We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value lunch deal” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chiang Mai Cottage

Chiang Mai Cottage
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Cheap Eats, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Berkhamsted
Level Contributor
218 reviews
185 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Great value lunch deal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

A Monday lunchtime and five of us tried the lunch menu deal. For about £6 you get a soup, a rice and a main course. I had Tom Yum soup followed by coconut rice and a green curry. We were given bottomless baskets of Thai Spicy Crackers with sweet chilli and honey dips. The service was first class, but we were the only diners (well it was a Monday lunchtime). Our server was helpful and explained all about the dishes when asked. We normally, as a group, eat Indian curry on a Monday lunchtime and so some of us needed some explanation on the strength of the heat in Thai dishes.

I have to say my food was delicious and served in generous portions. The five of us mixed and matched our dishes and so I got to try the red curry, the pad tai and other ones which I can't recall. All the food was delicious and every dish, bowl and plate was emptied. We washed down the excellent food with our habitual Cobra beers. Three of us supplemented the set lunch with the banana fritters with ice cream - very tasty but I regretted all the calories afterwards!

The restaurant is small but is decorated in Thai style and is comfortable. We sat at a large round table, which was good. the toilets are clean and well maintained. The bill for five of us including several large bottles of Cobra was under £15 a head. This is very good value. OK, we exceeded the set menu price but then we added extra dishes and drank at least 7 or 8 large bottles of Cobra between us. We were even given complimentary glasses of port when the bill arrived. We tipped high and will come here again.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GloriousGrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    212
    71
    18
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
140 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Great meal for large groups”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014 via mobile

As always very friendly service. We were a large group and found service prompt and efficient. It's a small quaint restaurant so seating was a little tight. In spite of this the atmosphere was great.
We ate from the gourmet night menu at £9.95 a head. This included a wide range of starters, main dish, rice/noodles, vegetables and tea/coffee. All the food came out hot and all enjoyed their meals. Of note was the spicy beef salad and sweet corn cakes as starters.
Main meals were also good. With tasty curries and stir fries. These were great value. The food was well spiced and not overly spicy. Be aware some dishes are extra.
We all had a nice evening and will return.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Ohnonotbarbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

The food was cold and very bland. Very disappointed as reviews are mostly good. The service was good and atmosphere good. Food was that bad I pushed it around my plate horrified at what had been brought to me. Left hungry and feeling a little sick!!! Would not recommend to anybody

  • Visited February 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Katie7654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Valentines night”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

Nice welcoming hosts.Seated in the basement section in this old quirky unlevenen floored restaurant.Nicely furnished but the walls were a bit damp from humidity .The set menu tasty and reasonably priced but not spectacular .

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Luckyjpq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Hot!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

Very attractive venue in Old Town. Quite small so need to book. Excellent food but on the "hot" side so wise to ask waiters. Good service and nice house red

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GJazayeri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chiang Mai Cottage also viewed

Hemel Hempstead, Hertfordshire
Hemel Hempstead, Hertfordshire
 
Hemel Hempstead, Hertfordshire
Hemel Hempstead, Hertfordshire
 

Been to Chiang Mai Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing