We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice little restaurant”
Review of Chiang Mai Cottage

Chiang Mai Cottage
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Romantic, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
149 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Nice little restaurant”
Reviewed 15 September 2012

Nice and spicy authentic food served in an efficient and friendly manner. Love the beef salad, very spicy. Pad Thai lovely.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ohnonotbarbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    215
    76
    19
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A bit overrated on here”
Reviewed 9 September 2012

This is not the best Thai I have had and I haven't had many. The Royal Orchid (especially) and Bangkok Lounge in Harpenden are better in my opinion. One disappointment was the chilli dip - one of my favourite parts of Thai food- tasted like a supermarket bought one. We had the Set Menu A and the prawn red curry had too much heat - fine if they warn you but they don't. The flavour was otherwise good though as were the other dishes although plain rice was bland. The Pad Thai was good but not great. Recommend the one from the Chinese in Berkhampsted (Lots of Rice) for that dish alone. Ambience OK but a bit cramped and tired (they are restricted by the building though). Service was fine and prices about right although the website says 25% discount to sign up for their emails and this is not the case. Could rate 4 with a little work.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gremlyn70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Excellent food, lovely ambience”
Reviewed 26 August 2012 via mobile

This is the best Thai food I have had in Hertfordshire. Served in a quaint restaurant, with unobtrusive service. On a Monday night they have an excellent deal.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LizB242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The best thai food I have eaten....recommend 100%”
Reviewed 21 August 2012

What a find!! Not just the best Thai food I have eaten but probably the best meal I have had! The service was friendly, prompt and attentive. The restaurant is small yet full of atmosphere. The prices were competitive.....we had a set menu for 2 which was more than enough and a perfect introduction to Thai food for my friend who hadn't eaten Thai food before. If you are anywhere near Hemel Hempstead you must go to this restaurant....you will not be disappointed.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alistair W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Amazing food”
Reviewed 17 August 2012

Turned up without booking last night (Thursday). Place was fully booked but they managed to find us a table. Attentive service and amazing food, served quickly and piping hot. This is one of those places that doesn't know how good it is so keeps pleasing everyone.

The added bonus is how quirky the building is. The Old Town in hemel gets better every time i visit, easy parking and a lovely park for a stroll afterwards.

Go, you won't be dissapointed.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bigdave1227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chiang Mai Cottage also viewed

Hemel Hempstead, Hertfordshire
Hemel Hempstead, Hertfordshire
 
Hemel Hempstead, Hertfordshire
Hemel Hempstead, Hertfordshire
 
Hemel Hempstead, Hertfordshire
Hemel Hempstead, Hertfordshire
 

Been to Chiang Mai Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing