We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mum and Daughter road trip!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mercure Hatfield Oak Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mercure Hatfield Oak Hotel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Hatfield
Certificate of Excellence
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Mum and Daughter road trip!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

I recently took my 87 years old Mum on a road trip, taking in Bletchley Park, St Albans, Warner Brothers Studio Tour (The Making of Harry Potter) and Berkhamstead Castle. LateRooms offered me the Mercure Hatfield Oak at a very reasonable price and I'm delighted that I chose this hotel.
It was central for all our trips, clean and has very friendly, welcoming staff.
The room was a long walk from reception - however with a low level hotel, this if often the case. The bed had been separated in to twins, as I had requested and there were ample towels and toiletries for us both. Clean bedding and bathroom are essentials for me and this room hit the mark.
All the staff we encountered were helpful and pleasant to deal with. The restaurant is excellent and the bar area offers a great alternative.
We certainly enjoyed our stay and would be happy to recommend.

Room Tip: If you have any mobility issues, there are 34 rooms on the ground floor - ask for one close to recep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VirgoLady19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katherine W, General Manager at Mercure Hatfield Oak Hotel, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Thank you for writing a review following your recent stay with us .
We are so happy you had such an enjoyable 'Road trip' , and hope you and your mum will visit us again soon.

Regards

Katherine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

593 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    242
    209
    95
    29
    18
See reviews for
73
227
22
145
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

What can we say - a perfect stay! Upgraded executive room, large spacious and comfortable. Excellent breakfast - the best range we've ever seen for a three star hotel and we are experienced travellers! 4 choices of juice + water, yoghurts, individual bowls of fresh fruit salad, fresh fruit, 6-7 cereals, croissants, danish pastries, cheeses, cooked meats, toast and full english breakfast (buffet style). Fellow trip advisors - if you don't like buffet breakfasts, don't stay at hotels that serve buffet breakfasts. For us this style works really well. Staff very friendly, a little naive and gauche around the edges but this is more than made up for by their hard work and willingness to help. A special mention to Dan (Food and Beverages Manager) who knows exactly what he is doing. The piece de resistance of this hotel, however, is the evening food. This chef seriously knows what he is doing. Quality food, superbly cooked - some of the best food we have ever eaten, comparable to some of the AA Rosette restaurants we have eaten in. The whole deal costing £94 each for two nights B&B, lunch each day (sandwiches and chips or soup), free drinks from 7pm-11pm and a superb 2-course evening meal each evening, as well, made this an outstanding deal. This hotel is definitely on our list to revisit

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lozzie2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katherine W, General Manager at Mercure Hatfield Oak Hotel, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Thank you so much for posting a review following your recent stay with us.

It was such a pleasure to read that you had such a wonderful experience, and the comments you made in respect to the food.

Here at the hotel we have a wonderful chef and with his team they prepare all food freshly cooked to order and have a real passion for what they are serving, we are glad you appreciated it.

Thank you once again, and we all look forward to welcoming you back to the Oak Hotel very soon .


Kind Regards

Katherine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire
Level Contributor
191 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

I stayed with a friend here last weekend and was really pleased with this hotel. I had called to inform them that we would be a bit early and would really appreciate the room being ready as we had a wedding to get to. I was very happy when we arrived that the room was ready, very clean and the staff were super friendly. I had a very comfortable nights stay and would definitely recommend this hotel as it is in a good location and does the job perfectly!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jennjob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katherine W, General Manager at Mercure Hatfield Oak Hotel, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Thank you for writing a review following your stay.

We are so plaesed you had an enjoyable evening, and hope we can welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards

Katherine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

Very enjoyable break spent with friends. Staff very attentive and friendly....nothing too much trouble especially receptionist, Gunita, Katrine and Grace .Management should be proud of all their staff at Hatfield .Rooms were comfortable,clean and quiet.No complaints and we shall return.

Room Tip: Our room at the back of the hotel was quiet. Ask for a fan if room is too hot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katherine W, General Manager at Mercure Hatfield Oak Hotel, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Thank you so much for yur kind comments following your recent sstay with us here at The Mecure Oak Hotel.

We are so glad you and your friends had such a pleasant stay, andwe hope to see you all again soon.

Kind Regards

Katherine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

Stayed here on all inclusive basis with friends for 2 nights. What a hidden gem!
We were greeted by a lovely receptionist and even though we were a little early for our 12 noon check in she arranged with the very shy but efficient and friendly Gunita to serve us coffee. We spent a very enjoyable afternoon at Hatfield House, so much history there.
We returned to our hotel in the evening and had an excellent meal from quite an extensive a la carte menu (no limit on choice because we were all inclusive) with great friendly, efficient and professional service from Katrine and the other staff. After that, into the bar for our all inclusive drinks package served by Grace from Bewdley another great member of staff. (They must have searched high and low for this team, every single one was very friendly, helpful and polite and nothing was too much trouble.)
We went on the local bus into St Albans and had a lovely day there, calling into the tourist info office where they did us a great deal for £8 each for train into London including unlimited tube and bus travel for the day. (Railway station short taxi ride £7.50 for 6 seater each way)
Our hotel room was very well stocked with toiletries and very clean with everything we needed. Only comment we could make, but not complaint, was lack of handrail on wall in bathroom to help when getting out of shower.
Will definitely be returning to this hotel in future instead of paying much more in London. By the time we left the staff were like friends and came to wish us a safe journey home. Thank you all for such a lovely experience, hopefully we will see you again shortly.

Room Tip: We had room on ground floor overlooking rear and it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Judith W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katherine W, General Manager at Mercure Hatfield Oak Hotel, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Thank you so much for tyaking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us we very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Mercure Hatfield Oak. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team, especially Gunita, Grace and Katrine. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Kind Regards

Katherine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Booked for business. Nicely set out, comfy beds, good food. The breakfast buffet was generous if a bit generic.The only downside is that being by the A1 (which is very handy) it was a bit noisy. I was woken up by a coach that was parked outside my bedroom window just before 8am on the Saturday morning. Another drawback is that there isn't any air conditioning, and I couldn't open the window because of the traffic noise. Maybe at the next upgrade they could consider improving the double glazing and ventilation? All in all it''s good value for the price - ok for a night on business but not sure I'd choose it for leisure.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katherine W, General Manager at Mercure Hatfield Oak Hotel, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Thank you for writing a review, I am plesaed that generalky you had a pleasant stay with us, however I am sorry that you were disturbed by the noise in the car park and the main road.
We have also noted your comments to air conditioning in the bedrooms.

I hope when you are next visting on business yiou would consider using again.

Kind Regards

Katherine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hatfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

Booked for visiting friends. Check in was easy, the staff were lovely. Rooms are well equipped and the beds are comfortable. Would use again and recommend to anyone. It's not walking distance to the nearby stations but it's a short taxi ride so getting into London is easy.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alexandra R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katherine W, General Manager at Mercure Hatfield Oak Hotel, responded to this review, 23 September 2014
We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Mercure Hatfield Oak. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.


Thank you again for sharing your experience, we hope we can welcome you back to the hotel soon.

Regards

Katherine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hatfield
1.2 mi away
Beales Hatfield Hotel
Beales Hatfield Hotel
#1 of 6 in Hatfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ramada Hatfield
Ramada Hatfield
#5 of 6 in Hatfield
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,005 reviews
1.6 mi away
Premier Inn Hatfield Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Travelodge Hatfield Central
3.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Welwyn Garden City Homestead Court Hotel
BEST WESTERN Welwyn Garden City ...
#3 of 5 in Welwyn Garden City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
3.2 mi away
Premier Inn Welwyn Garden City Hotel
Premier Inn Welwyn Garden City H...
#2 of 5 in Welwyn Garden City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Hatfield Oak Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Hatfield Oak Hotel

Property: Mercure Hatfield Oak Hotel
Address: Roehyde Way, Hatfield AL10 9AF, England (Formerly Hatfield Oak Hotel )
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Hatfield
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Hatfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Hatfield Oak Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Hatfield Oak Hotel is ideal for the business or leisure traveller, close to three motorways, the hotel is just 3 minutes from Junction 23 of the M25, 1 minute from Junction 2 and 3 of the A1(M), and close to the M1. Easy access to central London, which is just 25 minutes away by train. The hotel has Free WiFi for all guests and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Lastminute, Odigeo, Hotels.com and ACCOR so you can book your Mercure Hatfield Oak Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Hatfield Oak Hotel Hertfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing