We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great weekend away”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mercure Hatfield Oak Hotel
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Hatfield
Reviewed 7 June 2013

My wife and I chose this hotel to attend a wedding close by. We arrived with our 11 year old son and checked in with Anete, who made us feel most welcome. It became apparent that our executive room (125) was not ready as the sofa bed hadn't been made. Anete apologised and rectified the problem immediately, as a member of staff came to the room within minutes. As she made the bed, she gave us some advice as to what to do and see in the area, which included Hatfield house..
We were really impressed with the room which was very spacious and well equipped. There was a Nespresso machine, along with the usual coffee and tea sachets, a small fruit basket and complementary robes and slippers! The super kingsize bed was comfortable and well presented.
However, as we eventually went to bed our son could not sleep due to the springs being worn out and he could feel every spring in the sofa bed! We brought this to the attention of the management the next morning.. They were very apologetic and offered to change rooms for us, and as we were going out, stated that this would be organised for our return when they would help with our luggage. When we returned from Hatfield House, we were told that they had added an extra bed to the room instead. The room was so spacious that, even with the extra bed, there was still plenty of room.
The bathroom was adequate, there is a couple of small stains on the toilet seat, which obviously won't come off, but it's only a small point along with a few mildew spots on the shower door. Hardly worth mentioning as we were already surprised that this is only a 3 star hotel.
This is the first report we have written, as we normally would not be compelled to do so, but felt so strongly about this hotel that we wrote this with another 2 days of our holiday left!!!
We have not come here expecting perfection, but have been really impressed.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martyn E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David C, General Manager at Mercure Hatfield Oak Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2013

Dear Martyn,

Thank you for your generous review. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and that when things were not right we dealt with this to your satisfaction.

Regards

David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (682)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

485 - 491 of 682 reviews

Reviewed 4 June 2013

Myself and my partner returned here for another relaxing all inclusive weekend break.

We stayed here earlier in the year and were bowled over with the value for money & quality of food etc coupled with the excellent staff. This time was just as good, if not better as we brought the sun with us!

We saw Alison the restaurant manageress on reception when we arrived and she remembered us from last time which was nice. We also met the lovely Liena who I have always dealt with when booking via email etc and it was great to put a face to the name. (She arranged for us to have the same room 117 as last time)

All of the staff we came across throughout our stay were top class but one deserves special recognition - Lucy - Nothing & I mean NOTHING was too much trouble for her. Despite being very busy at times she was always on top of things and puts her customers first. She is one for future promotion without doubt.

We hope to return again later this year if we get chance - can't wait!

Room Tip: The executive suites are well worth the upgrade if staying more than 1 night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Whitewizard666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David C, General Manager at Mercure Hatfield Oak Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2013

Dear David,

Thank you for your review

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and delighted that everyone looked after you so well. I am sure Lucy will be very pleased with the kind comments you have made about her, she is certainly an asset to the hotel and we are very proud she has looked after you so well.

Regards

David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2013 via mobile

Ok let's get the bad out of the way first. The duty manager Danny and the general manager whose name i didn't get were rude, arrogant and generally spoilt what is otherwise a nice enough hotel. Decent food, rooms pretty comfortable if basic and not that special. Quite cold though, no temperature control in the room. Special mention to the bar staff particularly martin who were all excellent. Definitely worth staying here but try not to annoy the overentitled management by doing such abhorrent things like resting your feet on a table after you've checked out as the manager will act like you've smashed up his own property

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angrybarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David C, General Manager at Mercure Hatfield Oak Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2013

Dear Barry,

Thank you for your review.

I was pleased that you enjoyed your stay and in particular that you thought Martin was excellent. I am sorry that you were offended that I asked you to take your feet off a coffee table.

Regards

David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2013

Our friends organised this hotel stay for us as we were visiting for a family party held in the vicinity. We thought that the hotel offered very good value for money. Our room was clean and comfortable, with good facilities. Breakfast was very good (we did not take any other meals during our one night stay). The hotel staff were friendly and hospitable, making us feel relaxed. Nothing seemed to be too much trouble - they have obviously received excellent training. It was a pleasure to stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dot01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David C, General Manager at Mercure Hatfield Oak Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2013

Thank you for your review

I was pleased to read that you found the quality of the hotel to be very good and that you thought the my team's hospitality was notable.

Regards

David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2013

Just returned from a two night stay at the above hotel - the first day with breakfast with the second day fully inclusive - breakfast, lunch and evening meal also drinks beers, lagers, wines and soft drinks. We arrived early on the first day in time to upgrade the first day for just £30 extra for both of us (what a deal). Nothing was too much trouble for the hotel staff - the food was presented beautifully and was delicious. We found this through Travelzoo. I suggest you join their site. We were 7minutes drive away from Hatfield House and it was all brilliant.

Room Tip: Corner suites are large and sunny but with every room there greenery all around you, and lovely seat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank welshdiva_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David C, General Manager at Mercure Hatfield Oak Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2013

Thank you for your review.

I was pleased you enjoyed your stay and found our food delicious

Regards

David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2013

Small but nice hotel. Stayed with my wife, teenage daughter and two of her friends for the Slamdunk festival held on the Uni campus adjacent to the hotel. Check-in and out simple and efficient and the desk staff were pleasant.

Breakfast was well prepared and the staff welcoming and smiling.

The restaurant could have been made larger on Saturday evening by using the upstairs seating rather than seating by the main entrance. As a wedding reception was being held in the hotel guests were going in and out of the main entrance to smoke so it wasn't easy to relax for the meal.

Overall the stay exceeded my expectations of a 3-star rated hotel near London.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank kevinbarrett2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David C, General Manager at Mercure Hatfield Oak Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2013

Thank you for your review.

I was pleased to read that the hotel exceeded your expectations and that you enjoyed your stay.

You are right we should have utilised the upstairs area of the restaurant and will look to use this more during busy times.

Regards

David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013

We recently stopped on a 2 night break at the hotel as a base to visit London. The deal we got was for £79 per night for the room, this included a lunch consisting of either a sandwich or soup of the day, a 2 course evening meal with house wine included, a free bar from 19:00 until 23:00 and breakfast the following morning. The staff were extremely friendly and very helpful, even advising us on what rail tickets would be the best value for us and which underground stations would benefit us. The rooms were very clean and tidy, with hairdriers and flat screen tv's. The food in the restaurant was very nice and of a very decent quality with generous portions and nothing seemed to be an issue when the staff were asked. Overall this was a fantastic hotel which i WILL definitely be returning to to further explore the capital, i couldn't praise the hotel or it's staff any higher

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sclark7576
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David C, General Manager at Mercure Hatfield Oak Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2013

Thank you for your review.

I was pleased to read that you thought our hotel was fantastic.

We are very fortunate to have a team full of friendly helpful people and I am pleased that they made such a good impression.

Regards

David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hatfield
1.2 mi away
Beales Hatfield Hotel
Beales Hatfield Hotel
#1 of 6 in Hatfield
679 reviews
1.2 mi away
Travelodge Hatfield Central
1.6 mi away
Premier Inn Hatfield Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Best Western Welwyn Garden City Homestead Court Hotel
Best Western Welwyn Garden City ...
#3 of 5 in Welwyn Garden City
526 reviews
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express St. Albans - M25, Jct. 22
3.8 mi away
Sopwell House
Sopwell House
#3 of 10 in St Albans
2,387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Hatfield Oak Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Hatfield Oak Hotel

Address: Roehyde Way, Hatfield AL10 9AF, England (Formerly Hatfield Oak Hotel )
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Hatfield
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Hatfield
Price Range: £52 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Hatfield Oak Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Hatfield Oak Hotel is ideal for the business or leisure traveller. Close to three motorways, the hotel is just 3 minutes from Junction 23 of the M25, 1 minute from Junction 2 and 3 minutes from the A1M, as well as situated close to the M1. There is easy access to central London, which is just 25 minutes away by train. The airports of Luton, Stansted and Heathrow are also all within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Accorhotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure Hatfield Oak Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Hatfield Oak Hotel Hertfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing