We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food OK, service very slow, only come if you have a lot of time”
Review of The Marchmont Arms

The Marchmont Arms
Ranked #13 of 161 Restaurants in Hemel Hempstead
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups, Bar Scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Reservations
Hertford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Food OK, service very slow, only come if you have a lot of time”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We arranged for a lunchtime meal for 9 people for a Retirement celebration. The table was booked for 1230 and admittedly some of our party were late, so we were shown to the table at 1250. We ordered; the starters arrived at 1350 with one short, which had to be cooked from scratch and finally arrived around 1410. We were advised the waitress was new. This late starter was just consumed, when the main courses arrived (around 1420) - this time with 2 meals short, which had to be re-ordered and cooked. More apologies, but the staff had not thought to check the mains order given that one starter had already been missed - and the waitress was new. In the end I had to leave at 1450 (when the missing main courses arrived) as I had to return to work - I could not wait for a dessert. The food was OK - nothing special - but the appalling service (long waits for food and incorrect orders) meant that this was noit the Retirement meall we had planned

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

616 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    214
    179
    106
    74
    43
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stanford-Le-Hope, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Excellent......would come again.”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

This is a lovely place to eat. It's clean and modern inside with a lovely unique kind of menu. The waitresses are knowledgable and efficient and the food is wonderful.well worth a visit.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochford, Essex
Level Contributor
98 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Another visit ....”
Reviewed 27 June 2014

I have visited this restaurant many times over the years. Always get a lovely meal in great surroundings. Last night was no exception. There is always a good choice and the service is friendly and attentive.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JoD66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Lovely location in the summer”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Great food, both nibbles and main courses. Equally as nice to eat n the bar or restaurant.
There never seem to be enough bar staff thought, either that or my arrival timing is poor.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Coneyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abbots Langley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Sunday roast? Not at 5pm”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Roast pork and beef that had been sitting there all day!!!! been here before with no problems, that all changed on sunday 15th june, after starters which were nice everyone ordered either roast beef or roast pork, this came before the starters were cleaned away which ended in one diners lap, the meat was over done and dry, the Yorkshire pudding cold, the roast pots a shrivelled and soft, the side plates of carrots and cabbage were gross dry/gnarled/black in places and lukewarm, all was sent back, new staff was blamed, it's replacement came back,
It was the same food that had heated in the microwave, who brought this back?
THE MANAGER!!! who's only concern was that we paid for the starters we had.
NEVER, NEVER, NEVER AGAIN

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank dave h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Marchmont Arms also viewed

Hemel Hempstead, Hertfordshire
Hemel Hempstead, Hertfordshire
 
Hemel Hempstead, Hertfordshire
Hemel Hempstead, Hertfordshire
 
Hemel Hempstead, Hertfordshire
St Albans, Hertfordshire
 

Been to The Marchmont Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing