We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Hatfield Oak Hotel
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Hatfield
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Room was clean and big, staff were lovely. There was tea and coffee making facilities, tv, free wifi and complementary shampoo etc. we didn't eat here but if the food is as good as the room then it would be lovely. Highly recommend

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank reluctantraveller221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David C, General Manager at Mercure Hatfield Oak Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2013

Thank you for your review.

I was pleased to read that you had a very good stay with ourselves. We have a very good team of chefs producing excellent food, please do eat with us on your next visit.

Best wishes

David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (674)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

432 - 438 of 674 reviews

Reviewed 19 October 2013

It was ok but nothing special. Free wifi in room was appreciated and room was quiet. However, I requested a room near reception which was convenient to access. What did I get? According to the porter who carried my case on arrival, it was just about the furthest room from reception (237) - and with stairs to climb. (I booked several weeks in advance, so I don't think it would have been so difficult to arrange.) It was along a maze of corridors with two or three small flights of steps and a full flight of stairs - very difficult with a heavy case and hand luggage. (Surely hotels know most people will have suitcases, so why don't they install lifts?) Restaurant food was good. Staff friendly.

It wasn't terribly well situated if you don't have a car. We tried to get back from the cinema at the Galleria. After about 8 p.m., the front of the Mall is locked and you have to get out through the back (of course, this is not the fault of the hotel!). We thought we would be able to get a taxi, but there were none. Walking round to the front (quite a walk) there were none there either, so we had to walk back to the hotel - which took at least 20 mins. It was lucky it was a fairly pleasant evening. Mainly for this reason, I would choose one of the hotels nearer Galleria if staying again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dupeyabu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David C, General Manager at Mercure Hatfield Oak Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2013

Dear Helen,

Thank you for your review.

I am sorry we did not allocate you a room closer to reception, I have looked at your reservation and your request is quite clear. We pride ourselves on our attention to detail and it is disappointing when we make mistakes.

I was pleased that you enjoyed our food and found the team friendly.

Best wishes

David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

This hotel is the place to stay. The staff are so friendly and professional. Reception outstanding. The resturant staff could not be more helpful. They are so dedicated to their jobs they were Dave and Alison. The food was outstanding and very reasonable.
For £88.00 Bed and Breakfast in outer London is extremely reasonable.
I have to say it shows a 3 Star but this is a 4 star touching on a 5 Star hotel.

The manager of this hotel has got it so right with customer service been their priority.

Definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Craig H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David C, General Manager at Mercure Hatfield Oak Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2013

Dear Craig,

Thank you for such a kind review.

We are very fortunate in having some fabulous people working here and I am very pleased you took the opportunity to highlight the service offered by Dave and Allison, I was also delighted that you appreciated the service offered by Alina our receptionist.

Best wishes

David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013 via mobile

Just had an overnighter here whilst working at the local hospital ..... Clean , good service .....mustn't grumble
Food in the bar was good fayre with a range of menu options

If you require local accommodation whilst on business this will foot the bill

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David C, General Manager at Mercure Hatfield Oak Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2013

Dear Dan,

Thank you for your review.

I was pleased to read you enjoyed your short stay at the Mercure Hatfield Oak.

Regards

David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

relaxed, value for money.

food to die for. it was delicious. lovely wine.

comfy beds and lovely showers. helpful and friendly staff.

useful location

no gym or spa but free use of the local leisure centre.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kattisamps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David C, General Manager at Mercure Hatfield Oak Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2013

I am delighted with your review.

Your experience is just what we are aiming for.

Thank you

David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Stayed on business, staff were welcoming and immediately replaced the light bulb which went out in my bathroom. Room was extremely clean. Breakfast service was superb. I did not have an evening meal but will try one next time. I felt very safe and comfortable in this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank slickets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David C, General Manager at Mercure Hatfield Oak Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2013

Thank you for your review.

Our head housekeeper Paulina and her ladies do a brilliant job and I am pleased you appreciated their efforts.

It is important to start the day on the right note and I was pleased you received good service at breakfast, please do have dinner with us on your next visit.

Regards

David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Stayed for three night as on business nearby.

It's a little bit dated but don't let that put you off. My room was a decent size, and the bathroom, although not amazingly modern, was spotlessly clean. The bed was very comfortable and I slept well each night. Probably wouldn't be as good in warm weather though, with windows open the noise from the adjacent A1 was obtrusive.

The food in the restaurant was delicious and the portions generous. I had pork belly with red cabbage and new potatoes - excellent! Sirloin steak the night after was cooked exactly as asked and very tasty.

The jewel in the crown here though is the service. Every member of staff I met from the receptionist to the waiting staff were absolutely exceptional and a real credit to the hotel.

I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again and really recommend it.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeremy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David C, General Manager at Mercure Hatfield Oak Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2013

Dear Jeremy,

Thank you for your review.

I was very pleased you enjoyed your stay and appreciated the service we offer. I am fortunate in having a lovely group of people working at the hotel who genuinely care and enjoy looking after people.

We also have lovely chefs who create super food, I am glad you thought the food was delicious.

On your next visit I hope you find the hotel less tired as we are in the process of redecorating all rooms (30% complete). We will also be refurbishing the restaurant which is due to be completed in mid November and laying new flooring in our foyer area next week.

Best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hatfield
1.2 mi away
Beales Hatfield Hotel
Beales Hatfield Hotel
#1 of 6 in Hatfield
674 reviews
1.2 mi away
Travelodge Hatfield Central
1.6 mi away
Premier Inn Hatfield Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express St. Albans - M25, Jct. 22
3.4 mi away
Best Western Welwyn Garden City Homestead Court Hotel
Best Western Welwyn Garden City ...
#3 of 5 in Welwyn Garden City
514 reviews
3.8 mi away
Sopwell House
Sopwell House
#3 of 10 in St Albans
2,336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Hatfield Oak Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Hatfield Oak Hotel

Address: Roehyde Way, Hatfield AL10 9AF, England (Formerly Hatfield Oak Hotel )
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Hatfield
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Hatfield
Price Range: £49 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Hatfield Oak Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Hatfield Oak Hotel is ideal for the business or leisure traveller. Close to three motorways, the hotel is just 3 minutes from Junction 23 of the M25, 1 minute from Junction 2 and 3 minutes from the A1M, as well as situated close to the M1. There is easy access to central London, which is just 25 minutes away by train. The airports of Luton, Stansted and Heathrow are also all within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Mercure Hatfield Oak Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Hatfield Oak Hotel Hertfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing