We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value but needs a refurb”
Review of Hunters Meet Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hunters Meet Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Hatfield Heath
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 June 2013

Stayed here over night for a celebration, we done he 5 star package and were given a four poster bed room and bottle of champagne on arrival. The hotel seemed nice from the outside. Our room was very big but the bathroom was disgusting the bath needed ripping out and replacing there was a crack in the bath which didn't look appealing, the shower head didn't stay up when you were using it. The swimming pool was dirty to the carpet in there was so unhygienic and the shower in there needed a good clean. The evening entertainment was really good, triple cream done a great job played good music and were great comedians the food was vey good too. Overall a good break away but special attention need to be made to the rooms and the swimming area as this does really let the hotel down.

Room Tip: Go for the evening meal and entertainment do not stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Char66186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (205)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

146 - 152 of 205 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2013

Stayed here for meeting at stanstead. The staff were so polite and helpful. Managed to arrive at the same time as a mystic evening so the restaurant was shut but has fabulous meal in the bar for exceptional price. Didn't try the pool as there were a few in and it is v small, but there is also a little fitness centre. Lovely little village location with little village shop. Free wifi throughout

Stayed: June 2013
Thank Laura C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2013

after staying here for a friends wedding i must say i found this a great place :)
staff were very friendly great food and good entertainment .
nice pool me and the family had a great stay and will be back again!
a big thankyou to the staff for a great stay......

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steven R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2013

Stayed just the one night hotel looking a little tired could do with a make over.
But excellent value 1 night here with full breakfast 2 course evening meal bottle of wine was cheaper than 1 night in a premier inn without food.
Staff were great my main gripe was internet it is slower than dial up.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mickholliday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2013

Stayed here for one night recently with my husband. I had bought a Groupon deal which tbh wasn't much cheaper but it did include afternoon tea as an extra. We stayed on a Tuesday, arrived about an hour earlier than check in and room was ready. Room was basic but comfortable although we did find the bed rather small. Bathroom mirror really needs replacing as it had yellowish stains, almost like burn marks, over it. No lock on bathroom door, just a hole where lock used to be, but this wasn't really an issue. Afternoon tea was delivered to our room as requested and was delicious. I particularly was looking forward to spending a few hours in the pool/spa in the afternoon. Unfortunately this was not to happen. Went down to the pool at 2.50pm and10 minutes after arriving at the poolside swimming lessons started and they domineered the pool. We both sat reading for a while but felt forced to leave when parents arriving with their children used the limited seating area as a changing room. Adequate changing facilities were available so there was no need for this. My husband and I felt very uncomfortable and went back to our room. As we left I found out from the instructor that lessons didn't finish until 6pm. She did however say that she was only using half the pool and that I could swim if I wished. However I couldn't swim lengths only widths as she was using one end! The pool was only about 10m by 3m, how did she seriously expect an adult to swim widths in a 3m pool?!! Went to the restaurant for our dinner and we really enjoyed it. Food was delicious although the restaurant itself was somewhat outdated. All the staff were friendly and we were well looked after. Room faced onto the road so road noise (even at 3am) coupled with thin curtains that let the light in didn't make for a good nights sleep. Breakfast the next day was plentiful and delicious. Check out was easy and efficient. Would we stay again? Yes, if we had a quiet room at the back of the hotel. Would I go on a spa day there? No, swimming lessons (unadvertised) and naked children at the poolside would stop that. This is a shame as I'm one of a group of friends who go on regular spa days. We're looking for somewhere more local for these but sadly Hunters Meet will not be getting our custom for this.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank honest-reviewer68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2013

We stayed at this hotel as my friend was getting married here. The staff are all very friendly and hardworking and the wedding was great. However our room was not quite as great. Whilst it was generally clean and some elements looked to have been updated recently (curtains and lamps) I agree with a previous reviewers comments about inattention to detail. One curtain finial was missing from each pole, curtains didn't run on rails properly, patterned carpet clashed with bedspread, stains visible on chair cushion and furniture, grouting lifting from tiles on bathroom floor, shower had temperature control but no flow control and pressure set too high (like a pressure washer, not enjoyable as irritated skin).
We'd happily attend another function here but would think twice about booking a room.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2012Louise46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2013

.We stayed here on a KGB deal which included a 3 course meal and spa treatment. The room we were given was a nice size with four poster bed, we used the pool and steam room which was very nice. We dined in the restaurant and had a lovely 3 course meal. Breakfast next morning was freshly cooked and generous portions, very nice and tasty. Our spa breaks was not until 11 am so we had an hour to spare we were given complimentary tea and coffee while we waited, Both me and my wife agreed the spa treatments were the best we had ever experienced.
My only complaint the plumbing needs attention shower was a hit and miss hot or cold no happy medium, Overall had a lovely stay and will definitely go back.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FATBUTFIT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hatfield Heath
1.2 mi away
Down Hall Hotel & Spa
Down Hall Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Hatfield Heath
1,756 reviews
2.2 mi away
Little Hallingbury Mill
Little Hallingbury Mill
#1 of 1 in Little Hallingbury
309 reviews
10.9 mi away
Hanbury Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Cock Inn
The Cock Inn
#1 of 1 in Sheering
182 reviews
7.7 mi away
Travelodge Stansted Great Dunmow
4.6 mi away
Premier Inn London Stansted Airport Hotel
Premier Inn London Stansted Airp...
#1 of 4 in Stansted Mountfitchet
4,125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hunters Meet Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hunters Meet Hotel

Address: Hunters Meet Chelmsford Road, Hatfield Heath CM22 7BQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Hatfield Heath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Hatfield Heath
Price Range: £63 - £66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hunters Meet Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your Hunters Meet Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hunters Meet Hotel Hertfordshire/Hatfield Heath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing