Peking

Chef Peking
Ranked #11 of 93 Restaurants in Harpenden
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$26 - US$51
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed 27 October 2012

Just been for an excellent meal yet again at the best Chinese restaurant, service is always friendly and efficient can't fault it. Food as always is superb definitely can't complain and whoever has complained on here must be getting confused with somewhere else. I would definitely recommend a trip there to anyone!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank kirstiehewitt89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (282)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

253 - 257 of 282 reviews

Reviewed 16 October 2012

Whilst the food was always excellent here as far as I remember, this restaurant has also now improved with much better service - the "table turning" culture seems to have stopped.

Still reasonable value for excellent Chinese cuisine; ironically the only thing I would say now is that the service is a bit too hands-on (waiters putting their arms around your partner whilst trying to show them how to eat a lobster wouldn't cut it for everyone), but it all seemed pretty harmless, and you'd have to give 10/10 for effort - and they genuinely seem to care about the food they serve. Certainly they couldn't do enough for you.

Worth a visit in my opinion.

Date of visit: October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jfre70562
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

Top quality restaurant, excellent staff and good food, have been eating here for years and you can taste the quality and notice the difference if you go elsewhere. We commute from Barnet just to eat in Chef Peking the best Chinese restaurants Rachael & her team look after you so well you could not hope for better, they are extremely attentive and I would highly recommend Chef Peking to anyone, I am told that they are currently planning a full refurbishment and I can't wait to return and see the place when it has been done.

Date of visit: August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Brian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

Over the years this has been a regular place for us to visit. This trip was a special one as we were meeting some good friends and wanted a relaxed friendly atmosphere to have a good catch up. The food was perfect, freshly cooked and extremely tasty, our children snaffled almost a whole duck between them, it's really that good. The staff were extremely attentive and enjoyed teaching our girls some Chinese, all in all a great evening out.

Date of visit: July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank anduain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2012

Great food and excellent service! Highly recommend!!

Date of visit: June 2012
Thank Sarah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chef Peking also viewed

Wheathampstead, St Albans
Harpenden, Hertfordshire
 
Harpenden, Hertfordshire
 

Been to Chef Peking? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing