We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It would have been very good, if not for a rubbish mattress”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Beales Hatfield Hotel
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Hatfield
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Beales is a contemporary hotel just opposite the Galleria shopping centre. Large car park and set back from the road. The room was large, clean and well presented as was the en suite. I was surprised at how quiet the room was, especially at night but did I sleep well? No! The mattress totally undermined the image the hotel is trying to present. Old, lumpy and with small feathers coming out of it. So soft that both my wife and I rolled down the V and ended up in the middle. It was like trying to sleep on a steep bank, rubbish!
Breakfast in the morning was very good and the food nice and fresh, a difficult thing to achieve for a small hotel with no much turn over in the morning.
The bar is small and not too pricey for hotel.
All the staff were very polite and nothing was too much trouble, or so it seemed.
Real shame that the mattress destroyed my nights sleep and thus my enjoyment of my stay. Would I go again, that would depend on getting a nice new firm mattress!
Apparently they are in the middle of replacing all the mattresses (or so they said when we checked out).

Room Tip: Make sure you get a firm mattress.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elf_Bowman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew B, Owner at Beales Hatfield Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

I am sorry that you did not sleep well.

I would be very grateful if you could email me the room number that you stayed in as we do not know that information.

We have new Hypnos pocket sprung beds arriving at the beginning of April and the room you stayed in will definitely receive one of the new beds.

I am glad that all other aspects of your stay were satisfactory.

With kind regards,

Andrew Beale
Managing Director
Beales Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (667)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

326 - 332 of 667 reviews

Reviewed 10 March 2014

Stayed at Beatles Hotel for a Bar mitzvah party. The hotel is modern with a warm boutique feel.

Friendly and helpful staff. The lady on reception changed my room from a ground floor to a 1st floor upon request with no fuss. My room was spotlessly clean and stylish and the bed was very comfortable. Free WiFi in the bedroom which worked well and a pleasant modern bathroom, again spotlessly clean.

The party I attended had 140 guests and I was very impressed with the food service, each table was served quickly and the food was nice and hot and of a high standard.

A highly recommended hotel. Julian

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JPJandJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew B, Owner at Beales Hatfield Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Thank you for your kind review of your stay and the barmitzvah party you attended last weekend at Beales Hotel.

I am delighted that everything went so well.

We have developed a reputation over the last few years for Barmitzvahs and Batmitzvahs - the hotel works so well for these, with a large main function room, direct access from all of North London up the A1(M), and very flexible catering.

Nonetheless, every Simcha we host is challenging to get absolutely right, as we are aware of the importance of the day to the family.

Do come again, it will be a pleasure to welcome you back to Beales (or Beatles !!) Hotel.

Kind regards,

Andrew Beale
Managing Director
Beales Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Modern hotel, room was spacious and clean. Well placed for the motorway network. Station with frequent trains to London a couple of miles away .Check in and out was quick and efficient. Bar area is small but was quiet and service was good and staff friendly. Food in the bar was good and breakfast was excellent with a good choice. Overall a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew B, Owner at Beales Hatfield Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Thank you for your kind review of Beales Hotel.

I am glad we fitted the bill so well for your visit to the Herts and London area.

We have just been through our AA inspection this year and have been awarded two AA rosettes for the cuisine, along with a very high 79% quality rating and of course 4 stars. This combination makes us the highest rated four star hotel in Hertfordshire.

Do come again next time you are up this way from Bristol, or try our sister hotel West Lodge Park with very similar standards but a more traditional feel.

With kind regards,

Andrew Beale
Managing Director
Beales Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

We stayed here as a lovely weekend break thanks to a TravelZoo deal. It was a very good price and we had a great stay overall. It's a 10min drive to St Albans city centre (which is lovely) and right by the Galleria outlet centre, which was good to wander around.

Our dinner was very tasty - I highly recommend the ice cream for dessert; it was the best either of us had ever tasted. The hotel is obviously proud (and rightly so) of its local produce and artwork from local artists, which is a nice touch. Breakfast was also delicious and good quality. A lot of the food had gone (and wasn't replaced) by 10am, but that serves us right for not getting up earlier. I would advise you to be careful of the plates - they were absolutely boiling hot, to the point where I hurt myself and we could only hold them with napkins.

The room unfortunately wasn't as clean as I had hoped. The first bad sign was that the toilet hadn't been flushed (maybe not even cleaned, then?!) before our arrival - not what you want to be greeted with! There were also a few stains here and there on cushions. Other than that, the hotel seemed clean and well-kept. The bar is small, but it was very quiet - we were the only people there. There was a good selection of wines and they were a reasonable price, plus it was nice to be able to order a carafe.

Check-in and check-out was very speedy and the staff was friendly. All in all, a nice stay.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 321Manda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew B, Owner at Beales Hatfield Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Thank you for your review of Beales Hotel.

I am glad we looked after you so well after the initial hiatus with the housekeeping issues. Sorry about that.

Fortunately things improved with the dinner and breakfast.

The ice cream comes from Manor Farm Creamery near Bury St Edmunds. You can find them online if you look for Criterion Ices. They are a third generation family producer of Italian origin (where else ?!).

I am glad you were able to make the most of the local area too - St Albans is so near, the Galleria shopping centre directly opposite, and Hatfield House is a must see just a few minutes away.

Do come again, it would be a pleasure to welcome you back to Beales Hotel.

Kind regards,

Andrew Beale
Managing Director
Beales Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Wow, definitely staying there again. We started visiting Hatfield at least twice a year since 2012. Been staying at the Ramada because Beale was fully booked on these occasions. I was surprised when Booking.com showed Beale had rooms available.
1. Check in staff was fantastic. Took all but 5 minutes!;
2. Room was well appointed, clean and comfortable;
3. Room service fast and staff courteous;
4. Breakfast was OK but loved the ambience!;
5. Check out was fast too! But staff got to be careful because they nearly gave me a free stay!
Pointed out that Booking.com just reserved the room but the hotel will charge me when I
check out.
All in all, hotel and staff were fantastic. Thank you.

Room Tip: Get the classic room if you're travelling as a couple. Ample space even with three big luggage!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teresayee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew B, Owner at Beales Hatfield Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

Thank you so much for your kind review of Beales Hotel.

I am so glad we had space for you, and that you were able to stay with us rather than with the Ramada which is sadly a failing hotel these days.

It will be a pleasure to welcome you again to the hotel in the future, and there is generally availability both midweek and at weekends, but do try booking via our website where there is often a bit of late availability that hasn't translated to booking.com.

In the meantime enjoy Kuala Lumpur, which I am guessing is very nice at this time of year !

With kindest regards,

Andrew Beale
Managing Director
Beales Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014 via mobile

Good modern hotel which offers all the facilities required like bar, restaurant and gym. It is also well connected to the motorways and is well positioned with lots restaurants nearby. The rooms are of a quite good standard, modern and have comfortable beds. The major let down is that they don't feel clean. My room had stains all over the carpet, bits all over and a toothpick on the floor. The bathroom was a bit dirty as well with grime accumulated between plug hole and sink and run marks under the toilet seat. The bed was carelessly made as well with the sheet not properly covering the mattress -no one wants to sleep with their head near an exposed mattress in a hotel. Therefore rather than enjoying a 3 night stay I spent my time avoiding the stains and dirty carpets.

Unfortunately this isn't good enough especially when the room rate was £150/night so to the directors who proudly display their photos on the wall you need to get more hands on and deal with these basic issues even if that means inspecting the rooms yourselves.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank BarryFromTheMountain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew B, Owner at Beales Hatfield Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Thank you for your review of Beales Hotel.

I am sorry that housekeeping was so disappointing at the outset.

I am troubled by the fact that you said you were in the room for 3 days avoiding the stains and dirty carpets.

I hope you said something to our reception team, it would have been fixed immediately we were aware of the problem.

The same would apply in any hotel, and to anyone staying in a hotel - sometimes things go amiss, (and I am sorry they weren't correct in your case). But all hotels rely on their guests to bring things to their attention.

We will fix things immediately that this is notified to us, either by sending in a housekeeping team to blitz the room, or by moving you to another room.

The reputation of housekeeping at Beales Hotel is very high, but I am sorry that we fell down in this instance.

Regards,

Andrew Beale
Managing Director
Beales Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

We stayed on 1st February for one night with family, we found the staff excellent, the rooms well appointed, food to a very good standard, overall our stay was a good experience and we would be happy to return in the future.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andywoodward2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew B, Owner at Beales Hatfield Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

Thank you for your kind review of Beales Hotel.

I am so glad we looked after you well as a family.

We would not call ourselves a "family hotel" with childrens' ball pits, playground, colouring pads and crayons etc.

However we do have lots of intercommunicating rooms, childrens menu in the restaurant, discounts for children, high chairs etc, and special rates for those families visiting the Warner Brothers Harry Potter Studio tour with Superbreaks.

It will be a pleasure to welcome you all back down from Manchester next time you are in the Hatfield area !

With kind regards,

Andrew Beale
Managing Director
Beales Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hatfield
1.2 mi away
Mercure Hatfield Oak Hotel
7.4 mi away
West Lodge Park Hotel
4.1 mi away
Sopwell House
Sopwell House
#3 of 10 in St Albans
2,317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Hatfield Central
4.3 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel St. Albans
2.6 mi away
Best Western Welwyn Garden City Homestead Court Hotel
Best Western Welwyn Garden City ...
#3 of 5 in Welwyn Garden City
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beales Hatfield Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beales Hatfield Hotel

Address: Comet Way, Hatfield AL10 9NG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Hatfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Hatfield
Price Range: £81 - £156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Beales Hatfield Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunning contemporary four star hotel, built in 2004, independently owned and run by the nine generation Beale family, with award winning cuisine, restaurant and bar, 53 bedrooms with modern facilities, excellent conference and banqueting areas, free unlimited parking with high speed electric charging for all models of electric cars. Over 130 original works of art throughout the building. Free membership of the Hertfordshire Sports Village (large pool, gym etc) less than 5 minutes walk away. Quiet location despite such a central position in Hatfield. Close to Hatfield House, St Albans, Knebworth House and trains to London. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Superbreak UK, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Beales Hatfield Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beales Hotel Hatfield
Hatfield Beales Hotel
Beales Hatfield Hotel Hertfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing