We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food and 1st class service”
Review of Chef Peking

Chef Peking
Ranked #1 of 78 Restaurants in Harpenden
Price range: US$25 - US$50
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Hertfordshires finest Chinese restaurant, enjoying award winning accolades and multi repeat diners. Our Sunday buffet is often fully booked and a legendary family dining experience. Our produce is delivered 3 times a week and cooked fresh to order for every guest for every course. We are open 7 days a week for lunch and dinner.
Reviewed 19 October 2020

Always a warm welcome when we dine at Chef Peking.

The ingredients are very fresh and of a very high quality. We can highly recommend the pepper salted squid and smoked chicken starters. Favourite mains are beef in black bean and king prawns with cashew nuts in yellow bean sauce.I really like a restaurant that has linen table cloths, napkins and even linen hand towels in the bathroom! The service is always attentive and friendly. Fresh whole lobster is available (request when booking) and is amazing - photo attached. Big thanks to Rachel and the team, we will be back soon.

Date of visit: October 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
5  Thank Nigel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (558)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

78 - 82 of 558 reviews

Reviewed 18 October 2020

The food at Chef Peking is excellent but what stands out for us is how consistently good the service is. We took the kids (15 and 12) and Rachel the hostess made a huge fuss of them. One of our favourite Harpenden restaurants.

Date of visit: October 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank bdsjon271
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 17 October 2020 via mobile

Good food and lovely staff. Would definitely come again. Has all your usual choice. Would be nice to have a few more authentic dishes.

Date of visit: October 2020
2  Thank BenCrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 17 October 2020

Now the staff are excellent, prices are OK, but stay with the Starter dishes.
Perfectly cooked salted squid and shredded lamb - better than most Chinese
in area and good portions. Problem came with main dishes - double cooked pork?
I had a problem finding the slices of pork and this should be a Hunan/Szechuan
dish - it was so mild. Sweet and sour prawns - far too much batter!!!
Not very impressed - sorry

Date of visit: October 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
5  Thank john l
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 13 October 2020 via mobile

Best Chinese around! Massive shout out to Rachel for being so great! Loveliest lady and most amazing table service. Will definitely be returning!! The food was divine, even brought side dishes to bring home! Thanks so much Rachel and team!

HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS CHINESE RESTAURANT

Date of visit: October 2020
3  Thank richardbH7585RY
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed Chef Peking also viewed

Wheathampstead, St. Albans
 
Wheathampstead, St. Albans
 

Been to Chef Peking? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2022 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.