We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, modern hotel with great food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Beales Hatfield Hotel
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Hatfield
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 February 2014

We stayed here as a lovely weekend break thanks to a TravelZoo deal. It was a very good price and we had a great stay overall. It's a 10min drive to St Albans city centre (which is lovely) and right by the Galleria outlet centre, which was good to wander around.

Our dinner was very tasty - I highly recommend the ice cream for dessert; it was the best either of us had ever tasted. The hotel is obviously proud (and rightly so) of its local produce and artwork from local artists, which is a nice touch. Breakfast was also delicious and good quality. A lot of the food had gone (and wasn't replaced) by 10am, but that serves us right for not getting up earlier. I would advise you to be careful of the plates - they were absolutely boiling hot, to the point where I hurt myself and we could only hold them with napkins.

The room unfortunately wasn't as clean as I had hoped. The first bad sign was that the toilet hadn't been flushed (maybe not even cleaned, then?!) before our arrival - not what you want to be greeted with! There were also a few stains here and there on cushions. Other than that, the hotel seemed clean and well-kept. The bar is small, but it was very quiet - we were the only people there. There was a good selection of wines and they were a reasonable price, plus it was nice to be able to order a carafe.

Check-in and check-out was very speedy and the staff was friendly. All in all, a nice stay.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 321Manda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew B, Owner at Beales Hatfield Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Thank you for your review of Beales Hotel.

I am glad we looked after you so well after the initial hiatus with the housekeeping issues. Sorry about that.

Fortunately things improved with the dinner and breakfast.

The ice cream comes from Manor Farm Creamery near Bury St Edmunds. You can find them online if you look for Criterion Ices. They are a third generation family producer of Italian origin (where else ?!).

I am glad you were able to make the most of the local area too - St Albans is so near, the Galleria shopping centre directly opposite, and Hatfield House is a must see just a few minutes away.

Do come again, it would be a pleasure to welcome you back to Beales Hotel.

Kind regards,

Andrew Beale
Managing Director
Beales Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (660)
There are newer reviews for Beales Hatfield Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

323 - 329 of 660 reviews

Reviewed 25 February 2014

Wow, definitely staying there again. We started visiting Hatfield at least twice a year since 2012. Been staying at the Ramada because Beale was fully booked on these occasions. I was surprised when Booking.com showed Beale had rooms available.
1. Check in staff was fantastic. Took all but 5 minutes!;
2. Room was well appointed, clean and comfortable;
3. Room service fast and staff courteous;
4. Breakfast was OK but loved the ambience!;
5. Check out was fast too! But staff got to be careful because they nearly gave me a free stay!
Pointed out that Booking.com just reserved the room but the hotel will charge me when I
check out.
All in all, hotel and staff were fantastic. Thank you.

Room Tip: Get the classic room if you're travelling as a couple. Ample space even with three big luggage!
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teresayee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew B, Owner at Beales Hatfield Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

Thank you so much for your kind review of Beales Hotel.

I am so glad we had space for you, and that you were able to stay with us rather than with the Ramada which is sadly a failing hotel these days.

It will be a pleasure to welcome you again to the hotel in the future, and there is generally availability both midweek and at weekends, but do try booking via our website where there is often a bit of late availability that hasn't translated to booking.com.

In the meantime enjoy Kuala Lumpur, which I am guessing is very nice at this time of year !

With kindest regards,

Andrew Beale
Managing Director
Beales Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014 via mobile

Good modern hotel which offers all the facilities required like bar, restaurant and gym. It is also well connected to the motorways and is well positioned with lots restaurants nearby. The rooms are of a quite good standard, modern and have comfortable beds. The major let down is that they don't feel clean. My room had stains all over the carpet, bits all over and a toothpick on the floor. The bathroom was a bit dirty as well with grime accumulated between plug hole and sink and run marks under the toilet seat. The bed was carelessly made as well with the sheet not properly covering the mattress -no one wants to sleep with their head near an exposed mattress in a hotel. Therefore rather than enjoying a 3 night stay I spent my time avoiding the stains and dirty carpets.

Unfortunately this isn't good enough especially when the room rate was £150/night so to the directors who proudly display their photos on the wall you need to get more hands on and deal with these basic issues even if that means inspecting the rooms yourselves.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank BarryFromTheMountain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew B, Owner at Beales Hatfield Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Thank you for your review of Beales Hotel.

I am sorry that housekeeping was so disappointing at the outset.

I am troubled by the fact that you said you were in the room for 3 days avoiding the stains and dirty carpets.

I hope you said something to our reception team, it would have been fixed immediately we were aware of the problem.

The same would apply in any hotel, and to anyone staying in a hotel - sometimes things go amiss, (and I am sorry they weren't correct in your case). But all hotels rely on their guests to bring things to their attention.

We will fix things immediately that this is notified to us, either by sending in a housekeeping team to blitz the room, or by moving you to another room.

The reputation of housekeeping at Beales Hotel is very high, but I am sorry that we fell down in this instance.

Regards,

Andrew Beale
Managing Director
Beales Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

We stayed on 1st February for one night with family, we found the staff excellent, the rooms well appointed, food to a very good standard, overall our stay was a good experience and we would be happy to return in the future.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andywoodward2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew B, Owner at Beales Hatfield Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

Thank you for your kind review of Beales Hotel.

I am so glad we looked after you well as a family.

We would not call ourselves a "family hotel" with childrens' ball pits, playground, colouring pads and crayons etc.

However we do have lots of intercommunicating rooms, childrens menu in the restaurant, discounts for children, high chairs etc, and special rates for those families visiting the Warner Brothers Harry Potter Studio tour with Superbreaks.

It will be a pleasure to welcome you all back down from Manchester next time you are in the Hatfield area !

With kind regards,

Andrew Beale
Managing Director
Beales Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

We visited Beales Hotel on a Winter Break special offer in order to take a look at the hotel and speak to staff about the possibility of a group booking later in the year. We were extremely impressed, both with the hotel accommodation and with the service and food. Our room was large and immaculate, as was the bathroom, which had plenty of space to put our toiletries, something we’ve often found lacking in other hotels. The bed was very comfortable and we had a good night’s sleep: our room was at the back and there was no traffic noise to disturb us. The staff were very professional and extremely helpful and friendly. Our meal was delicious and the whole experience was excellent value for money. The manager was very accommodating about arrangements for our group and needless to say, we booked for the event and we’re sure the other guests will enjoy it too.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Moville047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew B, Owner at Beales Hatfield Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Thank you for your kind review of Beales Hotel.

I am so glad that you found all aspects of your stay so satisfactory.

We are a very long standing family business, the oldest in Hertfordshire, and when one is organising a group event, it is important to know who you are dealing with, something that is not always the case with the chain hotels, which seem to change ownership or branding every few years.

It is good to do a recce prior to a group visit, and I have no doubt that the main event will prove to be successful later this year.

It will be a pleasure to welcome you all back to the hotel,

With kind regards,

Andrew Beale
Managing Director
Beales Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

The hotel was of high quality with excellent accommodation, delicious food and friendly attentive staff and all at a very reasonable price and great value. This is an ideal situation for visiting nearby St Albans. Large shopping centre with cinema opposite hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dennisjmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew B, Owner at Beales Hatfield Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2014

Thank you for your kind review of Beales Hotel.

I am so glad you had a good break and in particular were able to make full use of the good location for the different attractions in the local area.

We are right opposite the Galleria Shopping Centre which comes complete with an Odeon Multiplex cinema. Hatfield House is just 5 minutes drive away and well worth a visit.

You went to St Albans which is all of 10 minutes away, and noted for its superb Norman Cathedral and Roman museum and ruins at Verulamium as well as the Saturday market.

So glad you had a good trip, do come again soon, it will be a pleasure to welcome you back to this lovely hotel.

Kind regards,

Andrew Beale
Managing Director
Beales Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

Had a deal with travel zoo which was £89 for the night including three course dinner and breakfast which was amazing value for money. The hotel was lovely and clean, really nice bar area and the food in the restaurant was amazing (love the tree wallpaper) and all of the staff were happy, fun and really helpful. Would definitely go again. Slightly noisy from the traffic which is my only criticism

Stayed: February 2014
2  Thank Michi099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew B, Owner at Beales Hatfield Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2014

Thank you for your kind review of Beales Hotel.

I am delighted we looked after you so well, and that you found all aspects of your stay to be so satisfactory, particularly after the review below yours which we couldn't really comprehend.

The Beales hotel food continues to impress, with amazing blackboard specials, and a long list of very local suppliers to ensure the highest quality of food with no long supply chain.

Do come back soon, we have Valentines coming up this week, Mothers Day lunch next month, and more great offers online on our website !

Kind regards,

Andrew Beale
Managing Director
Beales Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hatfield
1.2 mi away
Mercure Hatfield Oak Hotel
7.4 mi away
West Lodge Park Hotel
0.2 mi away
Ramada Hatfield
Ramada Hatfield
#5 of 6 in Hatfield
1,069 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Hatfield Central
4.1 mi away
Sopwell House
Sopwell House
#4 of 10 in St Albans
2,262 reviews
2.6 mi away
Best Western Welwyn Garden City Homestead Court Hotel
Best Western Welwyn Garden City ...
#3 of 5 in Welwyn Garden City
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beales Hatfield Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beales Hatfield Hotel

Address: Comet Way, Hatfield AL10 9NG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Hatfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Hatfield
Price Range: £82 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Beales Hatfield Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunning contemporary four star hotel, built in 2004, independently owned and run by the nine generation Beale family, with award winning cuisine, restaurant and bar, 53 bedrooms with modern facilities, excellent conference and banqueting areas, free unlimited parking with high speed electric charging for all models of electric cars. Over 130 original works of art throughout the building. Free membership of the Hertfordshire Sports Village (large pool, gym etc) less than 5 minutes walk away. Quiet location despite such a central position in Hatfield. Close to Hatfield House, St Albans, Knebworth House and trains to London. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Superbreak UK, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Beales Hatfield Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beales Hotel Hatfield
Hatfield Beales Hotel
Beales Hatfield Hotel Hertfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing