We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay. Slightly overpriced”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mercure Hatfield Oak Hotel
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Hatfield
Reviewed 28 May 2014

It was a clean and spacious room for what was paid, although the price of dining was expensive, especially if you haven't paid for your all inclusive. It would have been better if the hotel was in a well known location, it is hidden and runs alongside a motorway, not very ideal.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chantelle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (683)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

395 - 401 of 683 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2014

Stayed here for one night before we travelled to Luton airport.
Nice and comfy, staff very helpful and was cheap enough for us to travel from the west country instead of making one long journey.
Only had breakfast but that was fine and the staff did everything that they could to help as it was very busy that morning.
Rooms are fine for what you want and hotel is central enough for travel.
Would stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gromit89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Stayed before when it was with the focus group and before that. Still the same environment but spruced up a bit. Everything was as we had wished. Service was excellent even when a problem with shower, it was fixed within minutes. Only one query we booked for dinner B&B and could find nowhere on booking site that said that dinner was only 2 course- so we had to pay extra for the third. Not too much of a problem but it would be better to have that info on the site. The food quality and quantity was excellent.

Room Tip: Make sure that the shower works before re-letting the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Mercure Hotels
Thank Deirdre S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Stayed on a Saturday night. The hotel did not seem to be very full, and there was plenty of parking, We paid £80 for the night which included breakfast. We were upgraded to an exec room, which was excellent. This had a Nespresso coffee machine, complementary fruit and bottled water and slippers. The room was huge with a separate seating area. Breakfast was a mixture of buffet and cooked-to-order, and this was all very good quality with good staff.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We got married in Hatfield on Sat 3 May 2014 and hired the Orchard Room at the Mercure Hatfield Oak Hotel to have lunch afterwards with our 30 guests. We did not book a traditional wedding reception with a wedding cake etc. we just wanted to have a nice lunch with our families. Denise Turner, the Conference and Events Co-Ordinator, and Danny who is the restaurant supervisor were both very helpful and ensured that we had exactly what we wanted. My then fiancé and I had separate rooms at this hotel on the night before our wedding and then had a double room together on our wedding night. The rooms were clean and spacious and the breakfasts were good, although the serve yourself menu was rather limited for choice. When our wedding party arrived at the hotel at 1 pm we were met by the staff and shown into the Orchard Room, we had chosen the “open square” seating plan and this worked very well. I think that Danny was a little taken aback by our lack of formality for the occasion however he did his best to make us comfortable and to attend to the needs of our guests. We had chosen their Finger and Fork buffet and this was enjoyed by all our guests. The mini-desserts were so popular that when I returned to the buffet table I found that there was only fresh fruit left. I drew Danny’s attention to this and he immediately went to the kitchen to bring us just a few more servings. The weather was fine and some of our guests sat outside on the patios for a while. With hindsight we should have taken up the option of having the bar open in the Orchard Room. We had underestimated the sociability and drinking capacity of some of our guests, the last stragglers left the bar at about 9 pm. My husband and I, along with two guests, entered The Gallery Restaurant at 8.45 pm without a prior booking and we were served an excellent dinner. We all had a lovely day together at this hotel and I would recommend it highly.

Room Tip: Book a room as far as possible from the A1M.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GillianJ999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Clean spacious room, comfortable bed. Happy helpful staff who went the extra mile to ensure our stay was happy and trouble free. Good food, served efficiently (No unnecessary waiting) and the barman was a joy to chat with over a cool beer.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

Recently stayed for two nights. Rooms basic but more than adequate. Can't fault the staff here - they were so helpful and polite. Our stay included a full English breakfast and I couldn't fault the food or service. A lovely stay and would recommend this Hotel

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terrier888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hatfield
1.2 mi away
Travelodge Hatfield Central
1.2 mi away
Beales Hatfield Hotel
Beales Hatfield Hotel
#1 of 6 in Hatfield
680 reviews
1.6 mi away
Premier Inn Hatfield Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Best Western Welwyn Garden City Homestead Court Hotel
Best Western Welwyn Garden City ...
#3 of 5 in Welwyn Garden City
528 reviews
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express St. Albans - M25, Jct. 22
3.8 mi away
Sopwell House
Sopwell House
#3 of 10 in St Albans
2,391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Hatfield Oak Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Hatfield Oak Hotel

Address: Roehyde Way, Hatfield AL10 9AF, England (Formerly Hatfield Oak Hotel )
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Hatfield
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Hatfield
Price Range: £52 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Hatfield Oak Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Hatfield Oak Hotel is ideal for the business or leisure traveller. Close to three motorways, the hotel is just 3 minutes from Junction 23 of the M25, 1 minute from Junction 2 and 3 minutes from the A1M, as well as situated close to the M1. There is easy access to central London, which is just 25 minutes away by train. The airports of Luton, Stansted and Heathrow are also all within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Accorhotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure Hatfield Oak Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Hatfield Oak Hotel Hertfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing