We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel!!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mercure Hatfield Oak Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mercure Hatfield Oak Hotel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Hatfield
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Hotel!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2012

Stayed for 2 nights and upgraded for the second night all inclusive which cost £15.00 more, and certainly well worth the money. The food was excellent on both nights and the service was 5 star!!! Plenty to drink (if you like wine & Beer that was in the all inclusive deal until 1100 pm) We would definitely recommend this hotel, we got the offer from Travel Zoo and would return again if we were going to London, which is only 15 miles away!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ManchesterTonyR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David C, General Manager at Mercure Hatfield Oak Hotel, responded to this review, 16 August 2012
Dear Tony,

Thank you for your kind review. I was very pleased you found our food and service to be excellent.

I agree we are a great place from which to visit London

Regards

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

593 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    242
    209
    95
    29
    18
See reviews for
73
227
22
145
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2012

As vegetarians our expectations are low with large multinational chains so we were very happy to see both imaginative & varied choices on the restaurant menu. Starters were excellent but the main course of wild mushroom risotto & stuffed Aubergine were five star, this chef actually does want vegetarians to enjoy his food. The restaurant staff are very helpful and pay a lot of attention to children's needs but not to the detrament of other guests.
The rooms are very comfortable & clean, all the staff are pleasant and helpfull. In future we hope to try more Mercure Hotels.
One tip to old school map readers ie if you don't use satnav, follow the signs for the university to find the Hotel.
We were there to enjoy the Folk in the Oak festival of music at Hatfield hall, and while some of the main stage acts were over-rated & very tedious, ALL the acts on the Acorn stage were superb, and the festival was very well organised.

Room Tip: Choose the best you can afford.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David C, General Manager at Mercure Hatfield Oak Hotel, responded to this review, 29 July 2012
Thank you for your review.

I am pleased you enjoyed our food, our Chef's are building an excellent local reputation for their food and after recent feedback from regular diners have ensured that we have both sufficient vegetarian options and an open policy to cook a guests requests to order - It is very encouraging that this has been noticed and appreciated.

Thank you

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2012

Good location near A1... Not too much road noise
Service is good
Food is also good... Though i can only comment on room service
They also have access to a local gym
Good value from a good / no frills but confortable hotel

More suited for short business stays than family trips

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adam K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David C, General Manager at Mercure Hatfield Oak Hotel, responded to this review, 29 July 2012
Dear Adam,

Thank you for your review.

I look forward to welcoming you on your next visit

Regards

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2012

Good food, friendly staff providing great service. Clean rooms and an alRound good stay

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pikey2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David C, General Manager at Mercure Hatfield Oak Hotel, responded to this review, 29 July 2012
Thank you for your review.

I am pleased you enjoyed your stay

Regards

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holmestrand, Norway
Level Contributor
68 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2012

We were eight people staying here for four nights while attending the Art in Clay at Hatfield House. The rooms were very nice and tidy, but we would have liked a little refrigerator there. The staff was very friendly and helpful, and the breakfast was nice enough - (unfortunately no black pudding), but they had enough to choose from. We had dinner in the hotel's restaurant every evening, and tried out different dishes every night. We did not get disappointed at all. Very delicious and very reasonable prices. We paid about 50£ for a three course dinner for two and a bottle of wine! Easy to get to Hatfield station by bus, which stopped 100 metres from the hotel, and 25 minutes by train - you were at Kings Cross in London! We can highly recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: Some noise in the rooms towards the parking from the road. Could not have the window open.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Torhild115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David C, General Manager at Mercure Hatfield Oak Hotel, responded to this review, 29 July 2012
Thank you for your review.

Thank you for your kind comments following your stay, I was pleased to read that you found the food here delicious.

I agree we have a large selection of items for breakfast and (as a Yorkshire man brought up on Black pudding) would like to see the dish served, unfortunately this has not as yet proved popular with our guests - however when you visit next year please drop me an email - gm@hotels-hatfield.com - and we will organise some for your party.

We have tentative plans for installing fridges in our 14 executive rooms but have not reached a decision on this yet, thank you for your opinion.

I was pleased to read that you found the hotel an ideal base for London, in addition to the bus a Taxi costs £5 to the train station which is another good option.

Regards

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Navesink, New Jersey
Level Contributor
51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2012

We recently spent three days at the Hatfield Oak hotel, while on business at the university. The staff was always cheerful and helpful; the room itself was extremely large by European standards and quite comfortable. We were extremely impressed with the restaurant and the menu. This was not your standard 'business hotel' fare...it was fine dining, as good or better than some meals we have enjoyed in London.

Winston and Jonathan both were outstandingly helpful. The desk clerks were also quite cheerful and helpful, although we never received our early morning wake-up call on the day of our departure. This was quite problematic, as we awakened later than we wished and then had to take a taxi into London to catch our train to the next leg of our journey.

These things happen, and unfortunately this error was quite costly to us. However, we would have no problem returning to this hotel...we will simply bring our own alarm clock with us next time.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Florie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David C, General Manager at Mercure Hatfield Oak Hotel, responded to this review, 29 July 2012
Dear Florie

Thank you for your review.

I was very pleased to read your comments and do agree that the food produced by our Chef's is special.

I was concerned to read that you never received your wake up call, I have discussed with my reception manager how we can ensure this does not happen to future guests, and she is reviewing our present proceedures.

Regards

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

We've just returned from an all inclusive break at the Mercure Hatfield Oak Hotel. What a refreshing change to find friendly and helpful staff who genuinly care.
A thoroughly enjoyable stay!

Room Tip: Ask for a rear room as although not too noisy you can hear the A1 from front facing rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mitch F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David C, General Manager at Mercure Hatfield Oak Hotel, responded to this review, 29 July 2012
Dear Mitch,

Thank you for your review.

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay, we are very fortunate to have a team of people who enjoy looking after our guests.

Regards

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hatfield
1.2 mi away
Beales Hatfield Hotel
Beales Hatfield Hotel
#1 of 6 in Hatfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ramada Hatfield
Ramada Hatfield
#5 of 6 in Hatfield
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,004 reviews
1.6 mi away
Premier Inn Hatfield Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Welwyn Garden City Homestead Court Hotel
BEST WESTERN Welwyn Garden City ...
#3 of 5 in Welwyn Garden City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
3.8 mi away
Sopwell House
Sopwell House
#3 of 9 in St Albans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,020 reviews
3.2 mi away
Premier Inn Welwyn Garden City Hotel
Premier Inn Welwyn Garden City H...
#2 of 5 in Welwyn Garden City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Hatfield Oak Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Hatfield Oak Hotel

Property: Mercure Hatfield Oak Hotel
Address: Roehyde Way, Hatfield AL10 9AF, England (Formerly Hatfield Oak Hotel )
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Hatfield
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Hatfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Hatfield Oak Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Hatfield Oak Hotel is ideal for the business or leisure traveller, close to three motorways, the hotel is just 3 minutes from Junction 23 of the M25, 1 minute from Junction 2 and 3 of the A1(M), and close to the M1. Easy access to central London, which is just 25 minutes away by train. The hotel has Free WiFi for all guests and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Lastminute and Odigeo so you can book your Mercure Hatfield Oak Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Hatfield Oak Hotel Hertfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing