We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing but praise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Beales Hatfield Hotel
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Hatfield
Certificate of Excellence
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
487 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 355 helpful votes
“Nothing but praise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

We stayed here using Amazon Local Vouchers for three nights over August Bank Holiday, and we really had a most enjoyable stay.

We were passing the hotel on our way to London, thought we would see if we could check in, even though it was only 11a.m. We were checked in very quickly, and our room was ready. Only slight niggle we asked for a newspaper each morning, but the receptionist forgot to write it down (no big deal a short walk away is a newsagent)

We had asked for a twin bedded room, in a quiet location, and that is exactly what we got, a nice room, not overly big but everything you would need for a comfortable stay, a nice Samsung flat screen TV with sky sports which pleased my husband no end as he was able to watch the cricket!!!! The bathroom had a nice bath with a shower screen so no mopping up water on the floor, nice toiletries replaced each day.

Our first two nights included a meal in the Outsidein restaurant, they were both superb, the food was very high quality, and pipping hot, served by very friendly staff, breakfast was help yourself and made a very nice change to have the buffet food actually hot, and the bacon not swimming in fat but nice and dry.

We had a really good stay, so much so we have booked to stay there over the Christmas period so we can be near our family and friends.

Shame there is only one disabled parking bay near the reception.

Room Tip: Ask for room overlooking the car park at rear if you want a quiet room. Need to book in for dinner a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacandhow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew B, Owner at Beales Hatfield Hotel, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
Wow what a super review of Beales Hotel, thank you so much !

I am delighted that we looked after you so well on your visit from Bedford.

It was a pleasure to look after you.

Sorry about our omission of the newspaper, and just a minor correction - we have 3 accessible parking spaces, one near the front door of the hotel, two near the back door, all within easy level reach of the hotel reception.

Do come again, it would be a great pleasure to welcome you both back !

With kindest regards,

Andrew Beale
Managing Director
Beales Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

628 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    319
    208
    75
    15
    11
See reviews for
74
297
23
138
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Norwich
Level Contributor
81 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

Booked with secret escape so was a lot cheaper than normal, certainly wouldn't have paid full rate . It's a modern and clean hotel just wished the room had been larger, felt cramped.
Upon looking I see the executive rooms are larger, but didn't know this. There was everything in room needed but no mini bar/fridge.
Breakfast was ok and evening meal but as I am not into fancy food had to make do with the burger.
No pool you can go to the gym down the road.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fishnorwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew B, Manager at Beales Hatfield Hotel, responded to this review, 27 August 2013
Thank you for your review of Beales Hotel.

I am sorry that you felt the rooms were cramped as we feel the rooms are a comfortable size. However, as you mention we do have larger executive rooms, these are well publicised throughout our hotel information and can be booked over the phone or internet.

In regards to the food, we do try to cater for all tastes as we have a diverse mix of customers. We do have dishes like curry, burger, steak and Caesar salad to name a few in addition to our standard restaurant menu but I am sorry you felt nothing appealed to you.

Kind regards
Chris Hall
General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Europe
Level Contributor
74 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013

It appears to be a modern design hotel but it is somewhow not. The lobby and staris are nice and all, but the room was not the top standard I would expect from a hotel of this price. We got a room far from the elevators and on the top (first) floor, as we requested, but the room was rather dark with unstable floor (failing wood?!). The staff was nice. What we were really excited about was the option to book your room with breakfast and dinner, so we did that. The restaurant had great service and the meals were ok. However, no one bothers to tell you that your room rate does not include drinks. It is not mentioned in the reservation and certainly not in the restaurant. Only afterwards you find out that the drinks (water!) you had for dinner cost a fortune, so that was dissapointing - not that we would have to pay for drinks, but I would like to know beforehand.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zlaton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew B, Manager at Beales Hatfield Hotel, responded to this review, 27 August 2013
Many thanks for your review.

I am sorry that there appeared to be a defect with the floor in your room. I have been unable to trace your booking from your profile but if you email me with the room number I will investigate the issue.

In regards to the non-inclusion of drinks I am sorry that you felt this misleading. I have reviewed the descriptions of our dinner, bed & breakfast packages and I don’t believe they are ambiguous as they don’t state that they are all inclusive packages. We do give a complimentary bottle of water per person in all of our bedrooms and of course we do serve jugs of water at meal times at a diner’s request.

Kind regards
Chris Hall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northwich
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

Following an efficient and speedy check in at reception we headed to our ground floor room which was a good size with modern bathroom fitiings. We particularly liked the under floor heating in the bathroom! However, the bedroom itself was tired and in need of some tlc. The carpet was in need of a good clean and the wallpaper replacing. The bed was comfortable but the pillows very thin so we may as well have done without. Given that this was a a special anniversary which the hotel were aware of and had actually congratulated us on arrival we were surprised to find that we only had one lot of towels, one lot of wine, water, robe and slippers. We reported this to the reception desk on our way out and when we returned additional towels, robe and slippers had been delivered but alas no wine or water. The most surprising event however was breakfast where there was no one to meet and greet you when we arrived and in the absence of any staff whatsoever we proceeded to help ourselves. We were part way through our meal when one member of staff appeared and attended to us. I have never stayed anywhere where there have been no staff in the dining room and certainly not in a 4 star hotel. Overall the stay was ok but it could have been better.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hairbrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew B, Manager at Beales Hatfield Hotel, responded to this review, 27 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of Beales Hotel.

I do apologise that you felt the bedroom was tired. We do have a proactive program of bedroom redecoration and every bedroom gets redecorated annually. In terms of the carpets we have replaced a number in the last few months and intend to do more as needed. We also carpet clean the rooms on a regular basis– please email me with your room number and I will inspect this room personally and add it to the top of our program of cleaning.

In terms of your arrival I am pleased we congratulated you on your anniversary. However of course communication between reception and housekeeping in regards to the number of people in the room should have been better. I am glad we responded by bringing up extra items but nevertheless we should have also brought up more water/wine – if you’d asked we would have brought these up also.

Our standard is to have one person greeting guests at the door of the restaurant. On quieter mornings, there are occasions where the person who meets and greets at the door has to leave their station. It is a rare occurrence and I do hope that the service was good despite you having to seat yourselves.

Kind regards
Chris Hall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

We booked our wedding reception at Beales this August (2013). The hotel staff were brilliant in the run up to the wedding - particularly Akasha who helped us plan all the details of the day and Keiran who was the food and drink manager on the day.

The afternoon / evening reception went incredibly well. We had eaten in the restaurant before and the food was lovely, but my fear was that the quality may not be quite as good when upscaling for 100+ guests. I didn't need to worry at all! The meal was excellent, and we had many guests comment on the quality of the food. The staff who waited on the tables were very good too. The room looked lovely.

The hotel organised a private breakfast the next morning for all the guests staying which I was impressed with. As far as I know, everyone was very happy with their rooms! Although the location is opposite The Galleria, the decor and atmosphere in the hotel more than makes up for it.

We couldn't recommend this hotel for a wedding reception more - very friendly and helpful staff, excellent value for money and lovely food!

Room Tip: We had a room on the ground floor - we were very happy with it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claire E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew B, Owner at Beales Hatfield Hotel, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review of Beales Hotel and many congratulations on your marriage and wedding at the hotel.

It was a joy to host your wedding with us, and I am so glad it all went off so well.

Akasha and Kieran are both highly experienced, and the team in the kitchen headed up by Diego and Phil did us proud on the food quality.

I am so glad that you will have happy memories of a magic day for you both at the hotel.

Do come back on your anniversary - it will be a pleasure to welcome you back again !

With kindest regards,

Andrew Beale
Managing Director
Beales Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
suffolk
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

Spent a Saturday night at the hotel for an anniversary and must say the experience was very good from reception sign in/out, to room quality and particularly the food (which was excellent). Would recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikehSuffolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew B, Owner at Beales Hatfield Hotel, responded to this review, 15 August 2013
Thank you for your kind review of Beales Hotel.

I am so glad you enjoyed a good Saturday night, and were happy with all aspects of your stay.

The food is a particular speciality at Beales Hotel, and under the guidance of Diego Granada, Head Chef and Phil Macrides Sous Chef, we have won two AA rosettes for our cuisine, something perhaps unexpected in this corner of Hatfield.

Do come again next time you are down from Suffolk, it would be a pleasure to welcome you back to stunning Beales Hotel.

With kindest regards,

Andrew Beale
Managing Director
Beales Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, UK
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

We booked our stay here through Secret escapes and the deal included b & b and evening meal. The whole experience was brilliant. Rooms are modern and clean with everything you need. Bed was too soft for us but a quick call to reception and they put a bed board on which firmed it up perfectly.
Food was amazing especially the 3 course evening meal. We recommend the scallops. Breakfast choice was very good too and sets you up for the day. All the staff were friendly.
To sum up. The quality of this hotel and the food served, Beales cannot be beaten without paying an awefull lot more money. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank claude998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew B, Owner at Beales Hatfield Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2013
Thank you for your kind review of Beales Hotel following your visit to us on a Secret Escapes deal.

I am glad we looked after you well, and that we were able to add a bed board to make your bed firmer. We have also added deluxe Gaillarde mattress toppers to all our Hypnos beds to make them even more comfortable.

Do come again soon when you are next up this way from Swindon, and keep an eye on our website where we have a constant run of similar deals available.

With kindest regards,

Andrew Beale
Managing Director
Beales Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hatfield
1.2 mi away
Mercure Hatfield Oak Hotel
7.3 mi away
West Lodge Park Hotel
0.2 mi away
Ramada Hatfield
Ramada Hatfield
#5 of 6 in Hatfield
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,017 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Hatfield Hotel
4.1 mi away
Sopwell House
Sopwell House
#3 of 9 in St Albans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,072 reviews
4.7 mi away
Tewin Bury Farm Hotel
Tewin Bury Farm Hotel
#1 of 5 in Welwyn Garden City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beales Hatfield Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beales Hatfield Hotel

Property: Beales Hatfield Hotel
Address: Comet Way, Hatfield AL10 9NG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Hatfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Hatfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Beales Hatfield Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunning contemporary four star hotel, built in 2004, independently owned and run by the nine generation Beale family, with award winning cuisine, restaurant and bar, 53 bedrooms with modern facilities, excellent conference and banqueting areas, free unlimited parking. Over 130 original works of art throughout the building. Free membership of the Hertfordshire Sports Village (large pool, gym etc) less than 5 minutes walk away. Quiet location despite such a central position in Hatfield. Close to Hatfield House, St Albans, Knebworth House and trains to London. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Beales Hatfield Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beales Hotel Hatfield
Hatfield Beales Hotel
Beales Hatfield Hotel Hertfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing