We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very happy.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Beales Hatfield Hotel
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Hatfield
Certificate of Excellence
Hatfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very happy.”
Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

Came here last minute for my bboyfriends birthday treat after I made a booking at a different hotel and had to walk out as it was shambolic. Called Beales and was given a quote for a brilliant deal for dinner bed and breakfast. Everything was flawless from the check in with the lovely receptionist to the delicious breakfast in the morning. The three course meal alone we received In the restaurant was worth the £45 we paid each for the whole stay, the food was excellent and every mouthful was bliss. Every member of staff we encountered were polite and well trained. So glad we ended up here!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LizzieEllingford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew B, Owner at Beales Hatfield Hotel, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Thank you for your kind review of Beales Hotel !

I am so glad you ended up with us after the shambles at the other hotel.

We do have amazing dinner bed and breakfast offers (have a look at the special offers page of our website for details), and we generally have these offers going on Fridays to Sundays when we are a bit quieter.

Do come again, I am so delighted that every aspect of your stay was so satisfactory.

With kind regards,

Andrew Beale
Managing Director
Beales Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

656 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    331
    215
    81
    17
    12
See reviews for
79
310
25
143
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Abbots Langley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013

My wife and I had a booked lunch time meal at Beales Inside Out on 21st November.

We were very worried when we walked in as the restaurant was empty, and I could not find anybody to look after us.
After about 5 minutes waiting, I went to the back of the room and found a waiter.
He offered me every table in the room. We chose a table and proceeded to order our drinks and meal.
Obviously we had fantastic service, and were realy surprised as food was great. The chef even did a special sweet for my wife as it was her birthday. A nice touch.
Why with such good food was it empty.
We had our coffee in the bar, just to be with other people.
I would go again but would be worried about the atmosphere.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank neilann44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew B, Owner at Beales Hatfield Hotel, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Thank you for your detailed review of Beales Hotel.

I am sorry that we were unattended in the Outsidein Restaurant on your arrival, this should of course not be the case and I will have words with the team.

However I am pleased that we looked after you well from then on, and that you found the food worthy of its awards.

It would be a pleasure to welcome you back, if you are worried about the number booked on a particular lunchtime or evening, just ask and we will give you the answer without hesitation.

With kind regards,

Andrew Beale
Managing Director
Beales Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Special birthday and had the choice of 2 rooms - one traditional the other 4 smaller conference rooms that opened up into a larger but more personal area.
Lots of help from the hotel staff to arrange /set up - Great local band, Junction sixteen and close up magician, Lee Smith.
All staff we came into contact with were very helpful - from check in to the barman who was still rushing around serving at 4 am !
Large room and bathroom with quality toiletries and special bed ! Massive and so comfy !
Breakfast also excellent. Special rate for the party group made the whole experience good for all who stayed over - some went shopping in the Galleria opposite whilst others went to Hatfield House for some culture. Would I stay here again ? Without a doubt

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Courtgazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew B, Owner at Beales Hatfield Hotel, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
It was such a pleasure to host your special birthday party at the weekend, and thank you for subsequent complimentary communication with me that I have passed on to all the Beales Hotel team.

It goes without saying that it would be a great joy to welcome you all or some of you back again on a future occasion, whether for a full blown party like at the weekend, or for a more low key occasion.

I am glad that some of your party headed off for the Galleria and others to Hatfield House. This shows how the area can cater for all needs.

For me, visiting a shopping centre is worse than a trip to the dentist, but I know plenty of people who would say the same thing about the medieval splendour of Hatfield House which would keep me happily engrossed for hours !

Come back soon, and many congratulations for the "special birthday", the exact number being strictly private and confidential !

Kindest regards,

Andrew Beale
Managing Director
Beales Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Well designed, clean and attractive rooms, quality towels, comfy beds, friendly and helpful staff, interesting art work around the hotel, good food. Only criticism a heated towel rail in the bathroom would have been good. Very quiet, no noise at night from surrounding roads - must be very well soundproofed. A modern and attractive hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank loveturkeyYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew B, Owner at Beales Hatfield Hotel, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Thank you for your kind review of Beales Hotel.

I am delighted that we looked after you so well and that everything was to your satisfaction.

I am particularly pleased to hear that you found the hotel bedrooms quiet, they are built to a good standard, and are to the rear of the hotel in any case.

Cleanliness, and quiet are the two priorities for our guests above everything else, and I am so glad we succeeded in this during your stay.

Kind regards,

Andrew Beale
Managing Director
Beales Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

We stayed here on 16 November for a family member's birthday. To be fair, I'm writing this review after visiting Thailand and the standard of hotels there is hard to beat. However, having read that this was the best hotel in Hatfield etc etc and so many had given it four or five stars, myself and my family were expecting a lot. It was perfectly adequate but no way was it up to scratch compared to most other four star hotels we have stayed in in the UK. Firstly, when we arrived there was a wedding going on and the beginning of the reception seemed to be taking place in the small reception! The crowds and noise level was ridiculously deafening and we could hardly get to the desk with our luggage - not a great way to arrive (remember first impressions count). The staff were friendly enough, lots of sympathetic eyebrow raising, though at check in - in fact on the whole, the staff were relaxed and friendly although I didn't have too much interaction with them. The rooms - we had two opposite each other were tiny I thought and kind of smacked of business rather than the leisure traveller. The bathroom was OK but the basin was minuscule, basic toiletries and there was a useless makeup mirror (my sad barometer for a great hotel room along with hooks in the bathroom!) No mini bar but tea/coffee making facilities and some interesting biscuits. The party was great - the food was good and I slept OK and importantly the hotel wasn't overheated like many are. Breakfast the next day looked like it offered much but some of it was a bit tasteless - namely, according to my 13 year old son, the sausages! Overall, it was fine but not really four stars in my view. I wouldn't rush back.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rita29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew B, Owner at Beales Hatfield Hotel, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Thank you for your review of Beales Hotel.

Naturally I am sorry that your first impression was of a crowded reception area. We will try and keep our function guests further apart in future.

I can't agree with you that the bedrooms are tiny - they in fact vary between 21 and 25 m2 and are designed to a high standard with new flat screen TVs that take up hardly any space on the wall, desks that are much longer than the average, dedicated coffee making facilities along with iron and ironing board, queen size bed, decent wardrobe with shelving, etc.

Hotels are being built in London now with rooms no more than 12 to 15 m2. Perhaps in contrast to your recent Thailand experience we were a little below size ?

We have at least one hook in every bathroom, and the rather natty washbasins are Italian, we have never had a comment before about the size of them.

The sausages come hand made from our Essex producer and local butcher.

Our AA Four star rating comes complete with two AA Rosettes and a very high 79% quality rating making us the highest rated four star hotel in Hertfordshire.

We are sorry you won't be coming back, but assure all our Tripadvisor readers of our absolute dedication to quality each and every day, as the oldest family business in Hertfordshire, and because my family name is above the door.

Kind regards,

Andrew Beale
Managing Director
Beales Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Stayed here for a family birthday on the 23rd november very well run hotel directly opposite the Galeria shopping centre clean tidy and friendly team rooms are larger than I expected which was a pleasant surprise,the bed was very very comfortable Great breakfast excellent choice !! friendly team throughout the hotel we were all made very welcome thank you all for making our stay

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank foodbarhotelreviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew B, Owner at Beales Hatfield Hotel, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Thank you for your kind review of Beales Hotel.

I am so glad your family birthday stay was a success and that you were warmly welcomed to the hotel.

I was particularly pleased that you found the bed comfortable. They are made by Hypnos, reputedly the most comfortable beds in the world, but we also top them with a deluxe Gaillarde mattress topper for additional luxury.

Do come again to Beales Hotel, whether for a birthday celebration, or for no special reason at all !

With kind regards,

Andrew Beale
Managing Director
Beales Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchcombe, UK
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

Comfy, modern, & well provided rooms & public spaces.

Decent bar food (Beales burger & cheese platter enjoyed!)

Only downsides = 'view' over roof tops to motorway and shopping mall! Plus low level, background - but audible - traffic noise. (Didn't however interfere with sleeping)

Good to see university of Herts student artwork on prominent display throughout hotel; and clear local sourcing of food :)

Room Tip: Suggest NOT a room facing front/towards M-way & Galleria!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ArmenianJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew B, Owner at Beales Hatfield Hotel, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Thank you for your review of Beales Hotel.

I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you found the bedrooms, public spaces and food all to your liking.

The views at the hotel are not the most glorious (for that you must pay a visit to our West Lodge Park Hotel set in 35 acres of beautiful grounds !), but all our bedrooms are to the rear of the hotel well away from the road.

I am pleased that you noticed the local artworks from the students and staff of the Fine Art department of the University of Hertfordshire - we now have over 130 original works of art, and the bedrooms are each named after the artwork within.

And local food is something of great importance to us, with much of our produce coming from farmers and suppliers well known to us in Hertfordshire.

Do come again, it will be a pleasure to welcome you back to Beales Hotel !

Kind regards,

Andrew Beale
Managing Director
Beales Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hatfield
1.2 mi away
Mercure Hatfield Oak Hotel
7.4 mi away
West Lodge Park Hotel
0.2 mi away
Ramada Hatfield
Ramada Hatfield
#5 of 6 in Hatfield
1,060 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Hatfield Central
4.1 mi away
Sopwell House
Sopwell House
#3 of 10 in St Albans
2,226 reviews
2.6 mi away
Best Western Welwyn Garden City Homestead Court Hotel
Best Western Welwyn Garden City ...
#3 of 5 in Welwyn Garden City
496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beales Hatfield Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beales Hatfield Hotel

Property: Beales Hatfield Hotel
Address: Comet Way, Hatfield AL10 9NG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Hatfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Hatfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Beales Hatfield Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunning contemporary four star hotel, built in 2004, independently owned and run by the nine generation Beale family, with award winning cuisine, restaurant and bar, 53 bedrooms with modern facilities, excellent conference and banqueting areas, free unlimited parking with high speed electric charging for all models of electric cars. Over 130 original works of art throughout the building. Free membership of the Hertfordshire Sports Village (large pool, gym etc) less than 5 minutes walk away. Quiet location despite such a central position in Hatfield. Close to Hatfield House, St Albans, Knebworth House and trains to London. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Superbreak UK, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Beales Hatfield Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beales Hotel Hatfield
Hatfield Beales Hotel
Beales Hatfield Hotel Hertfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing