We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly+ recommended hotel. Yes +”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Beales Hatfield Hotel
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Hatfield
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Highly+ recommended hotel. Yes +”
Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

Submitting this via the hotel Wi-Fi - which is a breeze. This is a very very good hotel. We spent a couple of nights here a few years ago and thought it 'worthy' thus the rebook. I must say for one intent on quality and saving pennies this hotel is right up one's stream.

The check in was seamless. The room itself is clean and actually quite decent. Decent facilities - TV/Big bed etc. The Wi-Fi is excellent with no gimmicky email address sign ons. You just power on your gadget and hey presto...Web. Pity we only paid for bed not BNB as I could have given a more decent overview but hey ho...watching pennies and all that. There's a decent shopping centre close by where one can have a decent breakfast if so inclined.

We were quite pleased with Beale's when we stayed here previously. It so happened that there was some building work behind our room at the time. The downside was that they hadn't warned/informed us of that at the time which kinda p##sed us off a great deal at the time. We thought nothing of it enough to go on and book for a second stay. We are both - wife and I - very pleased with the setup and VALUE. It is very well run and certainly doesn't charge an arm and a leg for a room. It's not cheap. It's just fair value. Pity they charge a tenner to get a cot which means you have to either stump up or bring your own - as we did. Bit of a kerfuffle when you've got sleeping kids in the car and trying to check in at the same time.

If you're in and around these parts, Beales comes highly recommended. It's a very good hotel. We're both awfully fussy. It definitely passes the 'fuss' test.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank tendainr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew B, Owner at Beales Hatfield Hotel, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Thank you for your kind review of Beales Hotel.

I am so glad you have both enjoyed your second stay with us.

I was delighted to hear that the WiFi worked so well, we have taken a decision to always offer free WiFi, with minimum hassle for our guests, thus there are no awkward passwords or screens to get past.

Our guests are more than welcome to have breakfast across the road in the Galleria shopping centre, although to be honest more than 90% choose to have it in the hotel, where we offer an unlimited hot and cold breakfast buffet which fills you up for the full day ahead !

Do come for a third visit, it would be a pleasure to welcome you back again !

With kind regards,

Andrew Beale
Managing Director
Beales Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

656 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    331
    215
    81
    17
    12
See reviews for
79
310
25
143
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
High Wycombe
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

My wife and I returned to Beales for a one-night stay which included our evening meal and breakfast. Having stayed before, I'm happy to say we enjoyed it as much again. Location-wise, Beales is just across the road from the Hatfield Galleria outlet village - which is fine for us as we enjoy a bit of shopping. Service, room cleanliness and hospitality from the staff were all up to scratch. Our evening meal was very enjoyable and we both left the following day relaxed and happy with the experience. We will definitely be keeping Beales in mind the next time we are in that area.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank turnpike_bob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew B, Owner at Beales Hatfield Hotel, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Thank you for your kind review of Beales Hotel.

I am so glad you enjoyed shopping at the Galleria, not my thing at all.
Being a typical bloke, I rate going to a mall as a worse experience than going to the dentist. I can only imagine your wife appreciates your interest !!

I am glad we were equally good on your second visit, I rate consistency very highly in hotels, as invariably staff are on holiday or on days off, and very often a second visit can be quite different to the first. I am so glad we have got it right for you on both occasions.

Do come again, it will be a pleasure to welcome you both back to this stunning hotel.

Kind regards,

Andrew Beale
Managing Director
Beales Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedfordshire
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Had an enjoyable lunch here today. Although we didn't think much to the scallops our main meals and desserts were lovely..... I could not eat all of my burger as it was very filling, chips were great and the raspberry and white chocolate tart hit the spot. Staff provided just the right level of attention. Would dine here again.The value score we have given reflects our opinion based on the scallops ( although the scallops themselves were cooked well, the pea purée had little taste, pancetta crisps added a different texture however again not much taste and sprinkled cress on top didn't work for us) as neither of us felt that this represented good value for money.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katieb45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew B, Owner at Beales Hatfield Hotel, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Thank you for your detailed review of Outsidein Restaurant at Beales Hotel.

I am pleased that you enjoyed your lunch at the hotel, we have noted your points and I would agree with you in particular about sprinkled cress, which I commented upon myself last week.

We appreciate all constructive criticism of this kind, and welcome feedback. We have just been awarded Two Rosettes by the AA for the seventh year in succession, a good feat in a predominantly business location.

Do come again, it would be a pleasure to welcome you back to Outsidein !

Kind regards,

Andrew Beale
Managing Director
Beales Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
milton keynes
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Stayed here last night and it was lovely. Very good service and friendly staff especially the young lady on reception who booked us in. We had a lovely breakfast and there was plenty of choice with quality products. Our room was clean comfortable and well equipped and we would certainly recommend this hotel. Its in a good location right opposite the Galleria shopping centre.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeanette D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew B, Owner at Beales Hatfield Hotel, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Thank you for your kind review of Beales Hotels.

I appreciate all Tripadvisor reviews, but particularly ones from reviewers such as yourself, clearly widely traveled and with lots of experience of different establishments.

This means that you write from a position of having experienced the good, the bad and the downright awful along the way, and your good review is appreciated all the more.

I am particularly pleased that you were welcomed so well on check in, not always an easy thing to get right as one is busy filling out the registration card etc.

Do come again when you are next down from Milton Keynes, it will be a pleasure to welcome you back !

Kind regards,

Andrew Beale
Managing Director
Beales Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We have enjoyed staying at this modern 4 star hotel a number of times in the past, always for a weekend when the hotel's own website always offer exceptionally good deals. It is so much easier to book direct to my mind.
This stay was a very good base for visits to Woburn Abbey, Hatfield House and Knebworth. The first two of these historic houses were well worth a visit, Knebworth not so much so in our opinion.
We enjoyed a quiet room at the rear of the hotel which was very clean as would be expected, very good breakfasts and reasonable dinners particularly the one which was included in the deal making the stay really remarkable value for money.
Beales is ultra modern, with good staff in the main, and we will be looking forward to another visit later in the year.
Whilst we did not avail ourselves of either the modern fitness centre or the swimming pool which are situated in the nearby University, for these high quality benefits to be included at no extra charge makes a stay even better value for those who do. We did look them over and were very impressed. Next time we will be coming equipped!

Room Tip: We prefer rooms at the rear well away from function rooms in case a large party should become a litt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graham477
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew B, Owner at Beales Hatfield Hotel, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Not one, not two, but three reviews of our lovely Beales Hotel in Hatfield is something of a record, and I thank you for the reviews and also for the back up emails, all the feedback being most useful.

I think I would agree with you that Hatfield House and Woburn are the better visitor experiences in the area, and Knebworth less so, although I know the charming owners at Knebworth and this house is probably at its best when there is also a big event in the grounds.

Hatfield House is certainly the jewel in the crown of Hertfordshire, being a stunning Elizabethan house with layers upon layers of history. When Princess Elizabeth was living there under the protection of the Cecil family, she came down for the day to West Lodge Park to hunt in the Enfield Chase.

It will be a great pleasure to welcome you back to Beales Hotel, or to our sister West Lodge Park hotel in the near future !

With kindest regards,

Andrew Beale
Managing Director
Beales Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for a wedding and were a little unsure what we'd get, given the hotel wasn't in the most salubrious location. But it was contemporary, stylish and very well kept. I'm a stickler for a clean bathroom and this one came up trumps. Our room was big with a huge bed. We got a B&B rate with the wedding which was reasonable although not a bargain. Breakfast was good quality food and service. My only real complaint was the coffee at breakfast was truly terrible. But if that's the worst one can say, all in all it's got to be a thumbs up.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gayle g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew B, Owner at Beales Hatfield Hotel, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Thank you for your review of Beales Hotel.

I am glad you were pleasantly surprised by our stunning hotel, architect designed and built less than a decade ago after I knocked down our previous hotel that had been on the site for over 40 years.

The location is quite a busy one, with shopping centre, university, and large companies all in the immediate surrounds, but the hotel itself is a haven of peace once inside.

Sorry about the coffee at breakfast, I have no idea what happened as we serve high quality Cafe du Monde coffee in expensive brushed chrome cafetieres. If it happens again either here or in any other hotel, just ask for a free replacement.

Do come again next time you have a wedding to attend in the area !

Regards,

Andrew Beale
Managing Director
Beales Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Well located opposite the Galleria shops this quiet hotel has decent room, friendly staff and quite a good dining room. And wonderfully soft pillows! A shame that for breakfast there is a surcharge for kippers or smoked haddock but otherwise a good place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Crustyoxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew B, Owner at Beales Hatfield Hotel, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Thank you for your kind review of Beales Hotel.

I am glad you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and took advantage of the Galleria opposite.

We would love to include kippers and smoked haddock in the price of our full English breakfast but would need to put the price up for everyone, so have taken the decision to charge a very small supplement for these two items in order to keep prices competitive for everyone else.

In truth we do not have much demand for kippers and smoked haddock at breakfast time, and host a large number of continental visitors each week, all of whom appreciate our full English breakfast, something they can't get at home !

Do come again next time you are in the area, it would be a pleasure to welcome you back.

With kind regards,

Andrew Beale
Managing Director
Beales Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hatfield
1.2 mi away
Mercure Hatfield Oak Hotel
7.4 mi away
West Lodge Park Hotel
0.2 mi away
Ramada Hatfield
Ramada Hatfield
#5 of 6 in Hatfield
1,060 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Hatfield Central
4.1 mi away
Sopwell House
Sopwell House
#3 of 10 in St Albans
2,226 reviews
2.6 mi away
Best Western Welwyn Garden City Homestead Court Hotel
Best Western Welwyn Garden City ...
#3 of 5 in Welwyn Garden City
496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beales Hatfield Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beales Hatfield Hotel

Property: Beales Hatfield Hotel
Address: Comet Way, Hatfield AL10 9NG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Hatfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Hatfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Beales Hatfield Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunning contemporary four star hotel, built in 2004, independently owned and run by the nine generation Beale family, with award winning cuisine, restaurant and bar, 53 bedrooms with modern facilities, excellent conference and banqueting areas, free unlimited parking with high speed electric charging for all models of electric cars. Over 130 original works of art throughout the building. Free membership of the Hertfordshire Sports Village (large pool, gym etc) less than 5 minutes walk away. Quiet location despite such a central position in Hatfield. Close to Hatfield House, St Albans, Knebworth House and trains to London. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Beales Hatfield Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beales Hotel Hatfield
Hatfield Beales Hotel
Beales Hatfield Hotel Hertfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing