We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Chinese!”
Review of Chef Peking

Chef Peking
Ranked #1 of 78 Restaurants in Harpenden
Price range: US$25 - US$50
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Hertfordshires finest Chinese restaurant, enjoying award winning accolades and multi repeat diners. Our Sunday buffet is often fully booked and a legendary family dining experience. Our produce is delivered 3 times a week and cooked fresh to order for every guest for every course. We are open 7 days a week for lunch and dinner.
Reviewed 13 October 2020 via mobile

Best Chinese around! Massive shout out to Rachel for being so great! Loveliest lady and most amazing table service. Will definitely be returning!! The food was divine, even brought side dishes to bring home! Thanks so much Rachel and team!

HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS CHINESE RESTAURANT

Date of visit: October 2020
3  Thank richardbH7585RY
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (558)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

82 - 86 of 558 reviews

Reviewed 11 October 2020

Visited the restaurant for lunch for the first time, the service was excellent and Rachel personally made us feel very welcome and ensured we were looked after. The food was very nice too.

Date of visit: October 2020
5  Thank amykR7225JQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 30 September 2020

Lovely food, prices ok, great and attentive service, a Wednesday night and it was busy which to me is a good sign.
Rachel was a super friendly host who made sure we were enjoying our meal and made it extra special by the candle in the ice cream for the birthday boy!
Yes, highly recommended

Date of visit: September 2020
3  Thank A7365TBmichaelar
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 29 September 2020

My friend and I meet regularly for a catch up and chose Chef Pekin which we have never been to before.

When we meet, we are usually rushed to order, but we enjoy chatting for half an hour and deliberate over the menu before ordering.

Never have we had such amazing service. Rachel helped us with the menu. Told us the set menu was the best for money and offered to swap any dishes out for something else, which we did for 2 mains.

We were having a belated birthday dinner and Rachel overheard, she came back within minutes with a box of chocolates which was such a personal touch.

The food was fresh, hot, and delicious. The Staff were all so friendly and we will definitely be back as well as recommending Chef Pekin to friends and family.

Date of visit: September 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
4  Thank sarahexploreandrate
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 27 September 2020 via mobile

Central Harpenden Chinese Restaurant, when I moved to Harpenden in 1978 I seem to think that that chef Peking was already part of furniture? That said it’s been part of Harpenden culture for a considerable time. I have dined here numerous times and never had a bad meal. Last week Evie and My brother Simon and elder son George enjoyed a first rate meal, freshly cooked and very tasty. The Chef Peking deserves its status , very highly recommend

Date of visit: September 2020
4  Thank jeremy_hartigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed Chef Peking also viewed

Wheathampstead, St. Albans
 
Wheathampstead, St. Albans
 

Been to Chef Peking? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2022 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.