We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“not overly impressed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Hatfield Oak Hotel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Hatfield
Certificate of Excellence
Cumbria
Level Contributor
101 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“not overly impressed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

Went on a New Year break which I enjoyed probably the company rather than hotel. Reception and bar area were freezing. The entertainment was practically non existent. When it came to New Year's eve it was organised chaos people everywhere we were squashed together with not enough seats for our party with one of them eating from what I can only describe as a sideboard. Our table - 9 of us was blocking the fire exit.
Bar prices were never the same twice, over-rated warm wine but we were offered ice.
Would I recommend definitely not.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DorothyCumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David C, General Manager at Mercure Hatfield Oak Hotel, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Dear Dorothy,

Thank you for your review.

I was sorry to read that you were not satisfied with your stay and disagree with much of what you have written.

Regards

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

605 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    248
    211
    97
    29
    20
See reviews for
75
234
22
148
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cleator, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

Was here for a new years 4 days 3 night break and as the story goes "you get what you pay for." Started off really well and went down hill after that. The reception/bar area was very cold as we seemed to be the only party there when we arrived as was the 3rd night. Drinks over priced we were paying £18 / £20 for a £6 bottle of warm wine ( or that's what it tasted like ) New Years eve we were packed in like sardines, too many people and too little room, ran short of food on the buffet style dinner. Majority of staff were superb only a certain 1 or 2 spoiled it. Rooms were clean and quite comfortable. Would not go back as part of a New Year celebration, if it hadn't been for the company we were in it would have been spoiled. Ok for buisness stop over.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank twiggy1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David C, General Manager at Mercure Hatfield Oak Hotel, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Thank you for your review.

I was sorry our New Years eve celebrations did not meet your expectations, we did have a lot of positive feedback and I am disappointed that you did not enjoy the evening as much as other guests.

Our wine menu features wines from £18 - £40, we have compared the quality and price of our wines with other three star hotels in the area and found the value we offer is very good.

Best wishes for 2014

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed as part of a package, generally ok, but a number of observations. It's a working hotel, you don't stay here for the experience but for the bed, which is ok. The new year dinner was ok but nothing special and the buffet main course a bit of a weird mixture of salad and roast. Bacon sarnies later were much appreciated and very nice. The breakfast was excellent and again reflects it's probably a very good working hotel.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank NickD_cambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David C, General Manager at Mercure Hatfield Oak Hotel, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Dear Nick,

Thank you for your review.

I was sorry you did not find our evening to be special as that is what we are aiming for. I am pleased however you thought we were ideal for business guests.

Best wishes for 2014

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benfleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
163 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

Went To Mercure Hatfield Oak Hotel to see in 2014 with friends & enjoyed the experience very much.After a champagne reception we were piped into dinner by an excellent piper for a buffet style meal which was served by the excellent staff. Rooms were comfortable & breakfast was good too.No wonder this hotel is so popular year on year!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Howard67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David C, General Manager at Mercure Hatfield Oak Hotel, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Dear Howard,

Thank you for your review

I was delighted you had such a good time, myself and the team always look forward to New Year as it is a lovely event full of such happy and friendly guests.

Best wishes for 2014

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

I had my wedding reception here on the 28th dec 2013 and i cant praise this hotel enough from the minute i booked it i had so much help from the staff to organise my perfect day! The room was decorated to perfection, i chose to have a sweety table which i brought in all the sweets the night before and how they made it look was incredible. The staff were so friendly and accomadating with every ones needs, the food was amazing everyone was offered more which some people took as they said it was so good. The rooms were spotless. The hotel is next to a busy road but we heard no noise. We even staid an extra night we enjoyed it that much.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sheree l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David C, General Manager at Mercure Hatfield Oak Hotel, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Dear Sheree,

Thank you for your kind review.

I was delighted you were looked after so well and enjoyed you wedding.

Best wishes and do keep in touch

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013

Hi,

Stayed here last night. On arrival i noticed how close this hotel is to a very busy main road, on seeing this i did ask for a room on the other side of the hotel. Good move as some of my work collogues got rooms facing the road and had to be moved due to road noise. Check in was quick and friendly. The rooms are much the same as Premier travel inns. The bar area was nice and modern and the bar staff were very friendly. We didn't eat in the restaurant. When i went to bed, well what can i say, the bed was terrible. Hard, lumpy, the pillows were very flat (which happens when their old), and the duvet was very thin. So come on spend some money on your beds and bedding, your clients will thank you for it and will come back. I don't be and none of my 9 collogues will be either, as they all said the same as me. Oh by the way nice breakfast

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank simon r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David C, General Manager at Mercure Hatfield Oak Hotel, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Dear Simon,

Thank you for your review.

I am sorry that you did not leave the hotel entirely satisfied, it is always our intention that guests will enjoy every element of their time with us.

Hotels are about many things and you are right a good breakfast and a decent bed are important. I was disappointed and surprised you did not like your bed as we have many positive comments about them, they are all good quality and were bought three years ago. I am aware you work for a company which supplies and manufactures beds and hope you will agree that individual opinions about them can be quite subjective.

We were full last night but once guests have departed we will be inspecting the bed in your room and those of your colleagues, and if required we will take the necessary action to ensure all guests enjoy a good quality bed when they stay with us.

I do hope you will stay with ourselves when you are next in the area and am pleased that you enjoyed our breakfast.

Best wishes

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hatfield
1.2 mi away
Beales Hatfield Hotel
Beales Hatfield Hotel
#1 of 6 in Hatfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 629 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ramada Hatfield
Ramada Hatfield
#5 of 6 in Hatfield
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,018 reviews
1.6 mi away
Premier Inn Hatfield Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Welwyn Garden City Homestead Court Hotel
BEST WESTERN Welwyn Garden City ...
#3 of 5 in Welwyn Garden City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
3.5 mi away
Premier Inn Welwyn Garden City Hotel
Premier Inn Welwyn Garden City H...
#2 of 5 in Welwyn Garden City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 629 reviews
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express St. Albans - M25, Jct. 22
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Hatfield Oak Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Hatfield Oak Hotel

Property: Mercure Hatfield Oak Hotel
Address: Roehyde Way, Hatfield AL10 9AF, England (Formerly Hatfield Oak Hotel )
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Hatfield
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Hatfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Hatfield Oak Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Hatfield Oak Hotel is ideal for the business or leisure traveller, close to three motorways, the hotel is just 3 minutes from Junction 23 of the M25, 1 minute from Junction 2 and 3 of the A1(M), and close to the M1. Easy access to central London, which is just 25 minutes away by train. The hotel has Free WiFi for all guests and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Booking.com, Lastminute, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Hatfield Oak Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Hatfield Oak Hotel Hertfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing