We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Treat yourself - Go somewhere else” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hunters Meet Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hunters Meet Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Hatfield Heath
Certificate of Excellence
Yatton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Treat yourself - Go somewhere else”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

I am told the best feature about this hotel is the food. Sadly I arrived too late for the lunch menu and didn't finish work in time for the dinner menu, so I will never know.

What I can say is that I must have had the same room as SteveandDiLondon (review below). I agree with their comments about the room; it was cold inside even though it was a glorious day outside. The furnishings were poorly maintained, the room was grubby.

If you do need to stay there, take your own towel unless you can dry yourself with a face cloth.

I left before midnight, choosing a 4 hour drive home rather than sleeping there.

Check the meal times, go there for dinner and stay somewhere better.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank __Mark__And__Amanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    38
    28
    12
    13
See reviews for
35
38
11
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Helston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 234 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

stayed here for 2 nights and found practically everything to be fine........the room was quite spacious and en suite more than adequate. The spa area looked marvellous with a nice pool and tread mills . The staff are all so friendly and more than willing to help over anything. The one draw back was our dinner on the first night, my wife's fish with rice was burnt and was inedible...we remarked on this to the waitress and was told "sorry about that" !!..we did not eat in house the next night.....the breakfasts were great and more than adequate..I think from the remarks of other reviewers that we were unlucky..

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HelstonMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

Fantastic time was had by all. We held a party for 58 and every single one commented on what a great night they had. Food and entertainment were perfect!!!
Big thanks to Brendan and Cat who looked after us throughout all the organising.
Highly recommend !!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
74 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

Fantastic weekend everyone enjoyed and the extensive food menu was wonderful. Spa and treatments very good. The entertainment was first class and the staff very attentive nothing was too much trouble. Thank you for such a great time we will be back xxx

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Elaine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014 via mobile

We attended a friends party at Hunters Meet and decided to book a room for the night too. First of all I have to say the food served at the reception was second to none, absolutely faultless and beautifully cooked and presented - clearly the kitchen staff know what they're doing and are a credit to the hotel. The room however was sadly one of the worst places we've stayed in - the bathroom was cold and damp, the bath cracked and dirty and the towels ridiculously undersized. The four poster bed was so poorly constructed that it moved - noisily - with every turn, and made sleep almost impossible. Luckily, breakfast the following morning was excellent and served by cheerful friendly staff who'd no doubt slept better than we had.
I'd gladly return to Hunters Meet for a meal, but the hotel accommodation has been sadly neglected and needs time and money spent on it urgently - anyone expecting the quality of their room to match that of their meal will be sorely disappointed.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank SteveandDiLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lincoln
Level Contributor
118 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

This is the first time that I have stayed here. As many of the reviews have stated the food is good and reasonably priced.
Whilst my room seemed nice (I was in the "Farm House") the bed was very uncomfortable and the noise from inside and outside was just too much. It was 1 am before the noise from outside prevented me from sleeping then at 05:33 I was woken-up by the occupant of the room above who was an early starter.
You need to know that this hotel is primarily used by contractors hence early morning disruptions are likely to be the norm.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank impulsivearies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014

Friendly enough hotel but for those who love a simple workout and a deep. I was really disapointed. I also had to change our towels and the white just wasnt white.
Very, very small Heath airless and very dark.
Room was rather spacious, Tele was very tiny.
teat and coffee plus biscuit in room which helps

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank frank k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hatfield Heath
1.4 mi away
Down Hall Country House Hotel
Down Hall Country House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hatfield Heath
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,541 reviews
2.6 mi away
Little Hallingbury Mill
Little Hallingbury Mill
#1 of 1 in Little Hallingbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Cock Inn
The Cock Inn
#1 of 1 in Sheering
4.5 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Hanbury Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
7.2 mi away
The Saracens Head Hotel
The Saracens Head Hotel
#2 of 3 in Great Dunmow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
4.1 mi away
Premier Inn Harlow Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hunters Meet Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hunters Meet Hotel

Property: Hunters Meet Hotel
Address: Hunters Meet Chelmsford Road, Hatfield Heath CM22 7BQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Hatfield Heath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Hatfield Heath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hunters Meet Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and LateRooms so you can book your Hunters Meet Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hunters Meet Hotel Hertfordshire/Hatfield Heath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing